We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Janpath Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Janpath Hotel to your Saves list
The Janpath Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Janpath Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

It was a very pleasant experience staying Hotel janpath .. I have stayed in many five star properties , but this was a real value for money ... The staff from the reception to the house keeping to room service were really courteous and very polite as well as efficient..The food was excellent and the ambiance was very nice ,,, the room was very spacious with a 46 inches LCD TV and the bathroom was very big and clean ... the Hotel is one of the finest I have stayed in Delhi...Fantastic Location .. I have made my mind to stay in this hotel whenever I am in Delhi...

Room Tip: Take the back room from the front is no privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapna K, Front Office Manager at The Janpath Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Mr Sanjay Mahara,

Thank you for staying at The Janpath Hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate your positive feedback on the hotel's services, our guest rooms and food. It is also good to know that you felt well-looked after during your stay.

It was a pleasure having you with us and looking forward to welcome you again in all your future visits to Delhi.

Yours sincerely,
Sapna Kashyap
Accommodation Manager
The Janpath Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    57
    28
    15
    22
See reviews for
18
15
27
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen K
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Janpath Hotel is located at a quiet section of Janpath Road within walking distance of Connaught Place. Rooms are specious with large windows and comfortable furniture and design. The restaurant serves excellent food and has the advantage of being licensed with beer and wine. In Delhi that can be a rather noisy metropolis it is a peaceful oasis with an impeccable and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapna K, Front Office Manager at The Janpath Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest.

I want to thank you for the kind words on TripAdvisor. Your thoughts are important to us, but we're especially pleased when the feedback is positive. I'll be sure to share it with all of the team of The Janpath.

It will be a pleasure to have you at our hotel again and offer you similar and more inspiring experiences.


Best Regards

Sapna Kashyap
Accommodation Manager
The Janpath Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic location. CLose to CP and most government offices. If you want to eat outside in CP, Bengali market, etc, it is very convenient. Shopping can be done at various places right from Janpath market upto good show-rooms in CP.

Rooms are of pretty large size. Advice is to take room in the central side, not the front row (numbers 1 to 15 in each floor).. Rooms of the rows behind the front row are much better.
ONly disadvantage is that they have king bed in very few rooms, which you won't normally get.

Another disadvantage is not having a lot of variety in buffet - both breakfast and dinner, however, in the staff will attend you nicely. But, there are other two restaurants, which will serve good ala-catre menu, hence, dinner is no problem even in hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapna K, Front Office Manager at The Janpath Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks for taking out few moments from your precious time for writing such kind and encouraging remarks. Your worthy suggestions are highly appreciated and will strive to achieve it.

Looking forward to serve you again at The Janpath Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashik
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Last month I stayed in this hotel for three nights. Decent room with panoramic view of Janpath Road. Food was excellent and more than this, the service was very good. Though appeared a bit costlier, location is its best advantage.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapna K, Front Office Manager at The Janpath Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Looking forward to serve you again. Please be in touch for any queries for your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at Janpath Hotel for three nights and found it quite good. The location is very central, rooms are a bit worn-out but very spacious and well-furnished. Breakfast is reasonable, the restaurant food is nice and room-service decent. Being government-run, one may miss the shine and glamour but the hotel provides a comfortable stay and great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapna K, Front Office Manager at The Janpath Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
This is a token of thanks for the encouraging remarks towards our efforts for making a satisfying and comfortable stay for all our guests. The team of The Janpath looks forward to serve you again in your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I enjoyed staying at this hotel, the rooms were big and clean. There was free Wifi which was great and very helpful. The bathrooms were spacious but the bathroom would often get wet from the the shower area. I was sometimes scared of slipping in the bathroom. The bathrooms need to be maintained better and updated but were clean. The breakfast was also good. The coffee shop needs more options on menu, especially Jain options. The location of the hotel is good. Sometimes there was a lot of noise from corridors and other rooms which could be heard from inside my hotel room.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapna K, Front Office Manager at The Janpath Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I would like to thank you for your recent visit to The Janpath Hotel and for your kind words. Your observations have been informed for necessary updates and changes. We are looking forward for your next visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I visited this hotel again and styed there for two nights.Preferred this because of the
location and size of the rooms.It also ecam a very familiar hotel and location.But the maintainance is the one are which requires lot of attention.Regular supervision to
ensure cleanliness of living room ,bath room etc is the need of the hour.I find little deterioration in this regard.Restaurant which serves comlimentary breakfast needs
a thorough relook in terms of staff ,their attitudes,perceptions,service towards guests
and the type of food served.A lot of attention on the appearance of arrangements is to
be paid.I am always uncomfortable with this restaurant. I spend only a very little time to
gulp my breakfast and go to my room.During my stay this time ,I experienced a new development i.e the keys of the room didnot work for one night and one day.The
reason given was the equipment which ensures remote and electronic operation
went out of order.I have to depend both on reception and house keeping to get the
room opened , every time I need to enter into my room.These developments should
not be allowed to take place.I do not otherwise face any inconveniences.Bell desk ,
cashier desk and ofcourse reception are mostly hospitable and courteous,may be
because I am regular visitor.SWAGATH Restuarant , not part of Janpath but house
in the premises is expensive.Check prices before placing order especially for sea food.
Ofcourse I will continue to stay inspite of certain short comings in the system.

Room Tip: I alwyas preferred a road facing rooms.If you are single ,ask for king bed , not twin bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapna K, Front Office Manager at The Janpath Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for your recent visit to The Janpath. We really appreciate your worthy suggestions and to let us know where we require the change. We would like to inform you that the process has been started and assure that you will feel the change in your next visit. I want to thank you for the kind words you said about Reception, Bell Desk and Cash counter and apologize for the inconveniences faced by you during your stay. The team of The Janpath is looking forward to your next visit and to make your stay a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Janpath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Janpath Hotel

Address: Janpath Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Janpath Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the commercial & shopping hub - Connaught Place. Easy accessibility to Delhi Metro, 45-minutes from Airport, 10 minutes from railway station. The total changeover of the hotel ensures value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your The Janpath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Janpath New Delhi
Janpath Hotel Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Janpath Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.