We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a big disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arjun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arjun to your Saves list
Hotel Arjun
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   5084 Main Bazar Pahar Ganj | Near Khanna Cinema, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 817 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Such a big disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We spent quality time researching for a good hotel in Paharganj which could be an oasis from the hassle of the surrounding area and we chose Arjun as it had really good reviews. We made a reservation through Agoda, paid for the superior room and were looking forward to staying there.

However, on arrival we were given a substandard room and the management (although very nice) were trying to convince us that this was the superior room we paid for while it was clear it was not. When we showed them the description of the superior room they placed on agoda themselves, they were still trying to fool us. When we demanded to get what we paid for they finally moved us to another room, which obviously again turned out to be substandard vs what we reserved. After making a really big argument, the management promised to give us the superior room in two hours so we went out for dinner. Having returned 3 hours later we found that the guy we talked to is long gone, obviously superior room was not available, we were again told we ARE staying in a superior one and we had to explain everything once again. We were finally transferred to a different hotel owned by the same people where the staff turned out be really rude and the room was dirty.

All in all, it was a really frustrating experience which we very much hoped to avoid. And it’s not about the room not being available. It’s about trying to cheat us. Apparently Arjun is no different to the rest of Paharganj where guests are an unnecessary burden and are treated as fools. If you want to avoid being cheated and don’t want to experience the hassle of fighting for your own rights, look for other place to stay in Paharganj. Luckily it’s easy to find hotels where the staff knows what hospitality means.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    31
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
10
34
28
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Patna, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

i was stay in arjun hotel . it was fantastic experience and room was very good. . Mr. vijay introduce me to hotel arjun . hotel service is very good and room and interior and exterior was very good. and the most thing staff are very co-operative. Its is nice place if i again come in delhi again i stay in same hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarjun, Manager at Hotel Arjun, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for staying at Hotel Arjun New Delhi, We are glad to know that you have had good stay with us. We look forward for your next stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I was really worried to get a nice hotel in center Delhi for the stay of my film crew from Mumbai and Vijay ji Introduced me to Hotel Arjun Paharganj , This was neat and clean hotel and i felt this is really worth paying ,not only the hotel infra but also the staff is really cooperative . its a nice place to stay , the only thing you have to check if you get the room because its very occupy from long stayers ,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarjun, Owner at Hotel Arjun, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for staying at Hotel Arjun. We are glad to know that you found the hotel upto your expectation. We are looking forward for your next stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Going by the previous reviews i was really looking forward to staying here but was really disappointed. The pillows were filthy with several dirty marks on them, one of which had been covered by another pillow. The staff were apologetic and quick to change it. But there were black hairs all over the bed sheets and our room faced the road which means it was noisy. Air con was a window vent unit rather than electrical wall unit and was pretty poor. The room is nicely decorated although some may feel a little tacky, but you cant deny that the room and bathroom itself wasn't clean. The location is good and they arranged a cheap taxi for us to the airport, however on arrival the driver asked if we could wait 15 minutes while he had a wash...all in all i probably would not return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarjun, Owner at Hotel Arjun, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for choosing Hotel Arjun for your stay in New Delhi, We are glad for your feedback and regarding some your issues we have definately made a note of it. We have fresh linen in all rooms now, more manpower for quick service and hospitable staff to accommodate the guests. We will whole hearteldy request you to stay next time with us and feel the difference in service.

With kind regards
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Location is about 15 minute ride by tuk tuk from train station. Keep in mind there are 2 train stations in Delhi. We got off the station that was farther away.

Hotel faces street so you can easily find it. It us close to metro, which is fastest & cheapest way to sight see around town. Be aware there are "millions" of people using metro so be prepared to shove or be shoved!

Room was clean & bed super comfy. Really cool mood & accent lighting in room. Made us feel we were in a night club at times! Bathroom was small but clean with great hot water shower pressure. Toilet functioned well. Service was not always great. Had to remind staff more than once for things. Even the taxi driver we booked to airport the night before was forgotten by them. Luckily staff called for another driver that morning who came just in time. Wifi was great in room. TV had great movie & news channel!

Overall, stay was good for value paid!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarjun, Owner at Hotel Arjun, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Sir

Thanks for your kind words, We are delighted to know that you liked the Hotel interiors and you had an excellent time with us. We want to inform all guests that our Hotel is located near the Main New Delhi Railways station and there around six stations in Delhi. but the main station in New Delhi train station. We feel deeply regretted that you found the services but delayed. We are surely improving on that and next time when you will stay with us you will feel the difference

Regards
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The service was average not prompt had to remind for everything-room cleaning, breakfast, replenishing of tea bags, toiletries... The location is not at all good for families. The room was small with very small TV-old model, sheets were stained. Thanks to good A/C I could sustain the Delhi Heat but for that I had to change my room. The pictures and amenities mentioned in the website don't match. I will not recommend this to any decent individual let alone the family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarjun, Owner at Hotel Arjun, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Sir

Thanks for staying at our Hotel. We are glad to know that our Aircon was upto your standard. Paharganj is the center of Delhi with all easy access to go around anywhere to Delhi. But due to busy market to carry the children that can be issue. We have other properties around New Delhi. We definitely will look forward to serve you in future.

With kind regards
vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panaji, India
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

stayed here for a week
checked out yesterday morning
the is the best place to stay in pahargang
the rooms are boutique style
the pictures dont lie on this occasion
but i personally think the rooms are actually better than the pics
vijay who is the owner here is young and vibrant and always impeccably dressed and very personable with a smile that could melt a glacier
the rooms are very reasonably priced for delhi
the have a restaurant on the roof and the food is good
wifi is free and works in the rooms
ravi and amit made the stay for me
funny and very kind and everything delivered that i needed to my room within five minutes
if you want a stress free comfortabe stay and very well price i would recommend arjun
i would definetly stay here again

Room Tip: its boiling in india 47 degress dont take top floor as t captures all the heat and you will need a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarjun, Owner at Hotel Arjun, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Peter

Greetings from Hotel Arjun New Delhi,

Thanks for staying at Hotel Arjun, we are glad to know that you have memorable stay with us. All are staff goes out of way to provide the memorable time for each guest.

We would surely be grateful to be your host again

Thanking you
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arjun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arjun

Address: 5084 Main Bazar Pahar Ganj | Near Khanna Cinema, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 817 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Arjun 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hotel with 14 rooms: Superior Rooms - Quality upholstery, flat screen TV, intercom, electric kettle, hot and cold shower with comfortable beds and a table and chair. Some rooms have a street view, air conditioning or air coolers and refrigerators. 24 hours Wi-Fi is available for hotel guests free.Basic Rooms - Rooms with TV, hot and cold shower, intercom, comfortable beds, table and chair. 24 hours Wi-Fi is available for hotel guests at a nominal price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Arjun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arjun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.