We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May be OK one day” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ashok Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ashok Hotel to your Saves list
Ashok Hotel
Diplomatic Enclave, 50-B Chanakayapuri, New Delhi 110021, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #216 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Norfolk, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“May be OK one day”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

Hayes & Jarvis "upgraded" us to the Ashok from the Oberoi Maidens for the first 3 nights of our India tour. We read the reviews and hoped it would not be as bad as reported, but unfortunately it was. Our rooms were dirty, especially the bathrooms which looked as thougth they had not been cleaned properly for years. You could hardly see in the mirror and the last guest's rubbish was still in the bins. It was very difficult to get rid of our creepy room "boy" who seemed to appear for no apparent reason every time we went to our rooms. My mother, particularly, was rather unnerved as she was sleeping alone and dreaded him just walking in - in the end she had to be quite rude to him, which is not her nature at all, and after that we hardly saw him, which was quite a relief.

The restaurant was OK but a long walk along a miserable corridor from the main part of the hotel. We were not keen on the buffet dinner but the a la carte meals we had were acceptable and not bad value for money.

The good news is that they do seem to be in the process of refurbishing the hotel and the new parts, like the "Island" restaurant and the business centre are very nice. I think it will one day be restored to its former glory but they also need to train the staff to do something other than look for tips.

  • Liked — The lobby area & business centre were quite nice
  • Disliked — The filthy rooms and staff constantly wanting tips for doing nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    98
    66
    52
    52
See reviews for
26
39
33
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

Delhi is suffering from an accute hotel room shortage. The result is the Ashok at USD400 a night for an ordinary hotel room, ordinary tired property with ordinary to below average service. The room is clean, the bed comfortable and the water hot but for USD400 you want a little bang for your buck.
The fridge was faulty. TV reception unwatchable despite three visits by repairman. Mod cons like the "wireless" internet served up a strength that redlined at least once a minute making transfers of longer documents virtually impossible (again technicians could not help).
Request for ice through room service (no machine or alternative available on the executive floor) was accompanied by high expectations for a tip and on one occassion unannounced entry when I left the door ajar accidently (ie did not knock before entering).
Seriously, there are some great hotels in Delhi (I like The Park) - The Ashok is not one of them

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Staying
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

Overrpiced - London prices for poor quality rooms and miserable service. The lowest point was when the waiter in the lobby lounge wiped the tea cups with his finger, and later washed our cups behind the desk with water from a mineral water bottle, from which he was also drinking. The same waiter also had poured us two cups of tea, then whisked the teapot away to finish the rest of the tea with his colleague. Do not stay there!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2007

I was shocked that someone opened my door after midnight and we found out that the hotel issued the same room to another guest! I think that was an inexcusable error, what kind of security is that?

I booked for a Superior Room but was given a Standard Room instead. The room is qutie recently renovated. The bathroom has no bathtub so the floor is wet after shower. There is not enough space to place toiletries too. The sound proofing is not good. I could hear TV noises from other rooms and the staff can be loud when they go around their duties along the corridor.

The breakfast buffet was ok, your best bet is Indian food. The masala dosa was good. But no dosa on Sunday.

The best part of the hotel is its gym. Modern equipment with individual TV screen. The staff seemed to be more friendly towards the regular clum members though.

  • Liked — Gym
  • Disliked — Room and service
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

OK, good things first: The hotel has a an awesome architecture and presents the atmosphere of the historical New Delhi. The reception hall and the sheer size of the hotel is impressive.The service is friendly and the restaurants are of good quality. The fitness and SPA area is really first class: Latest equipment and qualified trainers.
For the rooms the experience is different:
I stayed in the 6th floor, my room was obviously renovated and had parquet floor and relatively new furniture.
The cleanliness and hygiene however was beyond any acceptable standard and would not be accepted even in a roadside motel: The bed was dirty and old curly hair from previous guests still present on the linen ....eerrgg ! The toilet was bearing week old traces of dried detergent fluid and the seat was spotted with different brownish colors. The shower handle just fell from its bearing upon touching and clear water only came after several liters of rusty brown water went down the drain. Obviously no room checks were made before renting it out to the next guest.
On the following day the bed clothes were replaced,so no hair anymore, but then the linen had black greasy spots on it with doubtful origins. So I used towels as bedsheets.
To sum up:
for a five star hotel unacceptable and overpriced. Hygiene and cleanliness were kill factors, I do not accept this at 1 or 2 star hotels, not to speak of a five star ! As I said in the beginning the hotel has a good potential and facilities are worth five stars. If the management can cope with the housekeeping issues it will certainly get better ratings. For me however, it was the last time that I stayed there. For this room rates you get other five star hotels in Delhi.

  • Liked — architecture, entrance hall, gym, restaurants, pool
  • Disliked — hygienic conditions, bathrooms,
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sk Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

I'm glad I didn't read these reviews beforehand. My husband and I stayed at the Ashok Hotel last weekend and we had a lovely time. We did not have reservations and when we inquired about rooms, the receptionist upgraded us to the executive floor at regular rates. The room was clean with a view of the pool. The bed was soft and comfortable, the room included many amenities and there was plasma tv. All the staff were accomadating and friendly. The food and drink at the restaurants were great and the pool and spa were beautiful. The executive lounge was nice and convenient (breakfast was served just down the hall from us on the 6th floor). We are from Canada and I was not expecting to stay at such a nice place. It is an old hotel, but that adds to the charm. It was beyond my expectations. The only reason I did not rate it above average was because of the price. It was expensive, but a weekend in Delhi to see the Taj Mahal was worth it.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

We had a terrible shock at the Ashoka Hotel! When we actually arrived in our room we found that there was a complimentary fruit basket which was mouldy and as old as or maybe older than the hotel....There were fake bottles of water...that were supposed to be mineral water but had been filled up with local tap water, we figured this out from our stomachs that night and this was very unpleasent. As for the plumbing, the toilets were over flooding and lets just say what went down came straight back up! ....Now for the service...the porters were constantly knocking at the door...waiting for tips and asking silly questions.....me and my sister thought we had accidently checked into fawlty towers (then again if we had we would have been some what lucky to an extent). One night the porter followed us in our room, we thought it was a service to be dropped to the room but when he came inside withouth an invite we were shocked! He told us he didnt drink alcohol and yet he managed to swig down half a bottle of bacardi! He kept inviting us to go and eat with him and his family, more fool us, we didnt actually realise we were invited to foot the bill and tip the resteraunt! The cheeek of it! They also refused to take credit card payments and would only accept cash! The only thing they would keep saying to us is "ma'am! As polite as they were sounding it was very difficult to communicate!!....We could go on forever with the stories of how we survived for 7 nights but save urselfs from the misery! Also being Indian me and my sister felt discriminated against as there were rules for people!...Our final trip was to the Taj Mahal...we went for a day trip and as there were a few more spaces in our private transport the hotel staff invited themselves to come....and they robbed money and cheated my elderly father! Be warned of these people and their hotel!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed February 2005, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashok Hotel

Address: Diplomatic Enclave, 50-B Chanakayapuri, New Delhi 110021, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Downtown Hotel with distinctive royal feel completed with arches & turrets, situated in the Diplomatic Enclave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ashok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashok Hotel New Delhi
Ashok New Delhi
The Ashok Hotel
Hotel Ashok New Delhi
Ashok Hotel Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashok Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.