We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and a welcome retreat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smyle Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Smyle Inn to your Saves list
Smyle Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   916 Gali Chandi Wali, | Main Bazaar, Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 838 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Convenient location and a welcome retreat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Smyle Inn was a very good find. The staff are extremely helpful and the travel desk upstairs is excellent for helping with your further exploration of India and Delhi. The place was very clean with good size rooms and beds (You can get 3 good mates on the double beds easily if you need to cut costs further - although floor space for back packs may then be a bit tight! The back alleys away from the main Bazaar can be a great place for finding cheap food snacks and not too daunting if you stick to the busier thoroughfares.

Nearby is the main New Delhi Station for destinations across India. Over a long bridge and walkways next to the station you can find one of the Metro stations BUT the cloasest Metro Station is the opposite way up the Main Bazaar. Use the Metro to get around Delhi and you will find that with many of the listed attractions one location a day is enough and if food is taken then you can often picnic and relax fare a few hours. The Temple at Akshardam is amazing but you cannot take food inside as you have to buy their reasonably priced offerings. Here everything is cheaper than other tourist sites as it is aimed at the Indian budget. Although only opened in 2005 and of modern coinstruction it was built using traditional methods and an ethos that kept Art as a focal point for expresssing the religious views of the Swami. A fantastic experience! You can easily spend several hours at Lodhi Gardens and it is an easy visit by Metro and free. Another place to view and spend more hours than a quick tour allows is Humayan's Tomb also reachable by Metro.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    215
    108
    39
    38
See reviews for
21
182
125
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel was very nice and clean. We stayed there two nights and we were satisfied. The staff is helpful, we got a lot of information which was very good.

The hotel is located very close to the New Delhi railway and metro station about five minutes to walk.
Overall: very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The staff was really helpful, the room was clean with a HUGE bed, ventillator saves your life during the night time :)
The breakfast was nice, and they were serving it really fast,different day, different menu.
The prices are the some like any other places so you can buy cold drinks here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Staying at Smyle Inn made my experience in Delhi great! I was nervous about coming to Delhi as a lone female traveller, but Smyle Inn is in a nice, mellower part of the city. The shopping right near the Inn is great! The beds were comfortable, it was off the main street so it was quiet, and the room was very clean. The staff was incredibly helpful. My shower wasnt working the best, and they changed the shower head right away and it was perfect! Hot water too. I arranged for Smyle Inn to pick me up from the train station, and though it might have been slightly more expensive than finding my own ride, I highly recommend doing that. I avoided having to haggle with a driver who probably would have ended up taking me somewhere else to get a commission. Do stay at Smyle Inn when you visit Delhi!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

very good place to stay in delhi ! near the new delhi train station, cosy and cheap the team is really helpful and you can book train tickets or tours with them it`s really a good deal! advices are also given to enjoy your stay in delhi. the room are OK but don`t expect 5 stars hotel.
Proche de la gare de new delhi dans un quartier anime et touristique, bonne adresse pour passer quelques nuit pour visiter delhi les chambres ne sont pas au top mais pour le prix que demander de plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Smyle Inn is good situated hotel near by the famous Main Bazaar area in Paharganj Delhi. It´s near by the main railway station, witch makes it even more pleasent place to stay for traveller. So if you like to sleep well in tidy room, my choice was this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Having been in india many times and each time landing in Delhi, we've been in many different hostels, ranging from the cheapest to mid-priced. We travel on a really tight budget and this place has the right location if you plan to move around by train (next to railway station), it has good free wifi, a nice free breakfast (not just a crappy toast like some others), and our room was silent. We took the cheapest standard double and size was ok, the toilet a little small but hot shower and electricity was consistent. Staff were friendly, there's no real backpacking athmosphere but if all you want is a simple, good, silent, clean, cheap accomodation, with wifi and breakfast, next to the railway station and the main bazar, this seems like the best deal so far. There are rooms at half price in other places, but then noise and cleanness is a real issue (dust, dust, dust...) We really hope that they keep and even increase the cleanness in the following years, because we've seen some places that were good but over the years seem to have forgotten about cleaniness or good service. A place like this, well kept, and keeping the prices as they are now, will be a success for all travelers coming to India, for sure. We'll come back in our next stop in New Delhi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smyle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smyle Inn

Address: 916 Gali Chandi Wali, | Main Bazaar, Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 838 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smyle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smyle Inn is a family run Hostel in Delhi welcoming guests for the past 16 years. Our hostel is centrally located in the heart of Delhi in Paharganj area and is within walking distance to New Delhi Train Station, Airport Express and Metro Station. We are situated just off the Paharganj Main Bazaar in a quiet street and are most suitable for budget travelers.Smyle Inn offers the best value for money with facilities like Free Breakfast, Free WiFi, Free Maps and travel information. There is a travel desk which can assist in booking train, bus or flight tickets. We provide pickup and drop round the clock at very reasonable prices. Check in and checkout is at 12 noon, however, check in is available 24 hours and there are no curfews. There are cold drinks, drinking water and Vodafone Sim cards available at the reception at nominal charges.Smyle Inn has 2 wings, Standard (Wing 1) and Superior (Wing 2). The Superior rooms are larger than the standard rooms. All the rooms have been recently refurbished and have the following facilities:1) Windows opening in the street in most rooms.2) Ceiling Fan3) Aircon (Optional)4) Telephone & Flat screen T.V with 100+ channels incl. CNN, HBO, BBC etc.5) Private Bathrooms with Hot/Cold shower6) Bath Towel & soap7) Writing desk and sofa cum bed in Superior rooms (wing 2).Our hostel common area in Wing 1 has seating for around 20-25 people. This is where travelers meet and interact with each other. There are complementary board games, playing cards, book exchange corner and free computer access to browse internet.Owners are well traveled and understand the needs of the travelers. They interact with the guests and are eager to accommodate their needs wherever possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Smyle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smyle Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smyle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.