We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff at the hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Eros Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La's Eros Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Ashoka Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110 001, India (Formerly Shangri-La Hotel, New Delhi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Horizon Club and Suites
Ranked #17 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Staff at the hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

As an indian from abroad, all the staff ignored my wife. The breakfast staff were not friendly, a smile & some courtesy wouldn't have hurt.
A plus point was free wi-fi for guests. The location was good, the hotel was very secure.

Room Tip: The superior room we stayed in was very comfortable, clean & well proportioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangrilaDelhi, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your valuable time to highlight your comments, as it is only with guest feedback that we can improve upon our services. We will surely communicate your comments with our colleagues and take all the necessary steps to improve them further.

Thank you once again for your valuable comments.
The entire team at Shangri-La's -Eros hotel, New Delhi looks forward to welcoming you back.

Please feel free to contact me for any further assistance.

Your Sincerely
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    489
    315
    81
    37
    17
See reviews for
136
218
84
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Not to be confused with the Hong Kong Shangri-La brand (different owners, different company) this hotel is, nonetheless, an excellent option in New Delhi. The rooms are nicely appointed, the breakfast is excellent and the gym/spa is the nicest hotel fitness center I've come across in many years of traveling with Cybex machines, free weights, cardio equipment, etc... A couple of small criticisms:
- the room is a little noisy: the TV made an odd sound and the AC was a bit loud.
- two occasions on a three night stay a porter knocked on my door just to see if I needed anything. Some people may like this but I found it odd.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone coming to New Delhi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketingSLND, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Shangri-La's Eros Hotel New Delhi,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to highlight your comments, as it is only with guest feedback that we can improve upon our services.
Please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your visit.

Though it is our constant endeavor to provide services of the highest order, at this instance, it appears that we have fallen short of that standard.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the noise from the Television and Air-conditioning duct. This is being attended to.

We would also like to advise you that Shangri-la’s Eros hotel is part of the worldwide Shangri-la Group of hotels with our head office situated in Hong Kong.

The entire team at Shangri-La's -Eros hotel, New Delhi looks forward to welcoming you back.

Please feel free to contact me for any further assistance.

Your Sincerely
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for three nights on business, and overall is a sound 5 star property. I was picked up at the airport by Mukesh, who was charming and had a good sense of humour.

Upon arrival at the hotel, a warm greeting at the front desk and then an escort to my room by Mukesh and the lovely Monika, who explain everything to you and go great lengths to make you comfortable.

The room is sumptuous and comfortable, very impressive indeed. The bed was incredible.

I ordered room service the first night, lamb kebab and naan bread, was top notch.

Breakfast is very good, lots of choices, service impeccable.

I ate in the Asian restaurant one night, had sushi and dim sum. The sushi was not great actually, for a 5 star hotel I thought it was sub par, you get the same or better sushi at any average restaurant around the world. The dim sum was tasty.

The spa was fabulous, I had a Balinese massage and was probably the best experience I have ever had in a hotel spa.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketingSLND, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Shangri-La's Eros Hotel New Delhi,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to highlight your comments, as it is only with guest feedback that we can improve upon our services. We will surely communicate your positive comments with our colleagues.

Please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your visit to the 19 Oriental Restaurant. I shall definately communicate your feedback to the Chef's and we shall have the necessary corrective action taken.

Thank you once again for your valuable comments and the entire team at Shangri-La's -Eros hotel, New Delhi looks forward to welcoming you back.

Please feel free to contact me for any further assistance.

Your Sincerely
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Fantastic location, fantastic staff right from reservations, front desk, housekeeping,, in-rrom dining to restaurants and spa.. the whole staff is very well trained and courteous.

I love to stay in Shangri-La, New Delhi.
Rooms are good. Veg buffet is often not-so-great, but, you have to just let the restaurant manager know your choices, and they will remember it for future stays as well.

I strongly advise that if you are staying anywhere in tht area.

Room Tip: Rooms towards left of the lift have a better layout and little more spacious. The corner roon, perha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangrilaDelhi, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your valuable time to highlight your comments, as it is only with guest feedback that we can improve upon our services. We will surely communicate your positive comments with our colleagues and take all the necessary steps to improve them further.

Thank you once again for your valuable comments.
The entire team at Shangri-La's -Eros hotel, New Delhi looks forward to welcoming you back.

Please feel free to contact me for any further assistance.

Your Sincerely
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusby, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

we stayed for two weekends ( a total of 7 nights) in January and paid for the club floor upgrade. The first part of our stay we had a suite, the second part we had regular room. The overall decor and comfort of the rooms was excellent. The regular room was a bit small, but it had full conveniences. No stall shower in the regular room. Suite was very comfortable, but since it was coldest Jan in 44 years, the temp never got above 18 C in the room! The bathrobes and towels were the softest and largest I have ever seen, in many years of travel in top notch hotels. Food and service in the bar was great, food in the lounge was fine, not exceptional, but the service and range of beverages during happy hour was wonderful. Breakfast was very good. The Asian restaurant upstairs is not very good, not worth the trouble. Very accessible location, 40 minutes from the airport. We felt very welcome and "cared for" during our entire stay. Older, lightly refurbed property. Free internet, good speed.

Room Tip: Try for higher floor because the traffic noise is constant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangrilaDelhi, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your valuable time to highlight your comments, as it is only with guest feedback that we can improve upon our services. We will surely communicate your comments with our colleagues and take all the necessary steps to improve them further.

Thank you once again for your valuable comments.
The entire team at Shangri-La's -Eros hotel, New Delhi looks forward to welcoming you back.

Please feel free to contact me for any further assistance.

Your Sincerely
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

1) Stayed for one night on Jan 9
2) Stayed for two nights from Jan 18
Was well received at the airport. Checking in was fast & efficient. Room was spacious, clean with the little additions that I like...tea & coffee maker, iron & pad, safe and fresh fruits. Free WiFi was a great addition, which most 5 star do not offer! Room cleaning was prompt & well done, though, I would have liked an evening turndown service. Breakfast was well laid out with plenty of choices, especially the Indian dishes. Had a buffet dinner with my friends at the all day dining. Many items but the taste was missing!
Location suited me best because my work was at Tolstoy Marg which is walking distance from the hotel. I wish the hotel management would sort out the breakfast confusion. My first stay included breakfast whereas my second visit did not!
Conclusion: May stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangrilaDelhi, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your valuable time to highlight your comments, as it is only with guest feedback that we can improve upon our services. We will surely communicate your comments with our colleagues and take all the necessary steps to improve them further.

Thank you once again for your valuable comments.
The entire team at Shangri-La's -Eros hotel, New Delhi looks forward to welcoming you back.

Please feel free to contact me for any further assistance.

Your Sincerely
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

From the moment we arrived our two daughters received a cuddly soft toy dog as welcome gifts. The staff we exceptional. The hotel is very comfortable and modern with all the amenities and comforts of a 5 star hotel. We enjoyed our stay there overall. One suggestion, ask for a room facing pool/garden side. The other side can be noisy with a club below at night. The restaurant has an amazing buffet at breakfast and dinner. We ate there most nights. The restaurant staff are very helpful.

The hotel staff are very helpful as well and we commend them highly. Our daughter was sick during our stay and they arranged a doctor to visit (for a fee) which was fantastic. The concierge even sent a staff member to the hospital pharmacy to get medication for my daughter at 1am!!

Very impressive and will stay there when I go back to Delhi.

Room Tip: Rooms facing garden / pool area would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangrilaDelhi, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your valuable time to highlight your comments, as it is only with guest feedback that we can improve upon our services. We will surely communicate your positive comments with our colleagues and take all the necessary steps to improve them further.

Thank you once again for your valuable comments.
The entire team at Shangri-La's -Eros hotel, New Delhi looks forward to welcoming you back.

Please feel free to contact me for any further assistance.

Your Sincerely
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La's Eros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Eros Hotel

Address: 19 Ashoka Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110 001, India (Formerly Shangri-La Hotel, New Delhi)
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#13 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#14 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Eros Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the city, Shangri- La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi is a luxurious retreat for guests around the world. Located in Connaught Place it is in close proximity to most of the popular tourist attractions such as India Gate, National Museum, Humayun's Tomb, Rashtrapati Bhavan and commercial hubs like the North Block, South Block and government offices. The hotel is well appointed with 320 guest rooms offering a panoramic view of the city from the Club rooms and the Horizon Club. Spoilt for choice the guests are presented with a variety of sumptuous cuisines at our restaurants with extensive spreads of Italian, Mediterranean, Continental, Indian, Chinese, Japanese and Thai servings. Equipped with superb recreational facilities The Spa at Shangri-La and the Health Club are designed to pamper the business and leisure travelers with a host of exciting spa therapies and fitness activities to relax and rejuvenate the mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La's Eros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La New Delhi
Shangrila Hotel
Shangri-La Hotel New Delhi
Hotel Shangri La Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.