We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to fault!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smyle Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Smyle Inn to your Saves list
Smyle Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   916 Gali Chandi Wali, | Main Bazaar, Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 918 New Delhi B&B and Inns
sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hard to fault!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Got back last week from a 10 night stay here and it was great! Clean, well placed, great breakfasts, good wifi, helpful staff and comfortable. Everything was smooth from my airport pickup right through to check out. Hot water was a little hit and miss, but that's to be expected. Brilliant for the price, and would recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    240
    128
    46
    42
See reviews for
26
205
145
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

It was a nice clean room but a bit small, the airport pickup is really convenient and especially if you are coming into india for the first time its nice to have the comfort. They were great about helping me get set up in india with my phone and everything. The breakfast was really nice too. The room could have been a bit bigger but this is sort of the norm for main bazaar area.

Room Tip: try and ask for a window room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srikakulam, Andhra Pradesh, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

first of all i must thank mr.harish, the owner of this hotel. he sent two men immediately to the station to lead us to the hotel, when i called him and said i lost the way to the hotel. i stayed in this hotel on 19.10.2012 for one day, in the old wing. the hotel is very clean and neat. even the corridors and steps are very clean, without any hesitation u can sit on it. the room is considerably small, but comfortable, the a/c is good,lcd tv is also working but the quality of the transmission is not good, and the speed of wi-fi is also good. the bathroom is also quite small, if u are a fate person be careful. there are no hangers in the room and even in the bathroom. but it has a geyser in working condition. i suggest this hotel to my friends and i will stay in this hotel in my next visit to delhi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here for four days in October in a double room with air con and I must say it was a really pleasant experience. The room was spacious and clean, it had a hot shower, free wifi, TV, towel, two locks on the door and a free breakfast was provided (very basic but sees you through a few hours in the morning until you can find somewhere worth eating at).

I felt very safe and the staff were very helpful. The hotel is located in a really busy tourist area of Delhi so watch out for pick pockets and people trying to take you to travel agents to get a free map it's a scam they will over charge you, do your research before going!

My room had no windows but this meant it was located on the inside of the building so street noise was greatly reduced so its a lucky dip where you get placed however a quite hotel room in Delhi is unheard of.

The hotel is also located five minutes away from the Metro system which is surprisingly easy to use. I travelled alone and used it with no problem. It's a very cheap and quick way to see Delhi.

One piece of advice, when asking for directions or general questions its best to ask a few shop owners, they have less reason to miss guide you then the people hanging around in the streets ready to take you to the wrong place or travel shop to get commission or a few rupees.

But to sum up the hotel I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I booked a room via their website. Showed up and was made to follow the manager to My Inn down the road. He said it was also his hotel. The room was $hit but I was tired and just wanted a shower. He said, "this hotel is nicer but they will only charge you the rate on our website." That was 655 rupees for a single ensuite with breakfast and wifi. My Inn didn't have wifi and I was told to go to Smyle Inn for breakfast. I had to wait in the lobby of My Inn for 30 minutes while they argued about whether I could stay there. I should have walked out. I paid 600 to My Inn and for breakfast the next morning I walked to Smyle Inn and was told I would have to pay the extra 55 rupees for breakfast. I refused and bought breakfast somewhere else. Upon checking out of My Inn, I was told I had to pay the extra 55 rupees. First of all Smyle Inn didn't look full when I tried to check in. Second, I have no idea how much My Inn rooms would normally be, but it was literally the worst room I have stayed in through 3 months in India. Don't support this place.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmyleInn, Owner at Smyle Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am very sorry to learn about your experience. I will send you a PM to know about some details before I can take action against the staff.

Even before I do that, I want you to note that this is a big mistake from our side.

In your case due to the Grand Prix weekend, we are indeed sold out on top of that two girls fell ill after consuming food from outside and had to stay longer (could not have asked them to move out). This is why we could not get you the room.

In the past (may be five or six times in a year), when ever we were overbooked, we have always arrange rooms elsewhere. But our commitment does not end there. We always take care of those guests. Like they can always come back to Smyle Inn for breakfast, use our Hostel WiFi, use our Hostel Lounge area. Basically we make the guest feel that they are a part of Smyle Inn and that other than sleeping in Smyle Inn, they are in Smyle Inn itself.

Since this did not happen with you, I will personally take action against this. Thanks for bringing to my notice. I really do appreciate it. Actually for anyone reading this, I am just a quick email away. The email address is on our hostel website. I personally read the mails and respond very quickly. If you are in Delhi again, please do stop by, I will make it upto you.

Regards
Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The good first: When it is your first time in Delhi, airport-pickup come in handy. The pickup-guy was waiting for us as planned and was friendly. Rooms (we stayed in double standard ensuite) are small and dark, but it seemed clean enough, very basic.

Now, the negative and more important about this place: Absolut worst service ever! The manager in the reception is incredibly arrogant and have an attitude, especially towards me as a girl, I haven't experienced the past 2 months of travelling. I got really sick the last night we were there, and we kindly asked for his help to extend us for just one more night, as I couldn't leave the bed- but of course he could not og would not help us. We actually asked two days ahead to extend, because the room was alright, but it was too much for the manager to look through the bookings and count, so instead of using 2 minutes for that he got really mad and raised his voice in front of us (two adults, standing there as kids getting told what to do! VERY unprofessional!).
I regret we haven't got his name, as we intend to contact the owner as well.
To you guys who book this place anyway, beware of the arrogant attitude and don't expect to feel welcome at all!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My friend an I spent eight days at Smyle Inn in September 2012.. For the price this hotel had everything we needed, A huge bed, hot and cold water and TV. Alum, the front desk person was very good. I asked to be on te ground floor. He changed the rooom.
The travel guy Ali is a bit of a romeo, Ladies ignore him. He's harmless.. The free breakfast of Cornflakes, fruit juice, omelette, toast and coffee was a nice touch.
One thing though they claim not to enter the room to clean if you're not present.We did not get our room cleaned the whole timewe were there, We would leave for the day then return late evening. I will return to this hotel .

Room Tip: This hotel is in the middle of al the action, therefore you get the smells, Take some room freshner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Smyle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smyle Inn

Address: 916 Gali Chandi Wali, | Main Bazaar, Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 918 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smyle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smyle Inn is a family run Hostel in Delhi welcoming guests for the past 16 years. Our hostel is centrally located in the heart of Delhi in Paharganj area and is within walking distance to New Delhi Train Station, Airport Express and Metro Station. We are situated just off the Paharganj Main Bazaar in a quiet street and are most suitable for budget travelers.Smyle Inn offers the best value for money with facilities like Free Breakfast, Free WiFi, Free Maps and travel information. There is a travel desk which can assist in booking train, bus or flight tickets. We provide pickup and drop round the clock at very reasonable prices. Check in and checkout is at 12 noon, however, check in is available 24 hours and there are no curfews. There are cold drinks, drinking water and Vodafone Sim cards available at the reception at nominal charges.Smyle Inn has 2 wings, Standard (Wing 1) and Superior (Wing 2). The Superior rooms are larger than the standard rooms. All the rooms have been recently refurbished and have the following facilities:1) Windows opening in the street in most rooms.2) Ceiling Fan3) Aircon (Optional)4) Telephone & Flat screen T.V with 100+ channels incl. CNN, HBO, BBC etc.5) Private Bathrooms with Hot/Cold shower6) Bath Towel & soap7) Writing desk and sofa cum bed in Superior rooms (wing 2).Our hostel common area in Wing 1 has seating for around 20-25 people. This is where travelers meet and interact with each other. There are complementary board games, playing cards, book exchange corner and free computer access to browse internet.Owners are well traveled and understand the needs of the travelers. They interact with the guests and are eager to accommodate their needs wherever possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Smyle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smyle Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smyle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.