We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ajanta is trying hard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ajanta to your Saves list
Hotel Ajanta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36, Arakashan Road, Ram Nagar | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #146 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Ajanta is trying hard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2007

I stayed here about 15 years ago and it was a dump. In March 2007 I found it changed almost beyond recognition. They are obviously trying hard to capture the tourist market. The airport pick up worked perfectly on both occasions I used it. Front rooms with windows can be incredibly noisy - ask for a change. Many rooms have, in effect, no windows but they are very clean and well maintained. The restaurant is very good and can get crowded. At present a lot of work is going on within the hotel and this can cause noise and disruption - and they need to get the lift upgraded! All the front of house services worked well. Room service could be slow but it was ok. The staff are pleasant and helpful. So far as I know you are not going to do better, for the price, in Delhi.

  • Liked — value for money by Delhi standards
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    405
    226
    102
    135
See reviews for
164
326
220
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

This hotel was not my first choice, but the first choice was booked. That said, it turned out to be better than I expected and we stayed there twice for a total of 5 nights. It is family run and there are lots of people in the lobby waiting to help you. The hall porter on each floor is also eager to help: he is your main contact for anything you need, from room service to laundry. It is very clean and well decorated: exterior rooms have lots of sun and marble floors (and street noise). Interior rooms have no windows and wall-to-wall carpeting, and they are quiet. It also has a restaurant with a good breakfast buffet and the butter chicken at dinner is excellent. This hotel also has a travel agency on the premises that operates on the "strong arm" sales approach. While you may not like their sales style, the travel agency is reputable and can help you plan and book your travel throughout India.We used them with no problems. We also liked the hotel Internet room - about 8 computers with good connections at a very good price. One caveat: this hotel is a short walk from the train station and the neighborhood is congested, dirty, and noisy. But once you're in the hotel, it feels like an oasis.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2007

We read the good reviews for this hotel and thought it sounded pretty reasonable, but when we turned up at 4am (admittedly a few hours late) for our room which we had prepaid for, they must have given us the worst room in the place. There was a wooden board in replacement for the window, dirty pillow cases, hole-in-the-floor toilet and manky bathroom. It looks like we were in the only part of the hotel that hadn't been refurbished.

However we only had to stay for 2 hours before catching our train at New Delhi (only 30R in a tuktuk to reach). The best thing about this hotel for us was that we were able to prebook all our train tickets and pick them up before moving on which was really handy.

Moral of the story, if you turn up late having prepaid - toughluck, you get what you're given! I would go back but only if I could see the room before paying and ensure a refurbished one.

  • Liked — Ability to prebook train tickets
  • Disliked — The awful room they gave us
  • Tips/Secrets — Turn up early / see room first
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2006

We stayed here for 3 nights in December (2006), We arrived late and had arranged an airport pick up, but once we arrived at the hotel desperate for some sleep we were left in one of the side rooms while the check in staff stood around and talked, we were then given a talk about the services offered by the hotel, when we declined we were finally shown to our rooms.

The room was clean and functionaly, though there was erratic hot water in the bathroom.

The staff were of limited help and seemed more interested in offering paid services rather than giving helpful advice (They also have a member of staff on each floor who each time you go back tries to escort you to your room and expects a tip - we ended up trying to tip toe back to our room to avoid this)

Dont use the pre paid taxi booth in the reception - this is vastly over pricved, go outside and get an autrickshaw (the pre pay booth charged us 100 ruppees to the train station, the autorickshaw was 20 and its only a 10 min walk away)

One very positive point is the roof top restaurant. The food was fantastic, the staff friendly and very helpful and the value was tremendous.

Overall, there are many better and substantially cheaper places in Delhi

  • Liked — The roof top restaurant
  • Disliked — Over priced
  • Tips/Secrets — Dont use the pre pay taxi booth, get an auto rickshaw outside
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2006

Stayed at the Hotel Ajanta in November of 2006. Our airport pickup was there at 4am when we arrived, but when we checked in we were given standard rooms (no windows, no working air conditioning, barely functioning toilet and broken locks on the doors) instead of what we had reserved. As promised they gave us their 'best' rooms the next day, which they call 'presidential suites' but which are really just rooms where everything works.

We were in town on business so we irked them when we said we had no need for any of their tour arrangements. I once overheard the matriarch of the hotel trying to convince a Swiss couple not to take another tour by a different company because it was run by 'untrustworthy Kashmiri's'. In India you have to take spruiking for granted but the Hotel Ajanta does take it to another level.
They won't clean your room unless you leave them your room key. The risk with that is that you may not have a room left by the time you return to collect it again. Do so at your own risk.

The internet cafe is functional and probably the best on the street, though the guy who runs it is always trying to screw you.

The Hotel Ajanta is a standard experience for those looking for budget hotels in Delhi, so if you're looking for a more relaxed, comfortable stay, perhaps try somewhere else. Being in the thick of things at the Hotel Ajanta might be something you'd prefer to avoid. Delhi is full on as it is, and someplace like the Taj Ambassador Hotel might be more to your liking.

Still, it wasn't a completely negative experience - breakfast is decent for what you pay, but avoid having lunch or dinner there. Guaranteed food poisoning.

Avoid, if possible.

  • Liked — Being in the thick of it.
  • Disliked — Getting screwed, regularly.
  • Tips/Secrets — Buy the best room in the hotel.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2006

We stayed in Ajanta with my s.o. in the beginning of November ´06. We definetly are not picky, but this time the hotel really managed to disapoint us.

We arrived late at night and were given a small room with no windows and two beds instead of double bed - not what we had ordered and paid beforehand, and definetly not what we had seen in the pictures on hotels website.

After a moan we were given a new room, which did have a double bed, but where there was only boiling hot water in the shower and where the toilet didn't flush. We complained again and were given the first, small and dirty, room again, for there were no other rooms available.

Next day we moved again, this time to another room with a double bed. There were windows - which gave to the hallway! The personell started to work there every morning at 6.30, and as they were very loud and the walls did not stop the sound at all, we simply could not sleep. The bathroom was uncomfortable and infested by insects.

Our room was cleaned only after I asked for it for the second time. Not one of the rooms had sheets until we asked the personell to bring them. This repeated every day. All the towels were dirty - really, all of them, also after we had asked for new ones.

The personell didn't seem to care about us - they didn't, for excample, apologise once during the late night when we moved from one room to another and back again. It seems they simply don't have to do that - they had the hotel booked full anyway.

Something positive?
My mother, who stayed in Ajanta couple of days before us, was treated decently and transferred to an ok room, but only after two days of hardcore tipping.
The location was ok.

Summary: unclean, noisy hotel, where we felt ourselves not wanted. Could serve as a one star -hostel, but definetly not worth the price.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2006

This Hotel is above average because it is good value. We stayed in a semi businessness room for 1,300 Indian Rupees per night including a decent breakfast. The room was big with a lounge, coffee table and desk. With good light and an ok bathroom which was clean. A basic clean place with a roof top restaurant. It is in old Delhi so it is a bit full on as soon as you leave the hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Address: 36, Arakashan Road, Ram Nagar | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#71 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotels
Ajanta Hotel Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ajanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.