We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, cheap, but fine for Paharganj and helpful staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Namaskar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Namaskar to your Saves list
Hotel Namaskar
917, Chandiwalan, Main Bazar, | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India (Pahar Ganj)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #362 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Barcelona
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“Basic, cheap, but fine for Paharganj and helpful staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I stayed here with friends twice in 1994 and 1996 so on my return to India with my BF I booked it more out of nostalgia than any expectation that it would be a top pick. It's down a small alleyway on Paharganj with urinals at the end which is less than charming but amusing if you like that Delhi-weirdness. There is a friendly internet cafe next door which also provides wifi for the hotel, but only when the power is on.
The staff are helpful, the laundry service good and cheap, and if you just need somewhere to sleep it is perfectly fine. Our room was on the top floor and rather tatty, somewhat grubby and damp but we were undercharged for it as they are in the middle of renovating and it was one of the last rooms not to be renovated.
Hot water available in the tiny bathroom.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor (floor 3) suffer from noise from the generator when the power goes off so avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    36
    32
    37
See reviews for
7
46
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hat Yai, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

First, let's be clear: Namaskar is kinda dirty, and the rooms aren't particularly spacious or comfortable.

However, they're not particularly grotty, either, and there's nothing dodgy or unsafe about the place. The front desk staff are kind and generally helpful. The rooms are cheap -- for the price (Rs400 for a tiny single, Rs600 for a small double) you get a mostly comfy bed, working electrical outlets, space for your stuff and a bathroom. Most have hot water, and if you're in one of the ones that doesn't, there's a bathroom on the ground floor with hot water so you can have a hot shower (it also has a Western toilet if you can't squat).

However, the windows are not for opening, there is dust in the usual locations (edges, frames, on top of things, etc), the floor tiles are cracked, the pink walls have stains and some of the rooms can be loud. All this, though, is usual for a cheap backpacker dive; I don't understand people who complain excessively in their reviews about things that are par for the course. (If you travel and stay in cheap places and don't carry earplugs, for instance, then you're nuts.)

In PaharGanj, you can find many places that are cleaner, perhaps a bit bigger, some with windows and TVs, and all the other amenities that some people need in a place to sleep. However, you'll pay twice as much for them.

There's no wifi in the building, but you can get it from the Internet shop across the alley for Rs100/24hours, which is a decent deal as long as it works. During my six days here, it was repeatedly spotty (or out for hours at a time), but after I complained enough times they gave me a free day.

Namaskar's in-house laundry service was good, standard-priced, with 24-hour turnaround. You leave the key to your room with the front desk when you go out, which I like, because it means I won't lose it, and it means entry to the hotel is closely monitored.

I can't speak to their reservation policy, because both times I've stayed here, I just walked in and was shown to a room in seconds. They also have larger rooms for groups of friends, which is a cost-saving benefit for some folks.

If you're a cheap traveler and you know what to expect from a bargain hotel, this is a good place for you.

Room Tip: Room 5 can be especially loud, as it is right next to the front lobby, where the night staff and gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I mostly fall on falangsabai's side in my opinion of Hotel Namaskar. Stayed here a total of four nights, three for Delhi, one for transit out of Rajasthan. Accommodation in Delhi is expensive, and I wanted to put my money elsewhere. I got exactly what I thought I was getting, and had no service (i.e., bait-and-switch) issues at all.

But, I did have a noise problem right outside my window during my second stay, which I couldn't avoid in part because the window didn't totally close, and I didn't want to touch that area anyway because it was, well, filthy. I also was not in love with the age of the sheets, though I don't doubt that they were clean, and the cleanliness of the bathroom walls. And of course, there is something to be said for the walk through Paharganj and up the alley to Namaskar after all of the shops have closed.

Still, I wanted a dependable budget accommodation that was relatively close to at least some Delhi sights and in a well-known location. That's what I got. Ultimately I think your satisfaction with Namaskar comes down to accepting it as a place to clean up and lay your head, not as a place to relax and linger.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I stayed in hotel Namaskar with my gf for two nights. We had reserved our room two months before already by email and confirmed just before arriving. In the confirmation email from Namaskar you will get stated that it's possible the first night you don't get the room you reservated.. so what's the use then of reservating you might ask. Also you will HAVE to take their airfield pick-up when you arrive after midnight. We agreed on this as we thought it would be handy since we didn't knew India/Delhi yet.

We arrived at Delhi airport 3 am and after passing the final airfield doors, leaving the airfield, we felt like entering a jungle with all those hundreds of people waiting at the exit. We walked up and down the row of people looking for our pick-up but didn't see any sign. We then called the hotel for clarification but we couldn't make sense with the sleepy guy on the other end of the line... Of course in the meanwhile we got non stop approached by touts as it was obvious we where fresh tourists victims. We therefore quickly decided to get ourselves asap a pre-paid taxi.

The hotel is located in a -very small and dark- side street of the main bazar (which itself is quite daunting during midnight your first day ever in delhi - it's a bit down in the dumps!). It's hard to locate upon first arrival. Luckily our taxi driver was a good guy and kept searching until he found it. Upon arrival at the hotel we immediately got into a long discussion about how we missed our pick-up etc. which we really didn't care about atm.. we just wanted our room after 24+ hours non stop traveling. As expected already by the Namaskar emails we didn't get the room we reservated because it was not available the first night, and we had to take another (more expensive) room….

The room itself was located on the ground floor right next to a luggage storage room. With people coming and going it was quite noisy but because we where so tired it didn’t matter anymore. The room itself is what you see is what you get… Quite crappy looking and a nasty bathroom. The beds however seemed clean.

The next day we where asked to pay for our room. We then got offered our originally booked (cheaper) room.. which was surprisingly located exactly next to our current room and didn’t look any different besides being maybe 2m2 smaller. We said we didn’t wanted to be on the ground floor anymore and then got offered one on the first floor, which actually looked better and also had a western toilet. The discussion on the pick-up continued and we where requested to pay the taxi after all as they had arranged it and it was our fault missing it… welcome to India !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The rooms are simple and bare. We didnt bother trying to open the windows in our room because we were afraid to disturb the millions of dust bunnies that caked the curtains. Harry Potter's cupboard under the stairs looks spacious compared to the room we got - there was only enough space to jam two single beds together and a 1.5ft space for walking before you got the wall.

The bathroom was shocking, so cramped and tiny that you had to sit on the toilet sideways or else your knees knock into the sink. The showerhead only let out a trickle of water that shot out in different directions and you had to chase it down to have a shower.

It has a great general location however - Paharganj was our favorite in Delhi over Connaught Place and Old Delhi. The markets and restaurants that are hidden away are amazing. New Delhi Train Station is also about a 5-10minute walk.

The owners are friendly if a little pushy but they did provide us with a lot of advice and information.

Overall, if you don't mind staying in a threadbare room - this is a great budget choice.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

When I booked my room, they told me that for the first night the requested room could not be available and I could have to pay an extra cost for the first night; I think it's always like that, it's also written in the hall, and instead of my 400 rupies room I had a 550 rupies room. The room was basic and clean enough, but the bath was small and dirty and behind a tent I found that a window was missing.
They tried push me to buy a tour with a taxi driver, but it was not what I was looking for.
I changed hotel after one night and found a better room at a lower price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domazlice, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I stayed here two times during october and november 2010, I always had basic room which is in ground floor next to reception, First time I had room which is closer to luggage room and there it was OK, noise from street was no problem, but other one which is closer to reception is very noisy, there are just simple doors which separate you form street. I am going back, but now I want to ask for rooms which are in higher floors, because I want to sleep a bit :-) Bathrooms were attached, I had cold water only, but due the weather it was no problem for me.
Staff OK. As I said I am going there back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Namaskar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Namaskar

Address: 917, Chandiwalan, Main Bazar, | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Namaskar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Namaskar Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Namaskar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.