We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vey disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ajanta to your Saves list
Hotel Ajanta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36, Arakashan Road, Ram Nagar | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
London, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Vey disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2006

My partner and I stayed here for 3 and 2 nights in Sept/Oct '06 at the start and end of our holiday having booked via Hotel Club in June.
Although we had paid for a superior twin, initially we were assigned a tiny room with no windows. After a moan we were given a better room with a shared balcony.

The lavatory would not flush and despite many requests to get it fixed nothing happened and for two days we were obliged to flush it using buckets filled in the bath. The bathroom had a wooden louvered window which could not be closed. Overnight the bathroom was infested by insects which totally covered every horizontal surface.
The air conditioner tripped about every couple of hours and each time we had to seek out someone to reset the trip. This was a common problem with all three of the rooms we had.

After a further round of complaints we were moved to another room where at least the lavatory worked.

We did not receive the ‘hard sell’ from the Travel Office and in general the staff were friendly but just hopeless. We witnessed several disputes at Reception one so severe that we were moved to an office to complete our check in.

The Buffet breakfast in the dinning room was stone cold even at 09.00.
Ignore the lovely pics of the roof top restaurant, it is a tip and apparently used for storing junk. There is, however, a sign stating that you can have a coke and a pizza for about a quid.

On the whole very disappointing and by far the worst hotel we stayed at during out two week visit and by no means the least expensive.
I believe that ‘The Rough Guide’ should review their recommendation which is prominently displayed all over the Hotel.

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — Non working lavatory
  • Tips/Secrets — Check with trip advisor before you book
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    446
    246
    106
    139
See reviews for
184
354
240
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

The place is not bad after all. I guess it depends on the room you get.
We booked the 1st night through expedia and where charged 23 euro. The room (was spacious and with a nice bathroom but no aircon. Very noisy due to the street.
The price would not go down, so we asked another room and we got a smaller one (218) with aircon, for 900 (16 euro) which I thought was better. No idea why the other one is more expensive.
The restaurant is great value, the lady of the travel agency is nice but asks you all the time what are your plans, a bit pushy.
The room service is fast and does not overcharge, so you can ask for a tea and get it in 5 minutes for 22 rp (0,40 euro cents).
I checked some hotels in the area and this is the average, maybe even a bit better.
They all loook great from the reception and then it goes down once you are in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2006

Good room, but wasn't fully clean when we arrived. Short walk to New Dehli railway station (7 minutes), but a fair step to Connaught Place (15 minutes). Reasonably priced restaurant with good food. Reliable internet and phone service. Only real downside was the pushy guy in the travel agent who offered us a vastly overpriced trip and then became unhelpful once we said no.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Travel agent
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure taxes are included
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2006

On arrival everything seemed ok, but on entry to the rooms they seemed to be falling apart. We stayed for 4 nights, not all consecutively and eventually hadto change because of the poor quality. If you pay budget you get budget. Our stay was in June when the weather is hot. The a/c cuts out everyday between 6pm and 9pm. The rooms have fridges, which seem to be ornamental, they didnt fucntion!! The lift did not work alot of the time. Location is right in the centre with all the hustle and bustle so do not expect peace. Restaurant Service extremely slow. It took the waiters around 10 minutes just to give us the bill! Each floor has a janitor, they were the only pleasant things about our stay at the hotel. Very hard working and will attend to all your requests (apart from gettin the ac working). When we made our complaints no discounts were given, instead a 'deluxe room' was offered at the same price which had exactly the same facilites as the standard rooms, including a non functioning fridge and non functioning air con.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2006

very noisy, could not sleep at all, ordered eggs, came with shells, just avoid this hotel and as always look at the room before you buy.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2006

ABSOLUTELY avoid this hotel : dirty, expensive, very unpleasant people, we are furious, we paid a lot and in advance, and our rooms had been given to somebody else when we came back from a trip to Udaipur. They invented an incredible lie to justify it, and were very unpleasant with us. You have to ask for your room to be cleaned up, (and just forget it for the bath), we asked for a presidential suite and had one big and one little bed, without any fruit basket, people always ask for money, we stayed blocked in the lift, we were given wrong hour for the plane trip and waited 4 hours in the airport to go to Udaipur, etc, etc).

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton england
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2006

con merchants seems an adequate description , the rooms are clean by indian standards , the so called free airport pick up seems to be a downright lie , you will be prssured to take out a tour to the golden triangle and the management will sulk if you dont book it...the staffa are at best indifferent and at wost rude....the floor staff will talk loudly all night just outside your room and will take every opportunity to ingratiate themselves , without actually being of any help.
your room may well smell of some weird chemical that i presume they use to kill bugs...you can get much better much cheaper in delhiso my advice would be book a room for one night then move on and watch the management sulk...sorry ajanta but we customers are important and very few of us are millionaires , hard to descrbe how unwelcoming the staff are undernath their smug exteriors , incidentally keep your eye on the email man who will make sure you spend the maximum amount , take a usb if you need one and use the small intenet caff across the road which is half price and friendlyish.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Address: 36, Arakashan Road, Ram Nagar | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#60 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotel Delhi
Ajanta Hotels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ajanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.