We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel City Star

Save Saved
You added Hotel City Star to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel City Star
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India (Biden Pura)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 594 hotels in New Delhi
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife and I were very pleased with our stay in this hotel. Our flight was delayed and we arrived at the airport late at night. But the promised free shuttle to the hotel was given to us without any problem. Our room was modern and spacious. Everything lived up to the description and photos. The staff was well trained and polite. Fast check-in and check-out. The only drawback was the lack of european dishes in the restaurant's menu. Our stomachs were not ready for it. But overall, I can recommend this hotel with pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    142
    22
    4
    6
See reviews for
59
155
62
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rishikesh, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel is situated at a walking distance from New Delhi railway station (Paharganj side). The interiors are well decorated and the rooms quiet comfortable. The hotel has tried to provide all the star facilities. There is a buffet / restaurant at the roof top.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor would be away from the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

On our travels through India we passed through Delhi several times and each time we stayed at Hotel City Star because all staff including the general manager were always helpful and friendly.
It is a place where you can relax for a moment after being on the road for a while. The rooms are clean, showers great, wi-fi free and the food is nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We passed through Delhi 4 times during our recent trip to India & each time we stayed at The City Star (booked in advance with Booking.com). Staff in all areas of the hotel were all very friendly, helpful, polite & welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms were very clean & comfortable & had good, free Wi-Fi signal.
Restaurant was very clean, served tasty food (Buffet breakfast was particularly good!).
Situated walking distance (or short tuk tuk ride) from New Delhi Railway station.
Street outside is very dirty & busy with all sorts of interesting things to watch but as you walk into the hotel it has an air of peace & tranquillity. A nice touch is the aromatherapy oil burners on each landing.
Our only disappointment - we were persuaded by the manager to use drivers for several of our long journeys when with hindsight, we'd have been better using the train (as we'd previously planned) & arranging a driver for when we got there - eg our journey to Agra took 7 hours by car. We cancelled the return & caught the a/c train train back taking 21/2hours. The car was old & tatty, not very comfortable & the air con didn't work properly so 7 hour journey was NOT fun! The driver was was a good driver but had already been at work for 14 hours by the time he collected us for our 7 hour journey so safety was a worry.

Room Tip: Stayed in 4 different rooms & all were of equal quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Excellent place to stay, nice food , centrally air conditioned , courteous staff, value for money .... Probably the best in pahargunj if u want the combo of classy stay and nice food.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumka, Jharkhand, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have a wonderful stay with Hotel City Star, i stayed here with my family for seven days & have a wonderful experience. the hotel is very nice & the staff are very friendly specially Front Desk-Manager Mr. Karamjeet, Mr. Guman Singh ji. The rooms are clean & well equipped with modern facilities. The breakfast they served at there Roof-Top restaurant is awesome, the main places are closest like New Delhi Railway Station, Old Delhi, Cannuaght Palace & Many more.

Room Tip: Go for Executive Rooms at back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for five days as we were on a combined business and leisure trip. The hotel clean, the staff friendly and helpful. Located near the Delhi Railway Station, on close distance of the major sightseeing spots of Delhi.
Travel arrangements made by the hotel mostly very adequate. If you plan a trip to Agra however, be sure to arrange for the Express Highway instead of the five hour lasting journey along the worst roads you can imagine, constantly bothered by buses, pedestrians and animals.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel City Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Star

Address: 8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Biden Pura
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 594 hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Star 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Delhi, convenient 2-minute walk from the New Delhi Train Station. Hotel Ciy Star featuring fitness center and a rooftop restaurant, offers complimentary pickup service, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and complimentary private parking is provided. The hotel is only 1 km to the well-known Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar Metro Station. The Karol Bagh Market, Red fort and the iconic India Gate are just 2 km away. Fitted with a desk, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar. En-suite bathrooms offer a hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel City Star operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with luggage storage, laundry and ticketing services. Meeting facilities and a tour desk is provided for convenience. Guests can also request for currency exchange and car rental arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel City Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel City Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.