We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Eros Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La's Eros Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Ashoka Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110 001, India (Formerly Shangri-La Hotel, New Delhi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Horizon Club and Suites
Ranked #17 of 594 hotels in New Delhi
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

A good location, especially for the Metro. Main coffee shop is a bit soulless. Staff very good. The pool is nice but if you want to get some winter sun then you have to keep moving round as the sun dips below the trees.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangrilaDelhi, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi!
Thank you for taking time out and sharing your feedback with us.
We are delighted to know that you appreciated the hospitality of our staff, liked the pool area and found the property centrally located, in close proximity to the Metro Station.

The entire team of Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi looks forward to welcoming you back. Enjoy your weekend.

Yours Sincerely
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    503
    318
    83
    40
    18
See reviews for
142
221
86
370
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Room 1004 is in need of a good scrub. Why can't a shower curtain be attached properly? Instead of rings or fasteners it is just draped over shower rod. It always falls into shower. The bathtub has been painted and the paint is chipping and peeling, the hand held shower hose sprays a fine mist out and floods the marble bathroom floors. The carpet has not seen a Hoover in weeks. The rooms of late have been a real disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangrilaDelhi, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi!
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is much appreciated in order for us to serve you better the next time you stay with us.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay and we will surely look into restructuring of the bathroom and the amenities provided.

As a team we look forward to having you stay with us at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi and serving you better next time.

Yours Sincerely
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrimoo, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Shangri La in Delhi is a great oasis of calm in the maelstrom that is New Delhi. It is ideally placed, not being all that far from Connaught Place, the Patel Chowk Metro Station and a variety of attractions. The service is excellent, helpful, prompt and friendly, as one would expect from a hotel of this quality and reputation. The bed and pillows were excellent. The dinner, while expensive in Indian terms, was superb.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangrilaDelhi, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi!

Thank you for taking time out and sharing your positive comments on your overall experience at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi. We value your patronage towards the brand and it is our endeavor to please every one of our guests and to make their stay comfortable.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you found our property centrally located overlooking Connaught Place with a variety of attractions easily accessible. We feel extremely honored and humbled to know that our food, staff and services met your standards and you immensely enjoyed the dinner at our restaurant.

As a team we look forward to welcoming you back at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi for many more visits to come.

Yours Sincerely
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

good brand hotel,room view good, room carpet dirty,amenities average,location of hotel good,housekeeping making a lot of noise when they are prepaing other rooms,resturant breakfast average,could be better


Room Tip: need new carpets very dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangrilaDelhi, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi!

Thank you for taking time out and sharing your valuable feedback with us, it is much appreciated in order for us to serve you better the next time you stay with us.

We are happy to know that you found the property centrally located in the heart of the city and enjoyed the view from your room. Our endeavor is to please our guests and we have noted your comments and shall work on the same

The entire team of Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi looks forward to welcoming you back and extending exceptional service and experience.

Yours Sincerely
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Shangri-La is an Icon of Singapore. My friends and I from Singapore were quite curious of how Shangri-La in Delhi would fair. The check in was efficient, fast and smooth. The check out was even faster. They had enough staffs to handle a few of us at one go. Well rooms were small but sufficient space for packing your luggage. Rooms were clean and the hotel staff attended to all our needs immediately. We even stayed at the Horizon Club on our last night and they had everything that you would need for a comfortable stay. The room was big and the living room was spacious enough for eight of us to have a small gathering. The staff even cleaned the inside of the wardrobe and arranged the clothes neatly.
What was unusual about the breakfast was we had Lucky The Bread Man. He was all dressed up and carried his puffs , pastries bread and... .. and offered them to us. Unfortunately I don't have a picture to post at the moment. He even brought fruit juices and vegetable juices for us. He also had phrases for us. He is actually the assistant manager of customer service ( I think , cant remember ). In Singapore we invest in people. Human Capital
is an important asset of all business. Lucky and his restaurant staffs as well as other staffs in Shangri-La have surely made us feel Home Away From Home. Being innovative and passionate in servicing your customers will speak for your brand. I did notice the Manager dressed in all his best clear the plate.
Back home even the management staff will humble themselves to provide the best service to all our customers. Personally the experience in Shangri-La will always be a special moment to be remembered for me and my friends.
Thumps up to you all out there!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangrilaDelhi, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi!

Thank you for all your positive feedback on your overall experience at Shangri-La New Delhi. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the hospitality of our staff and our property.

We as a hotel understand that true luxury means quality time well spent and hence, we have trained our staff in express check-in and check-out services. It's great to learn that you appreciated the efficiency of our staff, found the rooms clean and comfortable and the services met your expectations.

We are happy to know that you liked the ambience and services provided by our Horizon Club Lounge on the 19th floor and found the Club room to be well equipped, spacious and comfortable for having a private gathering..

We shall surely convey your positive feedback to our Star Icon Lucky, who is the breadman at our all day dining restaurant, Cafe Uno. It's truly an honour for us to know that you 'felt at home' away from home as it is our endeavor to please every one of our guests and to make their stay as comfortable and luxurious as possible.

Thank you once again for the positive feedback. The entire team of Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi looks forward to welcoming you back and extending exceptional service and experience.

Yours Sincerely
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent a weekend at Shangri La During Sep 2013. Amongst the choices that were available for similar prices, we had Le Meridian, Taj Palace, Taj Mansingh and Maurya Shaeraton.
We chose Shangri La because of the location and the brand. The expectation was that we we were getting to stay at a preimum property at an amazing location.
While I do maintain that the location is really good, I would still choose Le Meridian or Taj Mansingh for my next stay if location is the key criterion. If not then the others open up.

Reasons:
1. The property is quite compact - does not provide the feel of luxury
2. The rooms are small as well with basic interiors - quite typical to a reasonably dated deluxe 4 star of a basic 5 star in India
3. We got a nice room but the windows were not clean from outside which was a deterrent

Positives:
1. The service was quite decent, no complaints
2. Location of course

Cannot comment on the restaurant as we did not try it given there was a plethora of choices nearby and th hotel was a disappointing, so did not want to take the risk.

All in all, go there if you want a basic five star, but do not expect it to be a Shangri La standard property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangrilaDelhi, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from New Delhi!

Thank you for your valuable feedback and for choosing Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi as your preferred hotel during your stay. We are happy to know that you found the property centrally located in the heart of the city and the service of our staff decent.

We have noted your feedback about the windows not being cleaned from outside and we will surely look into it.

We have two restaurants offering a variety of cuisines to choose from and they are Cafe Uno which is our all day dining restaurant with a mix of Indian, Mediterranean and Continental cuisines.

We also have our award winning speciality restaurant by the name of 19 Oriental Avenue which serves Chinese, Japanese and Thai specialties by our team of expatriate Chefs. We hope you shall try our dining options during your next visit.

Once again, thank you for taking time out and sharing your detailed and valuable feedback with us, it is much appreciated in order for us to serve you better. We look forward to welcoming you back at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi on your next visit.

Yours Sincerely
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerala
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed 3 nights in Shangri-La Eros New Delhi.
A good hotel with friendly service. Good location.
Rooms are small but clean and well kept.
Easy access to all. Even they kept an iron box in the room.
Food and services are good. My Japanese guests also
enjoyed their stay there. We wish to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangrilaDelhi, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi!

Thank you for sharing your positive comments about your overall experience at Shangri-La. We as a hotel understand that true luxury means quality time well spent, and are delighted to know that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff, found the property centrally located, rooms clean and comfortable and the food and services met your expectations.

We as a team all look forward to welcoming you and your guests back at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi and extending exceptional service and experience. Thank you!

Yours Sincerely

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La's Eros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Eros Hotel

Address: 19 Ashoka Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110 001, India (Formerly Shangri-La Hotel, New Delhi)
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#13 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Eros Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the city, Shangri- La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi is a luxurious retreat for guests around the world. Located in Connaught Place it is in close proximity to most of the popular tourist attractions such as India Gate, National Museum, Humayun's Tomb, Rashtrapati Bhavan and commercial hubs like the North Block, South Block and government offices. The hotel is well appointed with 320 guest rooms offering a panoramic view of the city from the Club rooms and the Horizon Club. Spoilt for choice the guests are presented with a variety of sumptuous cuisines at our restaurants with extensive spreads of Italian, Mediterranean, Continental, Indian, Chinese, Japanese and Thai servings. Equipped with superb recreational facilities The Spa at Shangri-La and the Health Club are designed to pamper the business and leisure travelers with a host of exciting spa therapies and fitness activities to relax and rejuvenate the mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La's Eros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La New Delhi
Shangrila Hotel
Shangri-La Hotel New Delhi
Hotel Shangri La Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.