We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of New King Hotel

Save Saved
You added New King Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New King Hotel
15/16 Ramdwara Road | General Market, Main Bazar Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #557 of 805 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Delamere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We booked this hostel for one night to use as a base while we waited for an overnight bus. The hostel is set back from the main street, so it is quieter, but not very easy to find through dark, winding alleyways. Nor was it very welcoming.

On arrival we tried to check in but were rebuffed three times. We were shown to our room on the third floor which was very basic but adequate for our needs. The bed linen was stained with crumbs and hairs and appeared to have not been changed. The wifi didn't work and the air con was noisy and ineffective. The tv did work, and was useful entertainment.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    6
    6
    18
See reviews for
Families
0
8
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Udaipur, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I found it through Booking.com. The fotos there I am sure there are Photoshopped. As soon as you get in the alley that the hotel is, you have the smell of urine all over the place including the entrance. The stuff and the owner are really not helpful at all. The rooms are filthy and the sheets unchanged. No aircondition, just a noisy fun on the ceiling and something like a diesel engine box which was supposed to be the aircondition... the noise it made was unbearable. The area is very noisy and dusty as its the old bazzar. It had no towels but not even a soap. I saw and killed 1 cockroach but i didn't see any other...

Room Tip: Just don't go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hotel manager is HIGH, pretty much all the time. the rooms are filthy. As soon as he found out that I had friends in Delhi and that he can't sell anything to us, his demeanor changed. He actually pawned us off to another hotel cause he knew he had no benefit from us. The place is SOOOO hard to find, especially when you're here for the first time. I would recommend to look at your Guide book and find some other places. The 80% reviews on Hostelbookers and Hostelworld are probably all FAKE.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Booked this Hotel through Hostelbookers and then spotted loads of fake reviews!! They will push their tours very hard and will lie to you!! Took over 30 mins to check-in whilst he would hard sell to me. Telling you that it is always local holidays and impossible to book trains. I booked 3 trains the next day... (Be very careful at New Delhi Train Station, strangers will lie, the office is open. Do not go right!!)
Room was dirty with no TV and dangerous electrics. I forgot how many people "Sunny" shouted at one evening and to be fair all the tourists were being reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

It was my first night in Delhi. Typical Indian guest house. Some dirt under the beds, mold in the bathroom and unclean bedsheets. All in the spirit of the Main Bazaar. Breakfast is n/a, but there are many cafes surrounding it.

Room Tip: If you want to save money-I should try it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have booked the single room with 350Rs per night under Kuldeep Friends Hostel (which the same management of New King Hotel and inform them that I will arrive new delhi early morning (before 6am), feel a bit guilty that the receptionist must wake up when I arrived in winter which really cold but he said " no problem this is his duty ", this is my first impression of this hotel and my room was better than I expected. The room was nice with double bed, TV, Hot water ,toilet inside and I can just proceed to my room and make an entry when I woke up.

The location is simply to find, I went to New Delhi 3 times and stay different hotel in Main Bazar and I thought this is the cheapest and nice one which not easy to find.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hostel is OK, considering the price and the region: Pahar Ganj concentrates the worst of Delhi. But don't expect super clean rooms, and dont believe on the pictures.
But the real problem was the manager. He would offer different treatement to different kinds of people (Ex: very nice and sweet to girls travelling alone, very rude to guys or couples), and will try anything to sell you tours, train tickets, taxi and etc. He was rude, unsensitive and would not do anything to help us.
If you are in a very tight budget, have been to India before and know how to deal with this kind of people, no problem. But if you can spend an extra 2 dollar per night, or is just arriving in the country, avoid this at any cost.

Room Tip: Avoid the room on the ground floor, by the reception. You won't sleep due to the noise on the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New King Hotel

Address: 15/16 Ramdwara Road | General Market, Main Bazar Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #557 of 805 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your New King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New King Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.