We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't stay at this hotel in delhi accomodation is terrible.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ashok Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ashok Hotel to your Saves list
Ashok Hotel
Diplomatic Enclave, 50-B Chanakayapuri, New Delhi 110021, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“don't stay at this hotel in delhi accomodation is terrible.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

This has got to be the worst hotel ever. The rooms are old and run down. There is a stink in the hallway and staff are generally not very helpful. The only good things are the staff in the restaurant and the breakfast buffet. If you are staying in india, spend a bit more money and stay somewhere else. It cost us $220 a night which is a complete rip off. We were really looking forward to getting out of there. The sheets were dirty and we asked them to change it. Noticed the next day the sheets were the same but changed towards the end of the bed. They don't change your sheets everyday. The electricity cords are dodgy too. It is a gross place to stay and i would avoid it...maybe back in the 60's it was good but not now..sorry to stay but it is the truth..yuk!

  • Liked — nothing it was terrible
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — don't stay there!!!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    97
    66
    52
    52
See reviews for
26
39
33
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2006

Lesson learned: Never stay at a government-run hotel. The Ashok is a tired, grimy, grubby hotel. The rooms are dirty and dated, the service is surly and unatentive. I couldn't beleive this hotel was given a 5-star rating....until I found out that it was government-run/owned....The Taj hotels (Taj Mahal and Taj Palace) are FAR more pleasant at around the same price.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2006

I can't believe how bad this hotel has gotten. I originally was here in the early 80s when it was one of the best hotels in Delhi. With the exception of cable TV, I don't think the rooms have been updated since then. The beds are uncomfortable, the hot water is almost non existent, the paint is peeling , the internet service is one of the worst I have had in India and to top it off the food is awful at best and expensive. The sad thing is I originally was excited to be able to stay here after so many years. Between the lousy food, the crappy rooms and the creepy guys (security & maids) in the hallways - this is one hotel to avoid.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the facilities
  • Tips/Secrets — don't stay here
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

We where surprised arriving at 5* hotel, where we found grey towels and bed linen. All over the hotel were signs of government ownership - too much of staff, equipment out of order, etc. I expect for that price you can get much better deal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2006

I was staying at the Ashok hotel between the 11th and 16th of May 2006 for business reasons. During my stay I found the rooms to be unclean and unsafe! whilst moving the hairdryer I received an electric shock. I reported this to the duty manager and asked to speak with the general manager. I was informed that the general manager was in the hotel but was in a meeting and unable to see me! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2006

The room was very large, the furniture was grubby and tatty. The bathroom smelled, the bath did not drain, the bidet did not work, the W.C. splashed your trousers when flushed. The mini bar was empty. The balcony was very dirty, paint peeling off wood work and no balcony furniture. The windows were cracked, putty coming away and dangerous to open.
The staff were rude, dismissive and unhelpful. I was pushed by one member of staff. The dining room was small and the food below par. There was no bar available to residents (closed for functions). One could not obtain a drink without going into a restaurant.
All this for 315$US per night B/B!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2006

Location: In Between Airport, Sites and Central City
Service: Above Average
Price: High for location, but worth the rating
Room: Within the rating

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashok Hotel

Address: Diplomatic Enclave, 50-B Chanakayapuri, New Delhi 110021, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Downtown Hotel with distinctive royal feel completed with arches & turrets, situated in the Diplomatic Enclave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ashok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashok Hotel New Delhi
Ashok New Delhi
The Ashok Hotel
Hotel Ashok New Delhi
Ashok Hotel Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashok Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.