We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great local indian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarvana Bhavan

Sarvana Bhavan
46, Janpath | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
+91 11 2331 7755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 3,289 restaurants in New Delhi
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
2 reviews
“great local indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

the place is crowded during lunch and dinner time. very authentic. try their dosai and thali. or you can point to the waitor any dishes you found appealing on other people's table.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    50
    56
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rajkot, India
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Delicious Food. Great South Indian Filter Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The restaurant is ideally located in the CP amidst all the shopping places on the Janpath. As is with all Sarvana Bhavan, this one dished out some delicious Medhu vadai. The service was quick and efficient. Would recommend to all, someone, who wants to try out south Indian food for the first time, especially in far awar north india.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Below expectations!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

One expects better and authentic South Indian food from Sarvana Bhawan. The recent experience at New Delhi restaurant left much to be desired. Dosas were inconsistently crisp and masala was quite bland. Even the extra added gun powder didn't make it spicy! Chutneys were watery and nothing great.
Plates didn't look very clean.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Authentic South Indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I had been an ardent fan of Sarvana Bhavan and during my visits to Chennai used to make it a point to have a meal there. Back at Delhi used to crave for the authentic taste. Once Sarvana opened their outlets in dlehi it became a dream come true.
Last time I visited their CP outlet was in Nov 2012 when I had visited the place along with my friends. Though I am a Tamilian myself but since I ws born and brought up in Delhi it becomes more memorable. I was guiding my friends on what each stuff was and how the same would taste. To my utter delight the guy who was serving us started to explain each stuff presented on the table. He even went ahead and suggested what to have. I did not show that I myself am a Tamilian and knew these things but joined my friends in asking the significance of the cutneys etc.
The food quality and taste as usual was superb.
Overall a wonderful experience and satisfying taste.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best and authentic South Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Be prepared for queues around Lunch time. Great food, though a bit pricey but worth each penny. Have tried mini-tiffin before taking a night train from New Delhi railway station. Perhaps the best and cleanest food you may get around for this money.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarvana Bhavan also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Sarvana Bhavan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarvana Bhavan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.