We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel City Star

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel City Star to your Saves list
Hotel City Star
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Wroclaw
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“very clean hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is nice and clean, with friendly staff and good location. It is very close to the railway station and although the street is noisy and dirty, from the moment you enter the hotel, you are in a different world. I can highly recommend it, especially for a short term stay for the travelers who choose the train from New Delhi. It is also a good idea to take the metro from the airport as the airport line is not expensive (80 Rs per person), safe, not crowded and very clean. The metro station is in 15 minutes walking distance from the hotel and if you really do not want to walk you can tak a tuk tuk for apx. 30 Rs

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room, not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    186
    34
    7
    7
See reviews for
75
220
75
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here for two nights at the beginning and one night at the end of my Indian trip, so I've been able to compare it to some other hotels. It was organised by my Indian tour company, so I can't really speak on the price, and I've had a driver, so the location wasn't anything I had to even think about. This is a really decent hotel - the staff are friendly, rooms are clean and comfortable, good shower, free wifi connection is better than most. It even has a small gym. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel was prompt with airport pick-up, coordinating cabs to get us around, and helping with directions.

The area is a little sketchy. You're on the outskirts of Paharganj, the dirty, sleezy neighborhood in Delhi, but it's completely safe, just be smart and don't walk around late at night by yourself.

The rooms themselves are pretty nice. Sometimes the shower sprays water everywhere in the bathroom, so ask for extra towels to leave on the ground.

Breakfast was inclusive of everything we wanted and room service is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

An extremely comfortable, spacious room. Spotlessly clean with modern facilities. Plenty of hot water. Staff are extremely helpful & will arrange taxis etc. All speak excellent English. Pickup from the International airport went smoothly. Eating on the terrace is a good option. Breakfasts, included in the tariff, are buffet style & generous. We ate superb Indian food at dinner (3 nights) & would highly recommend this option. There is a travel agent located within the hotel if required.
It's located on a busy street, but let's face it, this is India & the buzz of the street is all part of the atmosphere. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel City Star in mid December.

We booked 2 rooms, one for me and my wife, one for my sister.

The street the hotel is on looks a bit dodgy when you first arrive but looking back on it that's probably part of the Delhi experience! The contrast between the street and the hotel is striking, the hotel is great!


The rooms are clean, modern, spacious. The staff are kind and extremely helpful!

The restaurant serves a nice varied breakfast and offers good dinner options too.

There's free wifi, western toilets, toilet paper, hot water in the showers and the rooms are quiet (double glazing).

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for two nights before flying back home. Great little hotel in a not so great area. Lovely rooms,cable tv and power shower. The little things matter and they have really looked into the little things like a newspaper every morning,cookies in the evening, coffee/tea maker in room.
The restaurant in the roof is great and affordable. No need really to leave the hotel.If I'm back in Delhi I would stay here again.
Pity the area it's located in isn't the greatest but that shouldn't put you off staying here.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I've had 4 days in Delhi and this hotel has been a clean comfortable retreat.

The staff are very attentive, friendly and polite and will go out of their way to help you should you need it.

The rooms are spacious, clean, modern and mine had the best shower I have ever had!

The hotel also has some nice perks like great wifi, scrumptious complimentary biscuits every day! Free bottled water every day and free newspaper every day.

The hotel breakfast has ample choice with something for everyone and the terrace restaurant in the evening serves delicious food. The Chicken Mughlai is mighty tasty!

Don't let the hotels location put you off, it's close to New Delhi Train Station, Connaught Place, Jantar Matar and numerous temples.

I would definitely stay here again if I come back to India and Delhi.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel City Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Star

Address: 8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Star 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Delhi, convenient 2-minute walk from the New Delhi Train Station. Hotel Ciy Star featuring fitness center and a rooftop restaurant, offers complimentary pickup service, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and complimentary private parking is provided. The hotel is only 1 km to the well-known Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar Metro Station. The Karol Bagh Market, Red fort and the iconic India Gate are just 2 km away. Fitted with a desk, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar. En-suite bathrooms offer a hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel City Star operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with luggage storage, laundry and ticketing services. Meeting facilities and a tour desk is provided for convenience. Guests can also request for currency exchange and car rental arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel City Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel City Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.