We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers meets Government run hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Connaught

Save Saved
You added The Connaught to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Connaught
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   37, Shaheed Bhagat Singh Marg | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 594 hotels in New Delhi
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers meets Government run hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was by far the worst I encountered in India. It is greatly overpriced and well past it's prime. There is an urgent need for upgrading the skills of those involved in dealing with guests. As a women travelling on my own I was treated very shabbily and indeed was ignored completely on more than one occasion. The whole experience left me wondering why anyone would stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    66
    92
    38
    26
See reviews for
36
57
29
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here a night. The rooms are nice. The location of the hotel is good. I didn't have any trouble at the hotel but considering other options around the area I am unlikely to return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Connaught hotel is an acceptable place to sleep and that´s mostly what it is. The hall downstairs is some place to meet or internet and then to leave soonest. Not to enjoy good atmosphere, or have a drink with friends. Breakfast table is okay and has enough choice. Dinner buffet table downstairs is okay and the dinner buffet table on first floor, which is in operation when there are fewer guests, is draughty and unattractive. Bedrooms are pretty small. Barthroom works well. Hot water supply okay. The most pleasant part of the whole hotel is the travel office down in the hall. Friendly people there who are eager to please. Could be a good example for the reception desk, where one is kept waiting way too long

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

we checked into the hotel on 8th oct.
The services were average viz a viz the 4 star status of the hotel.
we wr made to wait and there was lots of confusion which room to be provided to us. breakfast was average..the room provided was not that spacious.
over all i will give a 3 star rating to the hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was doubting between two and three stars. The location is convenient, very close to Connaught Place. Breakfast and dinner OK. Air conditioning in common areas too high (it felt cold) and noisy, disturbs your sleep. Bathroom small, with terrible shower curtains made of cloth! No free wi-fi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

it is a vintage proprty established near independence period. rooms are good but very small so as washrooms.toiletories used are also below standered.food quality and test is pathetic.hotel claims to be four star but it is not good then any other hotel of three star catagory. the only best part of the hotel is its location.from our room window the view of lush green shivaji stadium is amazing.

Room Tip: take a room facing shivaji stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was on a business trip with my colleague and I had req for 2 single beds which were there but the bed were join to each other very similar to double bed. 2nd the earlier customer had taken the room key with themselves and the hotel have only 1 key for all rooms, for which every time we want to enter the room I had to visit the reception who will arrange someone with the master key to open the room for us. very unprofessional hotel. even the room service was not up to the mark as every time we had any request we had to call 2 or 3 times before it was done. room size also very small for 2 beds or 1 double bed no room for moving around in the room,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Connaught? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught

Address: 37, Shaheed Bhagat Singh Marg | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Connaught 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Connaught , New Delhi you savor the living experience at its best. Affordable, warm and cozy; the hotel welcomes you to the true Indian spirit of hospitality. Located in the hub of the business centre of the metropolis - Connaught Place, the hotel is in very close proximity to the Lady Hardinge Medical College. Also, in very close proximity to the Delhi Metro station, the Airport Express and the capitals main railway station. It also is very accessible to the International & Domestic airports. The hotel boasts of 87 refined, well-appointed rooms those are tucked carefully spread over the Seven Floors of the hotel building. Catch the spectacular bird's eye view of the Shivaji Stadium and the colonial stretches of Connaught Place. Also, catch a glimpse of the historic Parliament and India Gate monuments and enjoy a delightful view straight from the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Connaught reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Connaught New Delhi
Connaught Hotel Delhi
Hotel Connaught Delhi
The Connaught Hotel Delhi
Hotel Connaught New Delhi
Hotel The Connaught

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Connaught, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.