We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor to your Saves list
The Manor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   77, Friends Colony,west, New Delhi 110065, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Nice Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We recently spent two days in Delhi at this hotel. Having been away from this city for a long time, it was quite pleasant experience. We booked a Junior Suite and so found the room quite spacious for us and our daughter. Clean and well equipped with good bedlinen! The bathroom was quite big with a good sized bath tub which was a welcome addition after 12 days of travelling in Leh and Ladakh.
The people working in this hotel are very polite and the reception staff went out of their way to accomodate our requests. The marigold floweres everywhere and especially in the evenings added a very ethnic touch!
The only thing that would make us think about staying at this hotel again is the choice of food. While I understand the Chef is a Celebrity Chef and has a few awards under his belt, I am a hotelier as well and it is all about value for money. The dishes on the menu are fusion and anyone looking for a hearty Indian meal would be disappointed. I believe the location of the hotel may not be the ideal venue to have this kind of cuisine. I may be wrong as well so dont take me on my word!
Sadly the SPA was under renovation and this should have showed up in the website.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    84
    24
    6
    9
See reviews for
28
153
32
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We just spent the first two nights of a fortnight india holiday at the Manor and sadly wished we had picked a different hotel. It's too far from the centre so any sightseeing requires a half hour taxi ride (300+ rupees) and none of the taxis we got in the centre could find it without much help! The restaurant was an issue for us - it serves a strange nouvelle cuisine menu of tiny portions of very complicated food that are Indian influenced but not really Indian food. Also the restaurant is v expensive compared to some quality central Delhi restaurants that serve simple authentic Indian food.
That said, the rooms are lovely, spacious and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a problem if you needed it early and quickly.....
Sadly, overall I would advise not using the Manor...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

At the outset, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your recent stay at The Manor.

Your feedback regarding the menu selection of our restaurant - Indian Accent has been discussed with our Executive Chef, who regrets that it was not upto your taste and would like to assure you that he will be looking into it.

Also, your concern regarding the breakfast service has been taken up with the entire team and they have been briefed to avoid such delays in future.

Guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us and we sincerely regret that we were not able to meet yours this time.

We do hope that this particular experience will not deter you from patronizing The Manor in future. Our team looks forward to welcoming you again.

Regards,

Manager
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I had heard a lot about the manor from trip advisor, but I was disappointed with the stay experience.

Positive points: The room is quite comfortable and good in size, The hotel is very cozy and quiet.
Service is good, and very personalized, the location is quite central and in the heart of the city and close to many shopping Areas.

Negative points : There was no hot water, had to call 4-5 times for the same, and at last they gave us warm water in buckets.

The tub is too small, even the tub curtain is too short and the whole bathroom floor gets wet.

The major thing, the breakfast, it was my worst breakfast experience !
there were only 2 choices, continental and Indian.

I tried the Indian and my wife took the continental.
The Indian had a extremely oily masala Dosa, so oily that I even dint bother to eat after a couple of bites, the dosa was served with sambhar and mayonnaise, where in I was missing the coconut chutney.

Even for my wife for the continental, the portion included an omelet, and toast( which even were not hot) and a cup of coffee.

I even shared my breakfast experience with Anand at the reception and got a very cold response.

hence I was disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

At the outset, please accept our profuse apologies for the unsatisfactory experience during your recent stay at The Manor.

As a hospitality company, we have always done our utmost to meet quality standards that have exceeded our guests’ expectations and we sincerely regret that we were not able to meet yours this time.

Your feedback regarding the hot water availability and the curtains for bath tub has been taken up with our Chief Engineer and Executive Housekeeper respectively, who send their sincere apologies and assure you that necessary corrective actions have been taken to avoid any such inconvenience to our guests in future.

Also, your concern regarding the breakfast has been discussed in detail with our Chef, who would be looking into it. Our Chef and his team would like to assure you a much better experience on your next stay.

Once again we send our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We hope this particular experience will not deter you from patronizing The Manor in future.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you again on your next stay.

Regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We decided to spend a weekend away just to get out of our house without the hassle of travel and to pamper ourselves. The choice of going to The Manor was the perfect choice. Located in the middle of a residential colony in Delhi, The Manor gives you a respite from the bustle of the city.

The rooms are spacious and airy with a lot of natural light coming in from the large glass doors. The room we had taken had a small sit out where we could have a smoke and a drink but there was a lot of noise from the rail tracks which are rather close by. It wasn't much of a bother though because everything else was perfect.

The Manor has one of the best restaurants in town named The Indian Accent. We enjoyed our lunch and dinner immensely. We decided to order in room service for dinner and while the menu is limited, all the items on the menu are fantastic. Breakfast however was average with the dosa being a lot oiler than we'd have liked.

The staff are extremely helpful and polite and made our stay quite pleasurable. All in all a fantastic albeit slightly pricey experience but well worth the money spent!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for taking time out to write a review about your recent stay at The Manor.

We are glad to know that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your dining experience at our restaurant Indian Accent. In addition, your feedback regarding the dosa has been shared with our Chef, who assures you that he would be definitely looking into it.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Manor.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I decided to escape our typical routine in Delhi and spend a weekend at the hotel. The plan started to unravel almost immediately upon arrival. We had requested a late check out in our booking as we planned to have dinner at Indian Accent on our last day. Though the hotel appeared to be empty, we were not granted a late check out. After checking in, we soon flooded the bathroom as the shower curtain was too short. Our woes continued throughout the night and the following morning. We stayed in room 12, and an excessively noisy rumbling sound from the air conditioning unit above the closet woke both my wife and I up multiple times during the middle of the night. When we explained the issue to the front desk, we were provided with a curt reply of "sorry." Moreover, part of the joy of getting away from our normal routine is the hope for peace and quiet. Instead, we were woken up promptly at 930am by the hotel staff announcing room service. The problem is - we never ordered room service and preferred to sleep in. The breakfast options seemed sparse, and we would not recommend people paying for this meal unless it is part of the package. While the food at Indian Accent is superb, the valet service is left wanting. When we returned in the evening for dinner (after being asked to leave at 12), we attempted to park the car on the driveway as our luggage was still in the car. Despite no cars being present in any of the 5 parking spaces, our car was promptly whisked away as the valet stated that cars are not meant to be parked on the driveway. However, when leaving dinner after consuming a great meal, we found 4 cars parked on the driveway. I guess our car was not fancy enough to be seen in public for other guests. Superb dinner at Indian Accent, but I would stay elsewhere in Delhi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

At the outset please accept our profuse apologies for the unsatisfactory experience during your recent stay at The Manor.

Guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us and we deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectations.

While sending our sincere apologies for the inconvenience, we would like to assure you that necessary corrective actions have been taken based on your feedback on air conditioner noise and shower curtains.

Also, your feedback regarding the room and valet service has been taken up very seriously with the concerned head of departments, who will be looking into it.

We do hope that this particular experience will not deter you from patronizing The Manor in future. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

One of the best hotels I have stayed in while travelling in India over a 20 year period. It's a small place and particular the suites are a great bargain in terms of space, decor and feel. You can tell that the people behind the manor are proud of what they do - and they are good at it. On top of it all comes the restaurant serving fusion - e.g. shrimp bacan tandoori etc. No pool, but it's as if you don't really need it. Only drawback - it's difficult to find and it's a little far from Delhi's main attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for taking time out to write a review about your recent stay at The Manor.

We are glad to know that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your dining experience at our restaurant Indian Accent.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as my son and his fiancée were getting married there. Excellent welcome, good, large beautifully decorated rooms and a private area outside the room. It was very hot in Delhi (46 degrees) but this hotel was a cool oasis as it was air-conditioned. Food was outstanding - nouvelle cuisine Indian style. Breakfasts were good with a choice of cold drinks and teas, an Indian choice and bakery. Definitely recommend this hotel though don't go to Delhi in June as it is too hot!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at The Manor.

Positive feedback from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight. Your feedback has truly motivated us and it has been shared with the entire team and they are grateful for the appreciation.

Thank you for you for recommending The Manor to other travelers. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Address: 77, Friends Colony,west, New Delhi 110065, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#20 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#44 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis in the centre of Delhi, the 2-storey, 16-room boutique hotel is set in landscaped gardens and has been completely redesigned as a contemporary luxury hotel. The Manor's emphasis on quality, understated elegance and comfort is apparent in public areas contrasting cool Italian mosaic flooring with warm, rich wood paneling. Combined with service that is friendly and efficient, the Manor is the perfect retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.