We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Raja Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Raja Hotel to your Saves list
Raja Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Ara Kashan Road Ram Nagar | near New Delhi railway station, New Delhi 110055, India (Minto Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 606 Hotels in New Delhi
Munnar, India
1 review
“Mixed Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located and is good value for money. However they could really work on improving their service part. We had booked 3 rooms. The rooms were not ready on arrival and were on different floors. They offered to shift the rooms the following day. But owing to no response from their end we dint bother. There is also a vast difference the renovated and non -renovated rooms. Choose and opt for the renovated rooms if possible. There was a vast difference between the rooms allocated.

Though breakfast was part of the package, we could not have breakfast for 2 days out of 4 owing to early travel requirements. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast on one day and were in for a shock the next day morning. On reaching the restaurant we were informed that the restaurant was closed for renovation and breakfast would be served as room service. The choice was limited and we were informed that we would be charged extra for some extra slices of breads we had consumed. This was later though not charged when complained about still left a bad feeling. Also they could have informed us in advance that the restaurant was closed and the breakfast would be served room service. This would have saved us some precious time and also avoided the inconvenience of waiting for the breakfast. Missing out on the good Buffet breakfast was another dampener.

We had to ask for towels and in rooms we did not ask for towels none were provided.

Room cleaning was done daily if the room key left back the at Front Desk which was a good thing. Again on the positive side, the things left back in the room were safe. The Reception was also cooperative and agreed to safe keep laptops valuable and other things we did not want to lug around but were still hesitant to leave back in the room. The Doorman was very courteous and always cheerful.

The cab arranged for Airport drop was not on time giving us a few anxious moments.

So all in all it was a mixed experience and yes I would recommend this hotel if one is willing to ignore minor irritants.

Room Tip: Choose and opt for renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    8
    3
    10
See reviews for
12
11
13
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
washington DC USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

For the price you can't beat it. The quality was much more on par with American standards. The rooms were very clean and even offered to clean the rooms daily! (That's pretty much unheard of in Delhi!) We stayed in India for a month and this was definitly one of the greatest places to stay. It was very conveinent to shopping and the food was pretty great too. Very large rooms and great showers with hot water! The beds were also very comfortable. The staff was friendly and kind. They only bad thing was the downstairs restaurant. It was rather awkward and dimly lit. It's much better just to order the room service and eat it in your room. Other than that, it was great.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor and the rooms were great. We also looked at rooms on the second floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I use to go to Delhi frequently for my official work. Every time, I use to stay in Raja Hotel. The staff is very co operative, especially Mr. Mahesh. He always wel comes me with smile on his face. They will guide also, whenever you wish to go in city. Because, other than food, room, another important thing is good response from those people, which I get every time I go there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

if u need a good hotel in a cheap rate then it is best option.The staff are very co-operative. the room service are quite good and fast.they shown me all the four type room available in the hotel. i suggegt you to add some 200 rs in ur budget and you can stay in hotel raja which is a three star hotel insted of staying in budget hotel where room are so compacted. i really enjoyed my stay in delhi in this hotel.railway station is just 5 min walking distance from it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

location is very good. Near by new delhi railway station. Staff is very friendly. Airco is good. The bathroom is not very clean but I'm from the Netherlands and I think for most (european) countries it is very very clean. The rooms are big and I loved the bed that's so big.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

If you are looking for all comodities apart the new style at a good price this is for you.
You must book a bigger room at an upper floor so traffic doesn'awake you!
Brakfast into your room free, close to the railway and metro stations, 5 minutes by Tuc-Tuc
from Connaught Place: it is very strategic for whom wants to spend some days in the city.
Ask for Samseev Singh and he'll solve all your problems.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have been there for a day from 28th to 29th of July'12. The hotels seems to be excellent, neat & clean. The courtesy of the staffs hardly requires any word to express. Foods are hygienic, tasty & cheap.

If you are planning to stay at any Hotel near Paharganj (New Delhi Railway Station) then Hotel Raja can be your ultimate choice. Don't trust my words, stay there for a night & experince the hospitality, ambiance & beauty of the hotel. ocation is also unbeatable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raja Hotel

Address: 5 Ara Kashan Road Ram Nagar | near New Delhi railway station, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Minto Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#69 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Raja Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raja hotel is an architectural marvel, boasting aesthetically designed rooms featuring modern amenities, contemporary design and décor amidst peaceful & serene surroundings. All rooms & suites are spacious and tastefully decorated, designed, furnished & equipped to meet the discerning guests' needs. The rooms present a sense of luxurious comfort and residential warmth to its dweller. It beautifully blends luxury with comfort giving the travelers an ease to relax after a hectic day of sightseeing or business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Raja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raja Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raja Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.