We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid the mandir” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Birla Mandir Temple (Lakshmi Narayan)

Birla Mandir Temple (Lakshmi Narayan)
Connaught Place, New Delhi, India
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$91*
and up
Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day
Ranked #12 of 215 Attractions in New Delhi
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Burlington, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“avoid the mandir”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

if you have seen other temples, you can avoid this place. when I went there in the morning, there was no priest performing arthi,etc

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    161
    53
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

a must visit location at delhi. sheer splendor of the place is worth a trip. visit with family or solo. very well maintained

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful temple, poor upkeep of the grounds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I remember Birla Mandir to be a place where even our parents as kids used to go for worship and fun, as did we - the institution was a must-visit place earlier.

What we saw this time when we took our own kids there was sheer disappointment. We first went behind the main temple for the kids to run around, go into those caves and up those fountains and steps, etc. - the entire place has been cordoned off for no apparent reason, there was no civil work in sight. The place was enshrouded in thick dust all around, the water channels were dry and dirty, and you didn't need to think twice before realizing you can't sit anywhere. We crossed the barricades just like all the others to reach the animal statues and such, stayed maybe for 15 minutes before deciding to go into the temple for the evening aarti.

The aarti was nice, temple clean. You can't carry footwear/ cameras/ phones etc. inside, the temple has provided for lockers outside for safe-keeping. It was nice being inside the temple for until as long as one wants, before you make your way to the outside, collect your belongings and run for the ice-cream stalls!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellence redefined”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent art work on stones. A very good place to visit especially for the religious people. Here you can feel the rich heritage of Hindu religion.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice looking temple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The temple was nice colorful and pretty looking from our view in the outside. we did not get a chance to go inside so I dont have really much to say, but for people visiting Delhi it is worth visiting the temple since this is one of the famous area to see.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birla Mandir Temple (Lakshmi Narayan) also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Birla Mandir Temple (Lakshmi Narayan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birla Mandir Temple (Lakshmi Narayan), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.