We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor to your Saves list
The Manor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   77, Friends Colony,west, New Delhi 110065, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bridgetown, Barbados
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We arrived, tired after our journey from Manchester via Dubai and were very relieved that our room was ready. We were greeted with great charm and courtesy and our immediate impression was of a modern, understated boutique hotel that was much to our taste. Our room was comfortable and well-furnished. We got some rest during the afternoon and then our thoughts turned to dinner. We did not know of any eating possibilities in the area (which looked very residential in an up-market way) so thought we would just try the hotel restaurant. Indian Accents is superb and we had one of the best meals we have eaten anywhere in the world. We had the taster menu with matched wines. The flavours were subtle and a wonderful mix of traditional and modern cooking. The chef came and spoke with us and explained how he prepared some of the dishes. Indian Accents may be opening branches in the west and that is something to look forward to. So thankyou to the Manor Hotel and thankyou Trans Indus (our tour operator) for directing us there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are glad to know that you had a great stay at The Manor and enjoyed your visit to our restaurant ‘Indian Accent’.

We strive to maintain service standards that exceed our guests' expectations. Your feedback has truly motivated us and it has been shared with the entire team who are grateful for the appreciation.

We once again thank you for your valued feedback and look forward to welcoming you at The Manor.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    99
    26
    7
    9
See reviews for
32
165
35
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Having tried different types of accommodation during our Indian vacation, we ended the holiday with two nights here in late September. We were not disappointed. The Manor is a lovely boutique hotel situated in an quiet affluent suburb about 20+ minutes south east from the city centre, and around 30+ minutes from the international airport

Our room overlooked the garden, and had a modern decor, like the rest of the hotel. The room was luxurious in an understated way, and spotlessly clean. It had plenty of storage, a comfortable seating, plus a large desk, and the en-suite bathroom wanted for nothing, as one would expect from this level of hotel.

On our first night, we tried the Manor's restaurant and, following the recommendation of the pretty waitress, had the best dinner of our 16 days in India. That is, a delicious 7 course "Indian fusion" degustation accompanied by lovely wines from around the world. Not cheap, but well worth it for the experience.

As we were catching an early morning flight on our last day in India, the hotel had prepared a light "take-away" breakfast for us enjoy on the way to the airport. A nice touch!

Room Tip: We chose a Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for taking time out to share your feedback on your recent stay at The Manor.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your dining experience at our restaurant ‘Indian Accent’. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and they are grateful for the appreciation

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Manor is one that I highly recommend to anyone visiting New Delhi. It wouldn't be on the list of "100 Best Hotels in the World" for nothing. This 16 room boutique hotel offers world-class hospitality and experience. Truly an oasis in the middle of the chaotic capital.

The Manor is quite expensive by Indian standards but you get your money's worth for the excellent service by its wonderful staff. Although the location can be off-putting specially if you intend to do public transport when going sightseeing, it still is perfect since it's located in the very posh neighborhood of Friends Colony. This is the place to be if you want to relax and be away from the hustle and bustle of the Delhi. the rooms are spacious and clean. there's a garden where you can chill and have your coffee. the The rooms are well-maintained; the staff, very attentive; and to top it off, the restaurant "Indian Accent" is one of the finest in the city. Honestly, it was the restaurant that made me want to book a room at the Manor in the first place. Upon checking in at the hotel, I knew I made the right choice. I will definitely stay here again next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are glad to know that you had a comfortable stay at The Manor and enjoyed your dining experience at our restaurant Indian Accent.

At the Manor, we strive to maintain service standards that exceed our guests' expectations. Your feedback has truly motivated us, and has been shared with the entire team and they are grateful for the appreciation.

We once again thank you for your valued feedback and look forward to welcoming you at The Manor.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A small boutique hotel (16 rooms) - excellent and attentive staff - nothing is a problem for them. Nice furniture and surroundings - all very clean. Snuggled away from the hustle and bustle of Delhi - hotel will arrange their own car or a reliable taxi (we used VJ a taxi - 1500 rupees for a full day). Hotel also has free internet access or you can pay a rather steep 280 rupees for an hours wifi.

The food is excellent - don't miss out. Expensive by Indian standards but well worth it.

Only downside is that any "wandering" say after a meal is limited to the gated Frends Colony - but after a days sightseeing (and shopping0 that really isn't a big issue.

Room Tip: We stayed twice - Rooms 12 and 16 - probably prefer the latter, very quiet with minimum foot fall pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are glad to know that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your visit to our restaurant ‘Indian Accent’.

Positive feedback from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Manor.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Lovely former bungalow tucked away from the hustle and bustle but still close to the sights by car.Pleasant and helpful staff and fabulous restaurant that is a must. Rooms clean and well furnished tho ours was on the ground floor and a bit noisy as too near the service area/kitchen. Very nice garden area and verandah. Staff made great recommendations for meals out. Would certainly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the kitchen end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at The Manor.

Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and they are grateful for the appreciation.

With regards to your feedback on noise, we would like to assure you that our team has taken necessary corrective action to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable stay.

Thank you for you for recommending our restaurant ‘Indian Accent’ to other travelers.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have now stayed at the Manor twice - once with my husband and once alone when I was in Delhi for work. On both occasions, I had a lovely experience. The staff is professional and helpful. The rooms are nice, cozy and modern. In terms of location, the hotel is located in Friends Colony, which is quiet and posh neighborhood. Not exactly centrally located but I didn't find this to be a problem. Overall, the Manor is a charming boutique hotel-- a gem in a city like Delhi.

The restaurant is EXCELLENT-- fusion Indian food. One should try the tasting menu for lunch or dinner. Also, the breakfast is not to be missed. I had the French Toast, which was delicious.

One thing I will add is that the hotel could be a bit sharper during the phone reservation process. On both occasions, I felt that they were a little dazed at the start of the conversation.

Also, during my second trip, I had some issues with the hot water in my bathroom- however, the hotel handled the situation very professionally and even followed it up with an email post my stay.

It is great value for money and I love that the staff and hotel remembers you from your previous stay. They also make an effort to try and remember your preferences.

I will def. stay here again- infact, I tried to make a reservation for an upcoming weekend, but sadly they are booked out!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for a week, we had planned three days and then it extended to a week. Great rooms and wonderful staff and the food at the restaurant is most amazing. This Hotel comes with a package that has been put together and is kept wonderful by hard work and great service. Situated at Friends Colony West,

one would have to walk a little bit if you want to find transport yourself but the Hotel staff are always willing to help. Give them a little notice for a "Call taxi" so you get reasonable rates use "Easycab" or "Meru".

The rooms are well maintained and the housekeeping staff come over twice a day to ensure you have a clean room always. The bathroom was spacious and well designed.

If I have something to say it is that in the room we stayed the TV was on a side wall and we had to sit on the sofa to watch TV, no watching TV lying on the bed :(

The staff are always there when you need them. At breakfast the Manager will make it a point to come over and ask if there is anything that the Hotel can do to make your stay more comfortable and any request is made note of and action taken. We asked for hot milk for the morning coffee and we always got hot milk when asked for real hot milk as we wanted it.

Though the location is nice and is in a posh locality the roads are not as they could be, we tried walking one early morning in Friends Colony and gave up.

The restaurant is wonderful and made our experience complete, there was no sparing the quality of ingredients and therefore the quality and taste of food. The ruit basket did not have over ripe or fruits that were less than the best. The kitchen would make breakfast the way we wanted it, can we please have Puris made of wheat, sure, we got it and their sabjis? wonderful.

The overall experience was good, real good and I would happily recommend this Hotel.

Would I stay there again YES!

Room Tip: We stayed in a manor room "15" on the first floor and to one end. I specially liked this r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Address: 77, Friends Colony,west, New Delhi 110065, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#53 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis in the centre of Delhi, the 2-storey, 16-room boutique hotel is set in landscaped gardens and has been completely redesigned as a contemporary luxury hotel. The Manor's emphasis on quality, understated elegance and comfort is apparent in public areas contrasting cool Italian mosaic flooring with warm, rich wood paneling. Combined with service that is friendly and efficient, the Manor is the perfect retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.