We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caring staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Namaskar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Namaskar to your Saves list
Hotel Namaskar
917, Chandiwalan, Main Bazar, | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India (Pahar Ganj)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #334 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Caring staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

A bit scruffy as the enviroment. Extreamly caring staff. The two brothers running the hotel will help you with advice how to avoid scams in the markets, plan your trip around, fix your transport etc. Simple hotel, but top notch. We will gladely return and recomend to friends.

Room Tip: Choose a room with attatched bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    34
    32
    32
See reviews for
7
41
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

First time in Delhi, we booked this place for our week long stay in the city. We received the confirmation email and an email asking if we would like an airport pick up. Of course, there was no car there for us when we arrived - I thought, no problem, let's just get a cab to the hotel. When we arrived they had no record of our booking even though we had the confirmation paper. They had no rooms for us. Disaster for us. REally poor organisation and hotel. Would advise AVOID.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had no problems whatsoever during our stay here, in contrast to what everyone else has said! We were travelling on a real budget, so were attracted to this place as it was one of the cheapest we could find (600 rupees for 4 people!). However, it turned out to be so good we ended up staying here 3 separate times on our return trips to Delhi! The staff were great, a father and two brothers who were always friendly and happy to help when you wanted it, especially the father who gave us loads of recommendations for what to do in Delhi and India. The rooms and beds were clean, they had en suite hot showers (not that we needed them!) and ceiling fans. They were basic, but then what do you need from your room when you're in one of the most exciting cities in the world. The location is obviously good, being just off the main tourist strip so a bit quieter, but still in the heart of the action.
Would highly recommend unless there has been a dramatic change since our stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

There are so many hotels in this area called Pahar Ganj, very close to the New Delhi railway station. Narrow street, you have to walk from the main street to reach at the reception, small reception area, I can say it is one of the budgeted hotel. People who are traveling in budget as back packers can stay there. Better to dine out side, there are so many small restaurants in main bazaar area. Counnaught place area is also around one kilometer from here. For small distances you can use cycle rickshaws.
Wishes!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

On a recent trip to India (May/June 2012) I stayed at Hotel Namaskar on 4 separate occasions. This is budget accommodation so don't expect too much but personally I was quite happy with my experience. On the 4 occasions I stayed at Namaskar I had 4 different rooms of varying quality so if you are a little fussy I would suggest checking the room before you stay. Two of the rooms were not the cleanest I've seen & one of the bathrooms left a lot to be desired but I also had a completely renovated room on one occasion with a brand new bathroom & an a/c that worked very well. I had no need for hot water during my stay (it didn't get under 40c once) but if you think you will then I would check to see if this works first. I'd also suggest trying to avoid a room on the top floor if the weather is very hot.

I found the staff friendly & helpful when I needed them to be & especially so when I needed to organise travel outside of Delhi. The driver they organised for my trip to Agra was the best of my whole holiday in India & was arranged at short notice. I spoke no Hindi when I arrived in Delhi & only a little by the time I left but still managed to communicate well with staff. There was always someone who spoke at least a some English & anyone visiting a country where they don't speak the language should at least have a phrase book anyway.

I found the Wi-Fi service pretty good in each of the rooms I had. It cost about 100r p/day from memory & was provided by one of the nearby internet cafe's. If you ask the hotel staff they can direct where to go to get this organised. There are also several reasonably priced internet cafe's nearby some of which also provide meals.

The location is actually quite good in my opinion. A little side alley off the Main Bazaar kept me close enough to the activity but with just enough of a buffer. If you haven't visited Delhi before then you might be a little taken aback by Paharaganj & the area around the Main Bazaar but this is India so expect your western sensibilities to take a bit of a beating. This area is not very clean, has a slightly dodgy reputation by all accounts & can be a little confronting but I loved it.
I think everyone should stay at a hotel like Namaskar if they visit India. It is very cheap, a good place to meet other travellers & it certainly is a little challenging. Whilst most of the other Hotels I stayed at in India would be almost considered luxury relative to Namaskar I make no complaints. You get what you pay for & I found Namaskar to be good value.
I will be back in India for several months next year & will once again spend some of that time here.
(I am in the process of uploading some short video of some of my accommodation in India to my Flickr account. My Flickr name is potinmylungs)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Namaskar Hotel is still under construction. The standard very poor but prices not to high. You get what you paid for. Very helpfull manager especially in organizing trips for very reasonably priceses.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was under renovation when we were there ---> no front door, just a sheet hanging over the entrance. Believe me this was the least of our worries.

The room, supposedly with AC which didn't work, was the worst I've seen. The walls were mouldy and crumbling, the bathroom was dirty and the water didn't work. The sheets were very questionable.. And the door couldn't be properly locked.

As you can imagine we promptly checked out in the morning and even though we had originally booked 3 nights, staff didn't ask us if anything was wrong etc..

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Namaskar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Namaskar

Address: 917, Chandiwalan, Main Bazar, | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Namaskar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Namaskar Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Namaskar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.