We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but in a good spot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Connaught

Save Saved
You added The Connaught to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Connaught
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   37, Shaheed Bhagat Singh Marg | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 594 hotels in New Delhi
Nanjing, China
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tired but in a good spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Good location at Connaught Place, but hotel needs refurbishing. Tired fittings. Breakfast was plentiful and a mix of Indian and Western.
Not as close to Railway Station as thought so allow an hour for Old Delhi Station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    61
    88
    36
    26
See reviews for
33
56
28
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Whoa this hotel bites the big one!! It claims to have won an award for "Business Hotel of the Year" way back in 1997 and they have obviously decided to "rest on their laurels" as I'm guessing they have not updated the hotel since then.

The rooms have not been renovated in years and they smell all damp and moldy. There is no hot water possible from the sink, only cold, the toilet barley worked I had to jiggle it to stop it from flushing all the time and the TV is miniscule. The walls are wafer this, expect to hear everything about your neighbours life and more!

The Internet chargers are ludicrous! Ive stayed in millions of hotels and even at the super luxurious hotels in remote countries you don't pay this much. On top of the exorbitant charges the internet is as slow as a turtle….and you would be complaining about the speed even if it was free!!!

The breakfast is better than expected but still not amazing……I saw a wannabe chef flip an omelette onto himself…..which pretty much sums up the hotel.

AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The location is good but the hotel is just about okay. Certainly not VFM.
The Staff took 10 minutes for check in and also for check out!! Unreasonable when you have already booked in advance. they seemed totally hassled.
Rooms are adequate and bathrooms are functional.Nothing great.
Breakfast is adequate but the restaurant is very small and finding a table can be tough.The staff here is really helpful and nice.
The coffee shop is small.
The conference room is good but mikes and sound system pathetic. food here is good.

Stay/arrange a conference if you have to- its not too bad but can be better,

Room Tip: Select one facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here for one night only at the start of a trip to India. The rooms are ok, they are basic but clean and a reasonable size. Our room overlooked the hockey pitch which was interesting. The en-suite bathroom could do with a bit of a overhaul, our shower didn't work so we had to use the bath which took an age to run and as the plug did not fit correctly it drained slowly away leaving you feeling like you had not had a through wash.
On the plus size the food is delicious. We only ate breakfast here but there was a large range of different dishes to choose from and the food was piping hot. The hotel is well located for shopping and eating out, we found a nice restaurant about 15 minutes walk away which was a good introduction to India for our first night. A tip would be to buy water from the small stall directly opposite the hotel rather than in the hotel as it is about half the price.
On the negative side we left a jumper in the hotel room when we left, we called within about 4 hours of leaving but were told nothing had been left in the room. It could have only been left here so this left a bit of a sour taste in the mouth

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while doing business in Delhi. The staff were friendly and helpful and I cannot praise the restaurant staff enough. Food was excellent and because my husband has a food allergy, they cooked dishes especially for him.
The bedroom was comfortable but the ensuite needs a through spring clean. The bath mat was a plastic mat to prevent slipping in the bath which had an overhead shower. but this mat was not suitable to stand on while drying. It was in need of a good scrub.
We went for a walk outside because we had spent the whole day travelling. Not a good idea because we were constanltyy hassled to hire a auto or go to a certain shop.
Overall the stay was comfortable and the price was good, considering the area around was not the most pleasant but still suitable for a business traveller because of its central location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hotel is nicely located. The rooms are clean. Food is also good. However, on an overall consideration, it may appear a bit over priced. Booked this hotel over net and was allotted a standard room. Room size was average with a small bath - though it had a tub! You can't be wrong with this hotel if you want to be near Cannaught Place for a day or two. Similar hotels in the locality? Can't say.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at the Connaught at the beginning of a short trip organized by World Expeditions. At that point we had no experience with which to compare the Connaught, but after a month - we did! The Connaught gives the impression of having once been quite a nice hotel, however its faded glory could not hid the tackiness of the rooms and the lack of basic cleanliness. It is reasonably well located, although when we stayed there is did seem to be surrounded by building sites of one sort or another.
The hotel is okay for a night, especially if you need to be fairly close to Connaught Place, otherwise it would be wise to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Connaught? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught

Also Known As:
Connaught New Delhi
Connaught Hotel Delhi
Hotel Connaught
Hotel Connaught Delhi
Hotel Connaught New Delhi
The Connaught Hotel Delhi
Connaught
Hotel The Connaught
Connaught Hotel
Address: 37, Shaheed Bhagat Singh Marg | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 594 hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Connaught 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Connaught reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Connaught, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.