We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dilli Haat

Dilli Haat
Sri Aurobindo Marg | opp INA Market, New Delhi 110 023, India (Mahrauli)
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #8 of 99 shopping in New Delhi
Type: Flea/ Street Markets
Attraction Details
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fab food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Rs20 will get you into this crafts market. The crafts are pretty nice - good for picking up not-too-touristy souvenirs. The best bit is the back where there's a food stall from many of Indian states. Try Maharashtra where you can get some incredibly yummy stuff! Delish!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    111
    35
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Mini-India - An ethnic bazaar in the center of Delhi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I grew up in Delhi and some of my fondest memories include spending time with my sister in Dilli Haat, savoring the various arts, crafts & textiles sold here from all over India. Most of the stalls are run by people whose own families are involved in actual manufacturing of these items, which means that there are no middle-men pocketing commissions which is usually the case when buying handicrafts & ethnically made stuff.
15 years later, I traveled to Delhi with my British boyfriend and Dilli Haat is one of the first places I took him in order to re-live those fond memories as well as buy handicrafts, Pashmina shawls, junk jewelry, bags, purses, rugsacks for personal use & gift items. There are also food stalls from various states of India that allow one to taste food from various regions, all without leaving Delhi! Whether it is momos from the Sikkim stall or chai served in Taracotta cup from the Rajasthani stall, Dilli Haat is a pleasure for the senses.
A modest Rs 20 fare per person keeps the place safe from loiterers. Allow plenty of time and take wads of cash as you wont want to leave without making a lot of purchases!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Select Handicrafts in a Market Setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

There are now a few Dilli Haat markets in Delhi, but, my favourite remains the original in South Delhi - located across Aurobindomarg from the large INA market (great place for everyday shopping).

There is a nominal admission charge to enter Dilli Haat, currently Rs 20, but well worth it. The atmosphere is that of a pleasant "exotic" marketplace, where both well-healed locals and tourists shop for handicrafts and clothes. The selection is of a good quality, but do bargain, and hard. The prices can and do drop remarkably.

This is a great place to pick up kashmiri shawls and kurtas and jackets, gift items for friends, and even some "cheap" jewelry items.

A real plus for tourists is that there is a large food court and everything is clean and pleasant.

I travel often in Delhi, and this is one spot I always visit at least once on each visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful display of crafts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I visited here on a Monday and it was so peaceful and quiet. I loved the variety of goods for sale, and particularly the fact that it was clean (no dust) and quiet. There's quite a selection of great food also. Depends on your shopping needs as to whether you spend an hour or several, but I'm sure you will enjoy the trip.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Khao piyo Aish Karo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A very nice place to sit back and enjoy with friends. Aaram se khao, Fruitbeer piyo and enjoy with friends.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dilli Haat also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Dilli Haat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dilli Haat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dilli Haat to your Saves list