We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gulnar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gulnar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gulnar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7A/45, W.E.A, Channa Market, Near Metro Piller No 122 | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #527 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Average Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Gulnar is located in Karol Bagh neighbourhood. We checked-in at around 11.30PM. Since the hotel is in busy area, it is nosier until late night. Room we checked into was well maintained but rooms are a tad cramped. We faced opening door lock with the smart card. We to call in the staff couple of times to unlock the door. Buffet breakfast was average.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gulnar, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hotel Gulnar!!!!

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in New Delhi. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. we have duly noted the places we failed to impressed and we are working on the same

Guest Feedback are important to us and are taken seriously as they encourage us to improve our service.It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at our hotel.

Thanking You

Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
16
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was the final stay for our Intrepid Travel Golden Triangle tour. Friendly staff. Check-in was quick. Wi-fi was great. Our room was exceptionally clean and spacious. Beds were comfortable. The wall outlets were "multi-functional" and could accommodate a variety of devices. So, no travel adapter needed.

Minor issue with the bathroom. The shower drained extremely slow. Also, since the bathroom design was completely open, there wasn't a shower curtain to prevent the rest of the floor from becoming wet. Bring your shower shoes. No issue with water pressure but there wasn't any hot water.

The breakfast buffet was a bit dismal. Our tour guide recommended Om Saravana Bhavan, a vegetarian South Indian restaurant. Nearby at 15A/17, W.E.A. Saraswati Marg, Karol Bagh. Great selection for breakfast and very reasonably priced.

There isn't a luggage room. So, our luggage was kept in the lobby behind the front desk. Check-out was painless.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gulnar, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hotel Gulnar!!!!

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in New Delhi. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. we have duly noted the places we failed to impressed and we are working on the same

Guest Feedback are important to us and are taken seriously as they encourage us to improve our service.It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at our hotel.

Thanking You

Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Gulnar in April 2014 for a course of attending a wedding in Amristsar. Mr Puneet and Mr Vinod were extremely helpful with quick check in, wifi was awesome, car arrangement to the airport was done smoothly and they kept in touch with us through whatsapp which was excellent. The rooms for the price were decent. Definitely a recommendation. Only one thing that disappointed us was the way breakfast was managed when we arrived for breakfast there was nothing to serve we had to wait so very poor. A little refurbishment on the restuarant and the kitchen being visible from each floors doesn't do justice to the hotel too. It will definitely score a better rating if this was taken care for.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and there was no issue with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gulnar, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hotel Gulnar!!!!

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in New Delhi. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. we have duly noted the places we failed to impressed and we are working on the same

Guest Feedback are important to us and are taken seriously as they encourage us to improve our service.It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at our hotel.

Thanking You

Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Staff were very attentive of customer's request and very helpful. I felt safe which was my number one priority when travelling. The room was clean and indian breakfast was very good. The man who served my compliment breakfast was really nice and attentive (april 22,2014). I wish i can mention his name but i regret not knowing it. Thanks to him

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gulnar, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hotel Gulnar!!!!

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in New Delhi. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. we have shared your appreciation to the concerned staff as well

Guest Feedback are important to us and are taken seriously as they encourage us to improve our service.It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at our hotel.

Thanking You

Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Gulnar hotel. Prior to arriving at the hotel we contacted Mr Puneet who was very helpful and proactive. On arrival Mr Puneet greeted us, but there was also a guy from the travel desk who literally pounced on us to sell his tours. He was aggressive and ill mannered. He could at least waited for us to get to our rooms first. Breakfast was a bit disappointing as there was not a variety of continental dishes. Even omelette was not available. Hotel is 10 mins away from metro and Ajmal Khan Road. Also beware of rickshaws around the hotel since they are most likely to cheat you. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gulnar, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hotel Gulnar!!!!

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in New Delhi. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. we have duly noted the places we failed to impressed and we are working on the same

Guest Feedback are important to us and are taken seriously as they encourage us to improve our service.It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at our hotel.

Thanking You

Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Friendly reception, quick check-in. Outside rooms have the best view as they face the town square, inside rooms are quieter but face the inside atrium. Our room was comfortable with mini-fridge, coffee maker, 36” flat screen, ceiling fan, AC unit, and an in-room safe large enough to hold your laptop and valuables. Like many modest-priced hotels be prepared to bathe with a cup and bucket, and hot water was only available in the morning and evening times. There was free wi-fi however the coverage was spotty and we went a few days without service. There is a restaurant on-site, and the included buffet breakfast was adequate with a variety of fruits and juices, parathas, eggs, hot currie dishes, coffee and chai. There are free daily newspapers in English, a guard on site, and you get a good exchange rate from the front desk. The hotel is within walking distance to Channa Market and to Karol Bagh Metro, however tuk-tuks are plentiful, cheap and fun costing around 70 rupees to Connaught Place. If you are not into shopping, be prepared to tell the driver firmly that you do not want to be taken to any shopping emporiums as they will most certainly try to steer you to one.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gulnar, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hotel Gulnar!!!!

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in New Delhi. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. we are glad that you had a good stay experience

Guest Feedback are important to us and are taken seriously as they encourage us to improve our service.It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at our hotel.

Thanking You

Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gulnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gulnar

Address: 7A/45, W.E.A, Channa Market, Near Metro Piller No 122 | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #527 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gulnar 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some of our hotel facilities are as below: - we have 30 rooms. Inventory: we have a conference/banquet hall to accommodate 125 plus pax. We have a bar/restaurant with a capacity of 50 plus pax. We have valid parking to park twenty cars and three buses at a time. We have windows in all the rooms; most of the rooms facing with market view. We have our own 24 hr money exchange facility. We have a hair dryer/electronic locker/tea coffee maker in all the rooms. We request you to give us an opportunity to serve you with a smile & build a long lasting relationship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Gulnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gulnar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.