We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor

Save Saved
You added The Manor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Manor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   77, Friends Colony,west, New Delhi 110065, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights (September 15-17, 2013) while visiting Delhi. The location is quiet and peaceful, tucked away in a beautiful neighborhood. Our room had every amenity, with the only negative being that the room was somewhat "dark", even midday with the sun shining. The only restaurant option on site is Indian Accents, which is delicious, but also very expensive. For any other dining option you would need to drive outside of the hotel. The staff was friendly, but formal.

Room Tip: We were in the Manor Room ( room #4) which was dark, even during midday. The room itself, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    80
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
28
140
32
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slave Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Not sure what to expect while getting our first taste of India, we booked something a little nicer than our usual budget tastes and we were not disappointed! From the tasteful decor, to the marvellous food, to the understated but superior service, we loved every minute of our stay. Yes, it is a bit out of the way, but that led to a wonderful peaceful atmosphere, a true break from the city streets. The restaurant was stellar and is not to be missed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for taking time out to write a review about your recent stay at The Manor.

We are glad to know that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your dining experience at our restaurant Indian Accent.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darjeeling, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed at this place during my recent visit to Delhi. The beauty of Manor is its location, tucked amidst friends colonies elite residential properties. It feels like a luxury private home than a hotel, and that is why I liked it here. The touch and details within the premises is eloquent and exquisite; you could tell that the developers and management have a good sense and taste! The star attraction of this beautiful place are its polished, elegant and versatile staff who are always there to make you feel that extra comfortable. Last but not the least, is the popular Indian Accent restaurant, visited by many who wish to get their taste buds tantalized by its popular Chef Manish. I will certainly visit this place time and again during visits to Delhi.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are more spacious with extra benefits such as a book gallery, extra lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for taking time out to write a review about your recent stay at The Manor.

We are glad to know that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your dining experience at our restaurant Indian Accent.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 days in our Mumbai trip. We had a good experience in stay as well as food. We stayed in A/C room and facilities were very good...All items were available in the bath room and service was also good... Breakfast was complementary and entire family enjoyed the food...I am not aware of the price as it was booked by our tour operator....

--Saravanan

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for taking time out to write a review about your recent stay at The Manor.

We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and they are grateful for the appreciation.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Manor.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We recently spent two days in Delhi at this hotel. Having been away from this city for a long time, it was quite pleasant experience. We booked a Junior Suite and so found the room quite spacious for us and our daughter. Clean and well equipped with good bedlinen! The bathroom was quite big with a good sized bath tub which was a welcome addition after 12 days of travelling in Leh and Ladakh.
The people working in this hotel are very polite and the reception staff went out of their way to accomodate our requests. The marigold floweres everywhere and especially in the evenings added a very ethnic touch!
The only thing that would make us think about staying at this hotel again is the choice of food. While I understand the Chef is a Celebrity Chef and has a few awards under his belt, I am a hotelier as well and it is all about value for money. The dishes on the menu are fusion and anyone looking for a hearty Indian meal would be disappointed. I believe the location of the hotel may not be the ideal venue to have this kind of cuisine. I may be wrong as well so dont take me on my word!
Sadly the SPA was under renovation and this should have showed up in the website.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We just spent the first two nights of a fortnight india holiday at the Manor and sadly wished we had picked a different hotel. It's too far from the centre so any sightseeing requires a half hour taxi ride (300+ rupees) and none of the taxis we got in the centre could find it without much help! The restaurant was an issue for us - it serves a strange nouvelle cuisine menu of tiny portions of very complicated food that are Indian influenced but not really Indian food. Also the restaurant is v expensive compared to some quality central Delhi restaurants that serve simple authentic Indian food.
That said, the rooms are lovely, spacious and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a problem if you needed it early and quickly.....
Sadly, overall I would advise not using the Manor...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

At the outset, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your recent stay at The Manor.

Your feedback regarding the menu selection of our restaurant - Indian Accent has been discussed with our Executive Chef, who regrets that it was not upto your taste and would like to assure you that he will be looking into it.

Also, your concern regarding the breakfast service has been taken up with the entire team and they have been briefed to avoid such delays in future.

Guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us and we sincerely regret that we were not able to meet yours this time.

We do hope that this particular experience will not deter you from patronizing The Manor in future. Our team looks forward to welcoming you again.

Regards,

Manager
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I had heard a lot about the manor from trip advisor, but I was disappointed with the stay experience.

Positive points: The room is quite comfortable and good in size, The hotel is very cozy and quiet.
Service is good, and very personalized, the location is quite central and in the heart of the city and close to many shopping Areas.

Negative points : There was no hot water, had to call 4-5 times for the same, and at last they gave us warm water in buckets.

The tub is too small, even the tub curtain is too short and the whole bathroom floor gets wet.

The major thing, the breakfast, it was my worst breakfast experience !
there were only 2 choices, continental and Indian.

I tried the Indian and my wife took the continental.
The Indian had a extremely oily masala Dosa, so oily that I even dint bother to eat after a couple of bites, the dosa was served with sambhar and mayonnaise, where in I was missing the coconut chutney.

Even for my wife for the continental, the portion included an omelet, and toast( which even were not hot) and a cup of coffee.

I even shared my breakfast experience with Anand at the reception and got a very cold response.

hence I was disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

At the outset, please accept our profuse apologies for the unsatisfactory experience during your recent stay at The Manor.

As a hospitality company, we have always done our utmost to meet quality standards that have exceeded our guests’ expectations and we sincerely regret that we were not able to meet yours this time.

Your feedback regarding the hot water availability and the curtains for bath tub has been taken up with our Chief Engineer and Executive Housekeeper respectively, who send their sincere apologies and assure you that necessary corrective actions have been taken to avoid any such inconvenience to our guests in future.

Also, your concern regarding the breakfast has been discussed in detail with our Chef, who would be looking into it. Our Chef and his team would like to assure you a much better experience on your next stay.

Once again we send our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We hope this particular experience will not deter you from patronizing The Manor in future.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you again on your next stay.

Regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Address: 77, Friends Colony,west, New Delhi 110065, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#17 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Manor 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis in the centre of Delhi, the 2-storey, 16-room boutique hotel is set in landscaped gardens and has been completely redesigned as a contemporary luxury hotel. The Manor's emphasis on quality, understated elegance and comfort is apparent in public areas contrasting cool Italian mosaic flooring with warm, rich wood paneling. Combined with service that is friendly and efficient, the Manor is the perfect retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Expedia, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.