We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Pahaganji !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel City Star

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel City Star to your Saves list
Hotel City Star
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 643 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Pahaganji !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

thats definitley the best new spot in pahaganji!! we stayed there two times in january, it's a very new place and has the standard of a 4star quality hotel! the staff shows so much effort, rooms are fancy and new, bathroom great, all like on the hotel website pictures. airport pick up went perfect, you just have to pay the parking time of the taxi at the airport, which is like 100-150rps. the driver always waited for us when we had flight delays. New delhi railway station is very close. they offer travel packages with drivers and arranged hotels, but we didn't book that, so don't know if prices are reasonable or not. They booked us our train tickets to Agra, for an extra 100-200rps which was very helpful. The portier and security in front of the hotel is really helpful as well and when he orders a taxi or rikshaw for you, you can be sure to get the best price.
New rooftop restaurant opened first of feb, breakfast buffet was very good.

just book it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    246
    46
    8
    9
See reviews for
113
306
94
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was the first hotel we stayed in and turned out to be the nicest. The hotel is brand new and all the rooms are extremely clean and well-appointed. The standard was comparable with much more expensive hotels. The staff were very keen to please and generally very helpful. The travel agent at the front was very keen to push us renting a car and I am glad that we didn’t (heard horror stories as we travelled around – though not with cars rented from this hotel specifically). They were not so keen to help us with bus tickets (clearly don’t get commission for these). However, when we got back to the hotel and asked if we could pay to use a shower before we travelled, they let us use a room for 2 hours entirely free of charge. I am sure they can’t do this all the time, but it did reflect a commitment to customer service which was not evident in a lot of the other places we stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilat, Israel
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

A super little hotel; very new, spanking clean, warm service, free wifi, mod cons and great value for money. A short rikshaw ride from the main bazaar and very close to the train station. The street outside is buzzing with action but the hotel itself is quiet, comfortable and welcoming. A good, safe, option for a nice upper-range budget hotel in Delhi - includes airport transfers in cost.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I entered the hotel they had a vry light music like the 5star hotels have the air insde the hotel was vry fresh the resturant was vry nicely build. i had an executive room the room was vry nice the bathroom was a bit small.but the thing i liked the most was the staff behaviour with me they were treating me and all the custumers vry well i surely come back to this hotel for another stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was amazing. Super new and fancy rooms. Service was very willing. Like 24 hrs room service and food. Good location. Offered nice travel packages departing from hotel. Totally they made a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I arrived in Delhi very late at night, so just wanted somewhere to crash close to the station as I'd be using the train to Agra next morning.

There was a problem at Delhi airport, meaning the hotel driver couldn't collect me as promised. It was Republic day weekend and security was incredibly tight at the airport resulting in huge traffic jams. No problem, I jumped in a metered taxi instead and the hotel provided me a free transfer back to the airport on departure to make up for the problems.

I arrived very late, around 2.30am so check-in was very quick. This area is full of 'budget' hotels with it being so close to the main Delhi station. Many of the hotels do look very 'budget' from the outside, but this is one of the few that looks welcoming, modern and clean.

I had an Executive room on the ground floor which was very large and nicely decorated. A very modern look, along with a flat scren TV and god selction of cable channels. The bathroom was also modern looking, all black tiling and the shower was powerful and hot water seemed available whenever you needed it(not always the case in India)

My only small gripe would be that as my room was on the same level of reception it wouldn't be suitable for light sleepers. Every time the phone rang, or someone come into reception you can hear everything. No big problem for me as I was very tired so it didn't keep me awake for long.

Overall, no problem staying here again if I needed to be near the station as it's one of the few nicer hotels in the area. Good value too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Its definitely my favorite hotel in Pahar gunj area now. Newly built, clean, unbeatable amenities, great staff, good location all this at a very very moderate price. Loved my stay. Looking forward to come back again. Special thanks to the staff for their wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.2 mi away
bloomrooms @ New Delhi Railway Station
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#46 of 643 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,163 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prime Balaji Deluxe @ New Delhi Railway Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
#6 of 643 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
8.4 mi away
Shanti Home
Shanti Home
#3 of 643 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 643 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 stars 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Star

Address: 8718, D.B. Gupta Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 643 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Star 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Delhi, convenient 2-minute walk from the New Delhi Train Station. Hotel Ciy Star featuring fitness center and a rooftop restaurant, offers complimentary pickup service, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and complimentary private parking is provided. The hotel is only 1 km to the well-known Connaught Place, Jama Masjid and Chawri Bazar Metro Station. The Karol Bagh Market, Red fort and the iconic India Gate are just 2 km away. Fitted with a desk, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar. En-suite bathrooms offer a hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel City Star operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with luggage storage, laundry and ticketing services. Meeting facilities and a tour desk is provided for convenience. Guests can also request for currency exchange and car rental arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel City Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel City Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.