We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“red fort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Fort (Lal Quila)

Red Fort (Lal Quila)
Shahjahanabad, New Delhi, India
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$91*
and up
Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day
Ranked #26 of 214 Attractions in New Delhi
Type: Castles, Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This 17th century fort was built by the Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan and served as the capital of the Mughals until 1857.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“red fort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Red fort in Delhi is a symbol of independence, situated near Yamuna River is a place to see in Delhi.
Before I visit Red Fort in Delhi i did see the one in Agra and is much more better and more beautiful.
I recommend to see the on in Agra.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    484
    304
    77
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“History in RED”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

A master piece indeed. Great place to get glimpse of old Delhi. A historical monument well kept up with time and yes; no signs of aging.
Well kept gardens.
Close on Mondays.
Light and sound show in evening is fantastic.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Symbol of Capital Delhi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Red Fort has two of architecture in its compound, one which it inherited from Mughal rule & second which it got from the british rule who made its their base for soldiers. This fort divided in to various sections. Comprising of a mosque, a big structure for stay of King & his queens, beautiful lawns etc.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a nice attraction to visit! There really is a lot to see. The price of this attraction is 250 rupees per person for foreigners.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Our first visit to Delhi's Red Fort was cut short ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our first visit to Delhi's Red Fort was cut short before we entered the main building by a 'security alert'.
As we stepped onto the main path from the covered bazaar leading to the audience hall, soldiers with rifles and handlers with sniffer dogs, suddenly appeared, blowing piercing whistles in our ears. 'Everybody out, everybody out!'

So out we went with several hundred other visitors.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fort (Lal Quila) also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Red Fort (Lal Quila)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Fort (Lal Quila), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.