We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Magnet, I just could not stay with any other people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smyle Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Smyle Inn to your Saves list
Smyle Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   916 Gali Chandi Wali, | Main Bazaar, Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 838 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Hangzhou
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A True Magnet, I just could not stay with any other people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

It is my third time visit New Delhi and the second time visit Smyle Inn, compare with two years ago, they changed a lot, no more run down interior.

Basically, they developed both wings for give more space to the customer instead of keep them in the room after siteseeing in Delhi,

Roof top terrace is my favorite place for hang out with other guests and chat.

Bath room improved a lot also, towel, soap, toilet paper, wifi could find in every room.

Great team provide all you need in Delhi and travel outside with very reasonable charges.

However, the neighbours trying to copy their business mode which made the team feel frustrated. Be honest, the accommodation business competition in Main Bazar is really serious.

Other thing I would like to say is the issue with PICK UP.
whenever you arrived in New Delhi, please ask for a Pick up as the cost is not a big issue, but the security is the point, some customer got lost when they try to reach the property by themselves, but ended up with stay some where else as the Main Bazar area with more than 300 propertis, they got scammed.

Due to the high commission other hotels offered to the scammer, they will try everything they could to lure the customer. In this case, do arrange pick up with Smyle Inn after you made the booking.

Harish, Gurvinder, Anil, and all other great staff.

I could not have such great trip to India without the support from you.

And i would definately stay with you again next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmyleInn, Owner at Smyle Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Jarod

Thanks for your review of Smyle Inn.
We are continuously improving and upgrading our rooms, facilities and services. Its our constant effort to ensure a comfortable stay for our guests.
You have rightly mentioned the nuisance of tourist scams that begin the moment you land at the airport. That is the reason, we very strongly recommend our airport pick up facility.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

As always, we look forward to see you again.

Warm regards
Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    219
    108
    39
    38
See reviews for
21
182
127
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you want to experience the real Indian culture then this is a great place to stay as just outside this cosy inn is the streets of Delhi. The people who run the inn are extremely friendly and helpful! Great if your on a cheap budget and want to experience India!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmyleInn, Owner at Smyle Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your review. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. I am glad that you could experience real India and enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing Smyle Inn!

Regards
Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The rooms at Smyle Inn are clean and we furnished. The staff is friendly and more than willing to help you book tours that are reasonably priced and provide great service compared to other hotes in the area. The breakfast is a bit smal but is sufficient enough.Overall a very good experience here and I woud recommend it to anyone looking for great service and clean rooms at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmyleInn, Owner at Smyle Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for your review of our Hostel in Delhi.

We try very hard to cater to the needs of a budget traveller by providing all the facilities under one roof at very affordable prices.

Thanks for recommending us to the travel community.

All the best
Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very clean and modern rooms for a very reasonable price. Awesome location . Very safe Very happy with my stay. The owner harish is a really good guy. He helped me with a few problems regarding visas and passports. Loads of nice places to eat in the area. Close to metro ect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmyleInn, Owner at Smyle Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks Tom for your kind words and reviews. I am glad that I could help you with your Visa issues.

Would love to have you back when you visit Delhi again.

Regards
Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauritius
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I'm L.K It was my first time to India.Last month I booked for my 7 days stay at Smyle Inn.I was very surprise the cost of the room is a a 4 stars for the price.Clean with T.V Air con very good facility obtain from the hotel to pick from the airport.The nice breakfast with the smile of the staff Mohan every morning.Harish and Gurvinder arrange all tours to make my stay successful .Nice safety hotel in a security area.Where you all facilities transport something to eat shopping even all shops owners are very kind and friendship.All the staff gave me lots of ideas where to go shopping due to my first time in India.So I'm very thankful to Harish and Gurvinder for their advice to make my stay a success. I will not hesitate to stay there again for my next travel To New Delhi.Thanks to all the staff.L.K

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmyleInn, Owner at Smyle Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear LK,
During your stay, you were almost like family to us. It is such a great pleasure meeting good people like you. I will cherish the memories. Hope you do the same.

Do let us know when you are coming to Delhi, we will love to host you in our Hotel.

Wishing you all the best with your Happy cooking
From
Harish and Gurvinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We had only booked for 2 nights as one of our party didn't know when they were leaving so when it turned out we wanted 5 nights instead it wasn't a problem for smyle inn. There was space so we could have it.

The rooms were well furnished and clean, with ac and a tv. The bathroom tended to overheat but a cool shower soon solved that.

Breakfast is included but we had to go to the other hotel site round the corner and up 4 flights of stairs as the brand was going through a refurbishment. It was a simple breakfast and you could have seconds if you wanted.

The free WiFi helped us stay in touch with family and the staff were friendly and helpful.

We would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmyleInn, Owner at Smyle Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Getting a good review from a Senior contributor on Tripadvisor is a matter of great pride for us.

Thanks very much for that, it is highly appreciated.

Best Regards and keep up the good work.
Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you are looking for the authentic feel of Dehi, I loved my stay at Smyle. The street has a coo vibe, lots of energy -- local flavor. THe staff was very helpful. Airport pickup was on time and easy (athough I don't remember the cost -- they add it in at the end). I needed to leave an extra suitcase behind for a couple months. Their fee to leave luggage is very reasonabe -- and my bag was stil there when I returned after two months. Delhi itself is a tricky town -- I got taken advantage of on the streets -- so be carefu -- especiay at the train station -- but the Inn itself is great. Five minute wak to New Dehi Train Station, 10 minute walk to Airport Metro. Excellent location. Cool vibe. Two thumbs up.

Room Tip: Get a room with A/C -- it's worth the extra charge. Delhi is HOT. Also make sure the hot water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmyleInn, Owner at Smyle Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks Matt for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you when you in town again.

Best Wishes.
Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smyle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smyle Inn

Address: 916 Gali Chandi Wali, | Main Bazaar, Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 838 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smyle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smyle Inn is a family run Hostel in Delhi welcoming guests for the past 16 years. Our hostel is centrally located in the heart of Delhi in Paharganj area and is within walking distance to New Delhi Train Station, Airport Express and Metro Station. We are situated just off the Paharganj Main Bazaar in a quiet street and are most suitable for budget travelers.Smyle Inn offers the best value for money with facilities like Free Breakfast, Free WiFi, Free Maps and travel information. There is a travel desk which can assist in booking train, bus or flight tickets. We provide pickup and drop round the clock at very reasonable prices. Check in and checkout is at 12 noon, however, check in is available 24 hours and there are no curfews. There are cold drinks, drinking water and Vodafone Sim cards available at the reception at nominal charges.Smyle Inn has 2 wings, Standard (Wing 1) and Superior (Wing 2). The Superior rooms are larger than the standard rooms. All the rooms have been recently refurbished and have the following facilities:1) Windows opening in the street in most rooms.2) Ceiling Fan3) Aircon (Optional)4) Telephone & Flat screen T.V with 100+ channels incl. CNN, HBO, BBC etc.5) Private Bathrooms with Hot/Cold shower6) Bath Towel & soap7) Writing desk and sofa cum bed in Superior rooms (wing 2).Our hostel common area in Wing 1 has seating for around 20-25 people. This is where travelers meet and interact with each other. There are complementary board games, playing cards, book exchange corner and free computer access to browse internet.Owners are well traveled and understand the needs of the travelers. They interact with the guests and are eager to accommodate their needs wherever possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Smyle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smyle Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smyle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.