We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to start our India adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor to your Saves list
The Manor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   77, Friends Colony,west, New Delhi 110065, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Xaghra Gozo Malta
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great place to start our India adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on our first tour to Northern India.Chaotic drive from the airport in the rush hour so it was good to arrive at this small boutique hotel in a quiet part of New Delhi.Very comfortable room & the food in the 'Indian Accent restaurant was terrific.It was also close to the main thoroughfare where the Republic Day parade took place the day after our arrival - 26th January every year.A superb spectacle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at The Manor and enjoyed your dining experience at our restaurant ‘Indian Accent’.

Positive feedback from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight. Your feedback has truly motivated us and it has been shared with the entire team and they are grateful for the appreciation.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    85
    24
    6
    9
See reviews for
29
153
32
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very pleasant hotel with helpful, hospitable staff. Well appointed comfortable room. Excellent restaurant "Indian Accent". Mediocre breakfast. Bit of noise from nearby trains.Expected room change undertaken with minimum of disruption. Able to check rugby results on hotel PC

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay at The Manor and had a great dining experience at Indian Accent. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and they are grateful for the appreciation.

In addition, your feedback regarding the breakfast has been shared with our Executive Chef, who regrets that it was not upto your expectation. Guest feedback has played an important role to know any areas of concern. Your feedback has been taken up in a constructive manner and we assure you that a necessary corrective action is being taken.

We are glad to know that your overall experience was great and thank you for reviewing The Manor.
Our team looks forward to welcoming you again on your next stay.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is without a doubt the best boutique hotel in New Dehli. The food is simply superb, and there is talk of them getting a star in the near future. The first in India. And to be fair, they probably deserve it. But......and it is a big but for me.

We were travelling up to Shimla, and back down again, but unfortunately the weather prevented this. Instead we went off to Jaipur. Despite the fact that the Manor were given four days notice they refused point blank to cancel our room. They said they needed seven days notice. When questioned why they said they made little money because of the likes of Expedia and Olotels etc. there margins were being cut to the bone. We chose the Manor, and booked through a reputable long term agent circa 10 months in advance, paying a non discounted price. These guys are so arrogant about their quality they cannot see the seem to work out when they should use tough cancellation rules versus when to be sensible.

I cannot recommend them on this basis. My wife and I will not stay their again. Their stinking attitude to their customers has stopped these customers from ever going back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

At the very outset, please accept our profuse apologies for the unsatisfactory experience.

Guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us and we sincerely regret that we were unable to meet yours. Your feedback regarding the cancellation policy has been taken up with our reservation team and we have investigated the matter thoroughly. We would like to mention that as per the cancellation policy, for a booking cancellation made within 0 – 15 days prior to arrival, 100% of total amount is charged as a cancellation charge. Also, the cancellation policy is clearly mentioned in the e-mail confirmation sent by us.

We do hope that we were able to address your concern and sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to serve you in the future. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Delhi.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Manor is located in a charming little residential street right in central Delhi and has the perfect boutique atmosphere that I prefer over super chain hotels that seem to excessively litter this city. The rooms are comfortable, it is tastefully decorated and the restaurant "Indian Accent" is excellent. The staff are adorable and couldn't possibly be more helpful. I come to Delhi often, and am happy to have found a place that isn't either a giant modern high rise, or attached to a shopping mall, yet in close proximity to the Lodi Gardens and the Khan Market which are two of my favorite haunts in Delhi. The closer you get to the airport or to Connaught Place, the charm gradually dissipates, so I can highly recommend The Manor in every category!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at The Manor and enjoyed your dining experience at our restaurant ‘Indian Accent’.

Positive feedback from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight. Your feedback has truly motivated us and it has been shared with the entire team and they are grateful for the appreciation.

Thank you for you for recommending The Manor to other travelers. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

After the chaos of our arrival at Delhi airport and the moaning of our taxi driver at the distance this hotel was from the airport, combined with the unbelievable impact of road traffic in Delhi, it was with considerable relief that we found ourselves in this delightful haven. Staff were very welcoming and helpful, accommodation very comfortable and the food absolutely delicious.

The hotel is in a private estate so out of the way of all of the bustle of the city. It seemed very self contained so brilliant if you are being taken everywhere by car as we were but not sure how well placed for doing your own thing.

The only fault we found was that the bath and sink pop-up plugs did not hold water but as there was a large and well behaved shower this did not bother us.

Thank you to all staff who made our first visit to Delhi a huge pleasure.

Room Tip: There is a railway line relatively close although you would not be aware of this until the quiet of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We arrived here, fresh from Sri Lanka, blurry eyed and tired on 8 February and we stayed two nights. The hotel is an oasis of calm in the hustle and bustle of Delhi. It is set in an exclusive enclave in south Delhi, where (it appears) lots of well heeled Indian's have bought mansions. If you are expecting to be able to walk from your hotel to a local restaurant, this is not your hotel, as the area is residential. The rooms are really, really comfortable. Very well designed with high spec furniture and fitments. The staff are attentive. We did not eat at the restaurant, as we have a noisy 3 year old and did not want to disturb other diners, plus it was booked out, but we ate in our room from the great in room menu. The restaurant has won awards and I believe the chef is the equivalent of Jamie Oliver / Gordon Ramsey. Anyway, our food was great and the Indian wine was excellent. Breakfasts were very tasty with fresh juice, porridge, toast or Indian style.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at The Manor.

Positive feedback from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and they are grateful for the appreciation.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

First time in Dehli we were looking for a tranquil haven to relax into our India excursion. The service started smoothly and efficiently with Surgeet waiting a long time for us to come through customs and immigration and greeting us warmly. He went on to provide exemplary service for the remainder of the week as our driver and

The hotel building itself met the standards as portrayed in their advertising providing a quiet, clean (down to disguising unsavoury odours outside with scented burners) and elegant environment. The restaurant we found to be very good particularly the chef's table and they accommodated my nut allergy with no fuss.

In particular I have to mention two people other than Surgeet who provided excellent service and a warm and friendly manner and they were the Sikh gentleman in the bar and a young chap with black spectacles (apologies for forgetting your names) who did our housekeeping and turn down service.

A couple of small gripes that I think make this miss from being a 5 star establishment:

The towels show signs of being laundered in the very polluted environment and are thin and grey. Would be good to see them replaced with thick and maybe not white hence the staining from the air/water? would not show.

The mood lighting meant at night I could not see much, the room was quite dark.

The room was exceptionally cold and the in room heating made it colder. Staff provided a fan heater that after two to three days continuous and noisy operation did lift the room temperature to bearable but hardly 5 star comfort. To be fair we did arrive in winter from an Australian summer but still!

The spa was absolutely freezing for my massage to the point of goosebumps.

The general demeanour of the staff could not be faulted as such but we felt it to be somewhat cold. Always professional and courteous but lacking friendly warmth.

Having said all of the above The Manor filled our needs to be away from the hustle and bustle, and give us a peaceful retreat. We would definately stay again.

Room Tip: The suite was excellent value for money with your own balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write a review about your recent stay at The Manor. We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay.

Our restaurant team is grateful for your kind words of appreciation. In addition, your feedback regarding the room temperature, lighting and bathroom towels has been discussed with our Chief Engineer and Executive Housekeeper respectively, who send their sincere apologies and assure you that they will be taking necessary corrective action to avoid such complaints in future.

Also, we have briefed our General Manager – Training about your feedback regarding the lack of friendliness in our staff behavior and would like to assure you that we have scheduled necessary training sessions on guest handling and courtesy.

Guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us and we would like to thank you for your constructive feedback. This certainly jolted us out of complacency.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you again at The Manor.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Address: 77, Friends Colony,west, New Delhi 110065, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#20 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#45 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis in the centre of Delhi, the 2-storey, 16-room boutique hotel is set in landscaped gardens and has been completely redesigned as a contemporary luxury hotel. The Manor's emphasis on quality, understated elegance and comfort is apparent in public areas contrasting cool Italian mosaic flooring with warm, rich wood paneling. Combined with service that is friendly and efficient, the Manor is the perfect retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.