We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, reasonably priced hotel in Karol Bagh, Delhi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunstar Residency

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sunstar Residency to your Saves list
Hotel Sunstar Residency
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8A/50, W.E.A. Channa Market | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 649 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, reasonably priced hotel in Karol Bagh, Delhi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A group of us stayed at the Sunstar Residency for just under a week in late October and were happily surprised by what we found. The hotel is not the flashiest or by any stretch luxury, but it is clean, comfortable and reasonably priced.
The hotel staff are very welcoming and are quick to respond to requests. There is free WiFi, minibars, a quick laundry service and a roof terrace and with it only being a 5-10 minute walk into Karol Bagh market, it's in a great location.
Food is served on the roof terrace and we were very impressed with the quality. Breakfast for us consisted mainly of omelettes (even if you didn't order one - turned into a bit of an in-joke!) and toast, but other more traditional breakfast items were available.
We ate dinner at the hotel a few times and everything was fresh, tasty and abundant!
We always had hot water and clean towels and the rooms were cleaned each day.
Only downside to this hotel is the noise that comes from the lift. My husband and I were next to the lift and it is very loud; for the first few days made me jump every time it was used. Saying that, a pair of ear plugs at night sorted the problem and actually when we got used to it, we were able to block it out. We did have a few instances of people noise in the hotel (I think the staff) waking us up, but it wasn't every night and I wouldn't not stay here again because of it.
All in all, I was very happy with this hotel and if visiting Delhi again, would be happy to stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in '05' are the ones that are closest to the lift - Avoid these if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar residency
We are thankful to you for writing a review of our hotel. It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. You found the hotel reasonably priced .you found the rooms clean,you found staff to be very friendly & prompt service.
We are also very sorry for the lift noise. We have taken some steps in this regard. We now switch off the lift after 11pm,as every body is in by this time.
We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past. .
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your words of encouragement.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    46
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
45
55
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Sunstar twice during our India trip and both times had a good experience.

It is by no means the best nor flashiest hotel in town but offers good clean and comfortable rooms at a reasonable rate.

Food is ok but never ate other than breakfast. Their skills of tracking orders remain somewhat to be desired but your food always comes out eventually!

Free WiFi, a small roof terrace and friendly staff make this a good port of call.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks & greetings from hotel sunstar residency.
We are very thankful to you for patronizing our hotel.
You found our rooms good ,clean & comfortable.
You have also mentoined our hotel to be value for money. YOu also liked free Wi-fi facility.
You loved the smallroof terrace. Our every staff member has been trained to give good & prompt service.
Thanks & Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Second time in staying i this area and again not disappointed! Good clean rooms with tv, fridge, free wi fi. I even had a bath in my very clean bathroom! Nice welcoming lounge also, room service and mini bar. The staff is very well spoken, helpful and friendly. Very comfortable stay, thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar residency.
Thanks a lot for writing review about our hotel.
We are thankful to u for patronising our hotel second time. We try our best to keep our hotel clean & staff is trained at intervals. We take care of our guest comfort.We also train our staff to be caring & helpful towards guests.
We do not know whether we are successful or not but reviews of guest gives a clear picture.
Thanks & Regards. Ashok Taneja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Arrived in Delhi and as always had to search for a HOTEL to stay in. Asked for the drivers help who took me to Karol Bagh as I had asked for a central location. Upon visiting a few properties I realised something was amiss. So I decided to ditch the driver and got down to searching the hotel on my own. After searching for a while I arrived at Hotel Sunstar Residency and it was the first place which offered a decent price for the stay. The front desk manager was a nice smiling chap. After a few negotiations and getting the breakfast included in the price I was offered a welcome drink and a speedy check-in. The staff was efficient and got about their job pretty quickly and sincerely. The breakfast was delicious and you could also get it served at your room without any extra charge.
I stayed a total two days at this hotel and enjoyed every moment of it. Mr Nayar went out of his way to help me out. Overall lovely stay and two big thumbs up to this property.

Room Tip: Prefer a room above ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar Residency.
Thank you very much for sparing your valueable time to write this review.
We are very happy to know that you had a lovely & excellent stay at our hotel. It was by chance & Gods will that you stayed at our hotel.Our prices are very reasonable & our staff has been trained for doing their job in a professional way.
Again thanks a lot . We work better when we get a pat on our shoulders.
Thanks & Regards. Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delphi, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

best hotel, best room excellent service....we love to stay in future. we suggest everybody to try once again................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar Residency.
Thanks a lot for praising us in your reviews.
We will always welcome you in future & give you the best service we can.We will love to have you as our guest once again.
Trust me you are a wonderful person.
Thanks & Regards. Ashok Taneja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Good service. Great price. Stayed there for 2 weeks and had a great experience! The workers always ask if we needed anything. Breakfast was good for Americans. I enjoyed the services especially front office staff as well as other services like delicious food, and very hygienic toiletry. Overall, they provided a comfortable home while I was in India.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Greetings from hotel sunstar residency.
You liked the place. You found this hotel a good place to stay. You found the price very reasonable.
You liked the service specially front desk desk. Our all staff is very thankful to you for acknowledging their good service.
Our F & B staff is very happy to know that you liked the breakfast.& you have also remarked "delicious food."
You liked the hygienic toiletry in the bathroom.We use good toiletry for our guest.
During your stay with us you said "COMFORTABLE HOME WHILE IN INDIA"
We are very thankful to you again for your encouraging comments.
Thanks & Regards.
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Sunstar Residency is a good value. The staff are especially helpful and friendly. Water is hot! Small fridge in room a bonus. Handy to metro and a 25 minute ride to Connaught Place by Tuk Tuk. Karol Bagh market is half kilometer away. Hotels in Delhi can be expensive and quality varies so for duget price you get a budget hotel. The plus is the location and the friendly staff. Rooms adequate, aircon, fan. Breakfast is okay. Enjoy the rooftop restaurant after the day cools down. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: backside rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Residency, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Hello Linda Greetings from hotel sunstar residency.
We are very thankful to you for writing reviews about our hotel.
You found staff friendly & helpful.You got hot water.You found fridge in the room to be very useful.
You liked the roof top restaurant. It is a nice place to sit in the evening.
We were very happy to serve you. You were always smiling. You have a very good nature. We all remember you.
We will always serve our guests to their satisfaction. We will be very happy to serve you again. HOPE TO SEE YOU AGAIN.
Thanks & Regards.
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.0 mi away
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
#7 of 649 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel SunStar Grand
Hotel SunStar Grand
#15 of 649 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel City Star
Hotel City Star
#14 of 649 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
bloomrooms @ New Delhi Railway Station
0.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#12 of 649 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
6.5 mi away
Shanti Home
Shanti Home
#3 of 649 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunstar Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunstar Residency

Address: 8A/50, W.E.A. Channa Market | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#23 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunstar Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Sunstar Residency we believe in the old saying of our land "Atithi Devo Bhava" roughly translated "Guest is God". We take each and every single request of our customer as an order and we try and ensure that best of services are offered. With aim to provide tranquil and peaceful enviornment with all modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Sunstar Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunstar Residency Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunstar Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.