We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel- wanted to stay longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel City Star

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel City Star to your Saves list
Hotel City Star
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
London, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel- wanted to stay longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Wonderful hotel, great central location, AMAZING staff- very friendly and respectful/ professional. Beautiful rooms with TV and nice bathrooms. Very peaceful retreat from the madness of Delhi. Would love to have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Get a room on quiet side of hotel away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, General Manager at Hotel City Star, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you with us at Hotel City Star. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay at our Hotel & we are pleased to know that you appreciated the staff, services and ambiance of our hotel. Our entire team thanks you & pays you our heartfelt gratitude for posting such a positive & encouraging review for our Hotel on TripAdvisor. Hoping to have the pleasure of your company & chance of serving you soon!

Best Regards
Karamjeet Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    185
    34
    7
    7
See reviews for
75
219
74
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of August and found everything perfect. The gentlemen on reception are all very helpful and helped us find a restaurant whilst printing off a metro map. Had room service which was all okay (although the chips were slightly cold.) The breakfast is pretty average but they do fresh pancakes and omelettes too it you ask! They organised my airport return transfer which cost 500 Rs. Overall a pleasant stay. Please note: the location of the metro is pretty confusing to get to. Take a left leaving the hotel and carry on under the bridge. You have to actually go through the train station all the way to the end, down the steps and cross the road to reach the metro station. Don't go over the bridge if your on foot as it takes you to a slum area which is apparently quite dangerous and you have to go back over the bridge.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, General Manager at Hotel City Star, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your positive comments on your overall experience at Hotel City Star, New Delhi. As a team, we try and provide a service with a smile within the best of our abilities

We value your patronage and the entire team at the hotel looks forward to being of continued service to you and welcoming you back to Hotel City Star, New Delhi.

Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance at any time.

Warm Regards
Best Regards,
Karamjeet Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hotel location is great, 5 min walk to station. Hotel rooms are clean, good decor throughout, nice showers, everything clean and comfortable and good value.
Staff are friendly. Terrace balcony restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, General Manager at Hotel City Star, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback.

We are happy that you found the hotel services up to your satisfaction. As a team, we try and provide a service within the best of our abilities.
Your positive sentiments have been shared with everyone. The team is delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit at Hotel City Star, New Delhi
Best Regards,
Karamjeet Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, null, Angola
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

i would like to thank the kindness hospitality which i receive during 4 lovely nights in your
hotel '' CITY STAR''...The rooms was very clean, nice designs, excellent staff, and the rate was very interesting, in short words i suggest anyone which want to visit New Delhi...I believe like me none will be disappointed...Thanks Mr. Karamjeet Karpreet and see you very soon...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, General Manager at Hotel City Star, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement for our team, especially the front desk staff, I have shared these wonderful comments with them. I am glad that your stay with us was comfortable & you thoroughly enjoyed your time at our hotel.

At Hotel City Star, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best Regards,
Karamjeet Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

It was a nice stay in the city star hotel. There are cheaper Hotels around, but this one has very good rooms, was quite clean and has very friendly stuff. The breakfast was good too. It wasnt noisy at all, what is sometimes a problem in Delhi. The area is perfect for backpackers an tourists generally. I stayed for two nights in a executive room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

And excellent, helpful service from all staff. The hotel is near New Delhi railway station - a boon for catching the 6am express train to Agra (Taj Mahal), but is in a slightly chaotic neighbourhood, in which this hotel easily stands out for its cleanliness and quietness. Free airport pickup to boot (you only pay the airport parking fee which is about 200 rupees). Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Flight was delayed one and a half hour and the driver was still there to pick us. Beautiful lobby and greeted by the most friendly staff ( Mr Harpreet and Mr Karamjeet at the front desk were really helpful). Room service was great even at late nights. Always served with smiling faces. The food was good,free Wi-fi connection and a variety of dishes at the complimentary breakfast. Deserves more stars. Will return here surely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel City Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Star

Address: 8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Star 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Delhi, convenient 2-minute walk from the New Delhi Train Station. Hotel Ciy Star featuring fitness center and a rooftop restaurant, offers complimentary pickup service, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and complimentary private parking is provided. The hotel is only 1 km to the well-known Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar Metro Station. The Karol Bagh Market, Red fort and the iconic India Gate are just 2 km away. Fitted with a desk, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar. En-suite bathrooms offer a hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel City Star operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with luggage storage, laundry and ticketing services. Meeting facilities and a tour desk is provided for convenience. Guests can also request for currency exchange and car rental arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel City Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel City Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.