We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rats, cold, dampness” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   National Highway 8 | Near the IGI airport, New Delhi 110037, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Rats, cold, dampness”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the pick up service and the reception area.
Rooms however are a total disaster. We felt dampness in our 15 C degrees room as soon as we walked in. Beds were like rocks and after 20 minutes of being fully dressed, we realized that it is too cold to stay. The housekeeping provided small electric heater (which did not heat but produced a lot of noise) and 2 thin blankets. We went to bed fully dressed and when we finally managed to ignore the noise from the AC next door (we turned off our AC which was laud and was not heating) we were awaken by rats in the ventilation. Yes, rats. So we had to get up time to time and bang the ventilation to scare the rats away. Sleepless, freezing night for a whooping 120 USD.

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms on upper floors have less humidity and some heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    84
    37
    25
    18
See reviews for
41
50
29
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on New Year's Eve before a flight the next day; it's not too far from the airport but was hard for the taxi driver to find (we were coming from Nizamuddin railway station) and phoning for directions was like calling the DJ in a club as the bar is next to Reception and the party was in full swing... The hotel itself was OK when we got there and the staff helpful, but the rooms were a little faded (and smelled damp as another reviewer noted); the heating in the room didn't work too well. The breakfast buffet was OK but quite limited. Internet was not free, and the transfer to the airport the next morning, although efficiently arranged, was expensive considering the short distance. Overall, this wasn't as expensive as the two other Delhi airport hotels we stayed at recently but I would choose a different one next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Antoni de Portmany, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

After being promised a free transfer to airport when booking found out on arrival that we had to pay, which for a hotel taxi was more than it would be for a taxi from the city. The staff were rude and told us to go to bed when we complained because we were tired. Got to room and it was freezing cold and had to request a heater as the Aircon heating was not working. The room was set up for single occupancy so we had to ask for double of everything to be brought to room. It was late so we ordered room service, which was so disgusting it was inedible. Breakfast was ok. When checking out I asked for a taxi to be called to hotel because I didn't want to pay extortionate rates for the short airport transfer with the hotels own taxi and after some argument it was arranged by the extremely rude staff on reception. I was ignored when we left and said goodbye. Will never stay at the upaal again and would strongly encourage anyone else not to stay in this very dated and tired looking hotel. Especially as the rates are not cheap either.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellary, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

N H location so decided to try it out. In terms of facilities and quality of room, i would rate it as average 4 star. It is well kept but dated and needs major overhaul. TV did not work properly, internet was slow and bed was not really comfortable. Service is good .
good but can be better

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile


After reading some good reviews on trip advisor we decided to use this hotel as a stopover between flights from the airport.

We had an airport transfer included with our booking. We found the driver easily at the airport and he was friendly and efficient.

The rooms are well appointed and decorated, however watch out for the DAMP. We had to change rooms twice because of the damp smell and MOULD growing on the wall. Our third room did not have damp problems... But there was some scurrying in the air vent which must have been a mouse or rat (as the review of 17th dec suggested).

Breakfast was ok, but nothing special. Dinner was good, but too expensive for what it was.

Whilst the nightly rate is reasonable and the proximity to the airport is convenient, I wouldn't recommend this hotel because of the damp / mouse issues.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, Utrecht, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

For the first time I went to India on nov. 3 2012. Although the plane was delayed for more then an hour and there was a long queue at the customs and luggage band, the man who picked me up from the hotel was still there waiting for me. He had been waiting for 3 hours!
Furthermore the room, breakfast and hotelservice were very good. The garden is lovely and very quiet.Good to escape for the busy city of Delhi. And near the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharamsala, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I wanted to warn everyone NOT to stay at this hotel--despite the 5-star status, it was by far the worst hotel we've stayed at in India.
We awoke to a large RAT scrambling in the air vent above our bed, trying to escape into our room, sticking it's nose and claws out. Needless to say, our two-year old daughter (as well as my husband and I) were really shocked and scared!
Now, we live in India, and understand these things happen. However, the way that the Uppal staff dealt with the rat was beyond belief, and was one of the worst customer service experiences I have ever had.
The manager basically did not believe us, and staff even laughed at our shocked reaction, even though we could still hear the rat crawling above our heads. Their response was--you can pack up your stuff and move to another room. No compensation offered, no APOLOGY even! After literally an hour of arguing with the staff, they finally comped us part of our meal--only part of our meal!
I strongly urge you not to visit this hotel--we certainly will never be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel

Address: National Highway 8 | Near the IGI airport, New Delhi 110037, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#73 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uppal - 5 star Hotel, New Delhi. is spread over an expanse of 10.5 acres of scenic grandeur and greenery. The Uppal is located in close proximity to the industrial suburbs of Gurgaon and Delhi and 4 kms away from the Indira Gandhi International airport, New Delhi and 7 kms away from the Domestic airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uppals Orchid Hotel
Uppal Orchid Hotel
Uppal's Orchid Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;