We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in Delhi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunstar Residency

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sunstar Residency to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Sunstar Residency
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8A/50, W.E.A. Channa Market, New Delhi 110005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 594 hotels in New Delhi
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average hotel in Delhi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent two nights in this hotel, it was globally average. The room was decent, unfortunately with bath but no possibilities to have a bath (it's India!!). The area is quite silent during the night, I would recommend a room not facing the street and far from the lift, very noisy. Position: could be better, 8 minutes walk from the metro. Staff nice, restaurant normal.

Room Tip: NOT beside the lift; not facing the street; no ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Greetings from Hotel staff & Management
Thanks for writing a review of our hotel
YOU STAYED FOR 2 NIGHTS IN OUR HOTEL. Thanks for patronizing our hotel.
Your review says" decent rooms, area silent at night,walk able distance from metro stn. , staff nice, restaurant normal,"
You experienced every thing was nice but still you have given 3 stars only & stated average hotel
I could not understand what you mean by this line "no possibilities to have a bath( its India)"
PLEASE DO NOT TRY TO MATCH OUR FACILITIES WITH A 5 STAR HOTEL.
WE are a low budget hotel. Please try to rate our facilities with other hotels of our category.
Thanks & Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    22
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
18
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel is ok for the price.
Pros: not far from metro, quite area, nice staff, hot water, internet connection.
Cons: a crow lives on the back side of the hotel and squawks at every hour, is very difficult to sleep, the duvet was not very clean, the walls are very thin so you can hear everything from the other rooms and from the corridor.
To have more silence they should change doors and windows.

Room Tip: ask a room far from the elevator and on the uppest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Greetings from Hotel staff & Management
Thanks for writing a review of our hot
Thanks for patronizing our hotel.
Your have mentioned in your review "O K FOR PRICE, Quiet Area ,walk able distance from metro stn. , staff nice, HOT WATER, WI-FI,"
You experienced every thing was nice but still you have given 3 stars only & stated OK BUDGET hotel
We are sorry for some complaints you have mentioned.
The walls are not thin. If door is closed you can not hear any thing from the other room.
Regarding Crow we will surely remove it from behind the building. This is the first time that we have received such a complaint. We have given instructions to night staff to locate the nest & we will do the needful..
WE are a low budget hotel. Please try to rate our facilities in comparison with hotels of our category.
Thanks & Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here for a night and it's was OK. The hotel is located on a small lane and we arrived by coach so we had to walk fro the main road to the hotel (about 3 minutes) with our bags.
Rooms are decent and clean. Breakfast was simple - toast and rotis with tea/coffee.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar Residency
We are thankful to you for writing a review of our hotel. It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are sorry to know that you faced some inconvenience during your stay at our hotel
You had to carry bags from main road to hotel. Our road is broad enough but due to parking of cars on both sides it is a bit tight for Buses. But i tell you that all the buses do come in front of our hotel. Your bus driver did not bring bus inside as it takes a little time & he must have been in a hurry. If it is informed to us about such case we do arrange to bring the luggage to hotel .
We do not serve rotis in breakfast. We serve tea/coffee/bread butter jam/juice/ 2 eggs as per order and for Indian guest we serve poori potato bhaji or stuffed paranthas with curd
. We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing this time..
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your reviews .

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I found Sunstar Residency hotel so convenient to the City and all the surrounds. It was very comfortable and affordable and Service is OK in the hotel. Restaurants serve great Indian/Continental food. I have experienced it twice and will willingly experience it again. The staffs are so well-mannered and cooperative.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar Residency
We are thankful to you for writing a review of our hotel. It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past. Thank you for referring to us as "THE BEST HOTEL IN DELHI"
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your words of encouragement.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varanasi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I was stay in residency, this good hotels in delhi and this hotel is providing good breakfast,The hotel was good and the restaurant was also good. A special 'Thank you' to the staff in the hotel who looked after us so well

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar residency
We are thankful to you for writing a good review of our hotel. It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past
. Thank you for referring about our good restaurant & good breakfast . You have mentioned that our staff looked after you very well. It is our duty to look after our guests still we thank you for praising our staff.
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your words of encouragement.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while passing through Delhi.

Our first room had a window onto the road and while the street was not noisy the toilet leaked, meaning there was water on the floor in the bathroom. There was also no toilet paper so we were concerned that the bathroom had not been cleaned.

We asked to move room and to their credit we were moved immediately with no fuss. The new room was cleaner but also had a leak from the toilet.

We had room service and the food was ok, not amazing! We walked the neighbourhood a bit, there was not too many tourists and it seemed like a quiet residential area.

We booked a taxi at 05:30am through the hotel which arrived on time.

Having stayed in Delhi previously we would not stay here again - we know there are better rooms for a couple of extra pounds!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar residency
We are thankful to you for writing a review of our hotel. It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going.
We are very sorry for the inconvinince you faced in our hotel. happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.








Greetings from Hotel Sunstar residency.
We are thankful to you for writing a review of our hotel. It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going. But we are sorry to know that you had to change the room.
You have said food was ok but not amazing.
We will strive to improve our services, even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past
I think that you have a good knowledge about building construction. You must be knowing that with time water pipelines do get damaged & these have to be replaced. At the time of alloting room to you we did not know about the leakage. We have called our plumber & We are trying to find the fault so that we can repair it.
You can not blame someone for the unforseen faults that can occur any time.

Our entire team is very thankful to you for your complaints as they always motivate us to improve..

Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great place - everything you could want but Indian style, ie slightly old fashioned but functional. Breakfast served on the terrace over looking the streets.
Room was old but clean, but don't expect a view!
Main drawback is the noise from the lift shaft and the kitchen on the terrace where they start chopping at 0600! They shut the road out front so no hooting from the cars during the night!
Great atmosphere, good staff and free wifi.

Room Tip: Try to be as far away as possible from the liftshaft and the terrace so you get less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar residency
We are thankful to you for writing a review of our hotel. It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Though you found the hotel "great place"but it was not as modern as in your country.you found the rooms clean.
We are also very sorry for the lift & kitchen noise. We have taken some steps in this regard. We now switch off the lift after 11pm,as every body is in by this time.
We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past. .
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your words of encouragement.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sunstar Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunstar Residency

Also Known As:
Sunstar Residency Hotel
Address: 8A/50, W.E.A. Channa Market, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 594 hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunstar Residency 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Sunstar Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunstar Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.