We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of Calm with Superb Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor to your Saves list
The Manor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   77, Friends Colony,west, New Delhi 110065, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Oasis of Calm with Superb Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights knowing nothing about the place beforehand. Was really pleasantly surprised. This hotel really is an oasis of calm in the bustle of Delhi. This is a small hotel and does what small hotels often do best......quiet, unassuming and attentive service with a desire to provide a very high level of attention. Lovely clean rooms with some personal touches.
The restaurant has recently won some awards and this shows in the quality of the food available. We ate here on 2 consecutive nights and had a wonderful time.
Only comment I have is that this hotel is located away from the middle of Delhi and it can take some time to get to the centre and some of the most visited tourist sites.....but having said that, it is worth it for the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your dining experience at our restaurant 'Indian Accent'.

Your compliments have been shared with the team and they are grateful for the appreciation.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Manor.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    99
    26
    7
    9
See reviews for
32
165
35
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The Manor delivers smooth elegant calm. As a boutique hotel it is difficult to fault and its certainly far nicer than the chain operated business hotels that tend to dominate Indian cities.

The food provided in Indian Accent restaurant is exceptional, although priced accordingly.

Sadly our second meal there was spoiled by the oafish behaviour of another diner, for reasons I find difficult to understand given the level at which this restaurant operates, they had seated a couple at a sofa & coffee table relaxation area in the corner from where the smoked and drank continuously, getting progressively louder and louder, with language that was far from lady like. If I had wanted to be subjected to this sort of thing I could have got it for just a few rupees at one of the trucker stops on the National Highways

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Flower petals elegantly sculpted on the terrace and corridors, charming staff at reception, nothing too much trouble and a tasteful library on the first floor landing...I could live here!
A beautiful boutique hotel with charm and peace in a hectic City

Room Tip: Eat at the Hotel, you won't find better elsewhere in Rajastan
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay.

Positive feedback from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Manor.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I think this is my 4 th staying at this hotel.
So i can call it home....
I am not going to talk about the beauty of the hotel this time.
I am only writing this to express how thankful i am for the assistance and A + service i have received from the staff of this property.
Dear
Tushar( my dear friend),pushkar,adnaan,nisand,kiran and all the others i can't remember.
Thank you very much for all the things that you ve done for me to feel more and more comfortable during my stay.
You guys are success partners of this hotel.
Hope to see you soon....

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at The Manor.

Positive feedback from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight. Your feedback has truly motivated us and it has been shared with the entire team and they are grateful for the appreciation.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darjeeling, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Manor is a beautiful, classy boutique hotel that has character and charm in it. I have stayed in few places around New Delhi, that are more, or equally priced, but personally I would still prefer to stay here and no where else whilst in Delhi. It's become a home. The famous Indian Accent restaurant epitomizes class and creativity with Indian food. My colleagues form Germany were flabbergasted with the food and the touch of class during their stay at the Manor. They have already recommended their friends and would like to get other people they know to the restaurant for a treat. The staff are so young, professional, well educated, groomed and add that breath of fresh air which other hotels lack in Delhi. When in Delhi stay at the Manor is my slogan from now onward!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms below; or the Manor Junior Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to review The Manor.

We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed dining at our restaurant ‘Indian Accent’.

Appreciation from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed at this property twice. The first time we had a lovely albeit small room on the first floor. It had a window with a view into the garden. To our horror the room we were given upon our return had no natural light. The "window" looked out onto a wall. To see in the room I had to ask for an additional lamp to be brought in. I was told we could have a different room the following day. That room also had no natural light! And inadequate lighting. To the credit of the staff they finally moved us to a suite which did have Windows and natural light although again the lighting in the room was poor. The staff kept saying the rooms had no Windows. The owners of this hotel should amend their website so that the fact that some of the rooms have no natural light is made clear. As things stand at present the website is misleading and would open the hotel to legal action in countries with consumer protection legislation. I would never have returned to the hotel had I been aware I might be placed in a windowless hole. For a hotel that charges the rates it does those rooms are a disgrace. The other issue is the lack of free wireless internet. If you pay you can only connect one device. On the positive side the location is nice as is the decor. The staff are pleasant although the wait staff could not answer questions about the wine. The notion of sweetness and dryness seemed alien. Some people may find the noise from the trains and nearby flyover disturbing. The food in the restaurant is very good.

Room Tip: Make sure it has natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The Manor is decorated in a modern, clean style. Everything in our room looked new and the room was very clean. The bed was comfortable and there was good water pressure in the shower. The staff was very nice and helpful and there were treats including tea which was very nice after a long flight. The hotel was also very quiet when we were there.

The highlight of the stay, however, was the hotel restaurant. We ordered the tasting menu and it was divine! Very light, healthy and tasty. Some of our friends who live in Delhi met us at the restaurant and also confirmed its excellent reputation with the locals. The restaurant is also decorated in a modern design and was very comfortable and pleasant for dining and conversation. The staff was also excellent. The meal was expensive by Indian (but not western) standards but well worth it!!

The only word of caution is budgeting time for the traffic in Delhi. We took a taxi from the airport and the driver had trouble finding the place (I assume because it was outside of his neck of the woods--not that there are any woods left in Delhi). We had printed out the directions from the hotel and I had google map directions so we were able to help direct the driver to enter the right residential area, and then he asked some neighbors until we arrived at The Manor. Printing out directions and having the phone number handy would be a good idea if you are coming by random cab.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to review The Manor.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at The Manor and enjoyed dining at our restaurant ‘Indian Accent’.

Appreciation from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Address: 77, Friends Colony,west, New Delhi 110065, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#53 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis in the centre of Delhi, the 2-storey, 16-room boutique hotel is set in landscaped gardens and has been completely redesigned as a contemporary luxury hotel. The Manor's emphasis on quality, understated elegance and comfort is apparent in public areas contrasting cool Italian mosaic flooring with warm, rich wood paneling. Combined with service that is friendly and efficient, the Manor is the perfect retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.