We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heavenly place...a must visit...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gurudwara Bangla Sahib

Gurudwara Bangla Sahib
near Connaught Place, New Delhi, India
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 215 Attractions in New Delhi
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Bhopal, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“heavenly place...a must visit...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Gurudwara Shri Bangla Sahib located in Central Delhi near Cannaught Place is a very peaceful,divine & serene Sikh religious temple on visiting where i really felt lifted & charged with positive energy...the whole atmosphere gives lots of peace of mind,one feels heavenly, contended & connected after the visit...the community kitchen here is a must visit to enjoy the food called Langar....

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    201
    20
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A peaceful Oasis in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is a peaceful oasis in Delhi. Worth the time out to visit and relax. There is a history to it that one can read up on the internet.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must visit in delhi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

good place to visit early morning. Pond in between breaks the monotony of conjusted Delhi. I feel lively n rejuvenated every time I visit the place.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A peaceful oasis in the center of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I love going to Bangla Sahib on my visits to the city after an afternoon of shopping in Cannaught Place. The best time is the evenings when one can sit by the Holy pool and watch the sun go down while listening to the chanting and singing in the background.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“See during a service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

A visit to Gurudwara Bangla Sahib mades an interesting break from the spectacular Hindu temples and exquisite Mughal mosques and tombs, particularly when there is a Sikh service on. Bare your feet (there's a free shoe storage center to your left as you approach, run very efficiently by volunteers) and cover your head (with a kercheif tied in a loose not--no need to learn how to wrap a pugh; you'll find those to the left of the shoe storage facility) and in you go.

I respected the admonition of no photographs allowed inside, even though the interior is spectacular. The consolation was that a still photograph couldn't possibly capture the beauty, serenity, and lavishness of the interior anyway. During the service, you'll be looped around to left or right, but still quite close to the center of the gurudwara. Once outside, be sure to visit the sarovar--the pool holding the holy water--and walk around it. Some stunning views of the gurudwara and its golden dome can be had from the far end, and it's a popular backdrop to family photos and cell phone selfies. See photo.

I strongly recommend: this was the most enjoyable, and by far most moving, experience I had in New Delhi.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurudwara Bangla Sahib also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Gurudwara Bangla Sahib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gurudwara Bangla Sahib, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.