We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as I expected ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Claridges New Delhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Claridges New Delhi to your Saves list
The Claridges New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Aurangzeb Road, New Delhi 110011, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 635 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
bittern
Level Contributor
302 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Not as good as I expected ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Sadly I felt the claridges did not live up to expectations that previous reviews had given. The pool was closed for renovations which I felt was unusual in the height of summer. Rooms a bit noisy. Need to choose a room away from the car park and road. Breakfast and wifi satisfactory.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheClaridges, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We deeply regret that we have not been able to meet your high expectations of us. Certain key areas of the hotel are indeed in stages of renovation, but we have ensured that at no times will the quality of service & our guests’ comforts be compromised. We had taken a strategic decision regarding the closing down of the pool (you will be pleased to know that the new pool scheduled to open in mid-September, will be much larger, complete with cabanas, sun decks, a full-fledged bar and will also be temperature controlled) during this period, as we were keen that all the work within the hotel, be completed before the upcoming festival and holidays season. We are on target and I promise you that on your next visit, you are going to be pleasantly surprised with our new look. Please do get in touch with me directly for your next booking as I personally would like to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    318
    97
    43
    39
See reviews for
135
378
65
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My son and I stayed at The Claridges a few days at the end of July. The hotel is very clean. The lobby and the rooms were beautiful. The service and staff were really exceptional! The food was very good. I am glad I chose this hotel and would choose it again! Thank you!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheClaridges, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to know that you had a memorable experience at the hotel during your recent visit and relished its restaurants and services. This could only mean that you will return soon and we would love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunderabad, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The hotel is excellently located for people who want to be closer to Parliament, Rashtrapati Bhavan and Diplomatic enclaves of Delhi. This is an old hotel, rooms are nice and lavish. restaurant is very average and the bar is bad. We had rats for company in the Bar that makes things a little difficult when you are tipsy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and with regards to the ‘uninvited visitor” we assure you that we follow the strictest of hygiene and safety standards and are already looking into the matter. We hope though that you will return again, especially given that the bar is undergoing a complete makeover and will be re-launched in a new avatar come October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

After two weeks staying in budget hotels, my husband and I decided to splurge and stay at the Claridge's. We were really glad we did! It was a fantastic hotel to relax and just enjoy our last few days in New Delhi. When we checked in, we were upgraded to a Claridge's Room on the top floor, which was very spacious. The room was immaculate and every day, we got bottles of water and fresh fruit. In the corridor, there was a large stone basin filled with water and fresh flowers which left a really lovely scent.

Breakfast was also very good and varied. The staff was also incredibly polite and friendly; this is actually not just true of the restaurant staff, but of the entire hotel staff. We also ate in Dhaba, which as someone pointed out is packed and noisy. We didn't mind it and the food was very good (although I wish it could've been spicier).

The pool was not the best especially because there was a building under construction next door. The construction workers could just stare out at the pool, and considering I was often the only person there, it was a bit uncomfortable. Of course, this was only temporary, so I wouldn't judge it.

There was also a really bad storm while we stayed there. The electricity went out for only a minute or two, but then the generator kicked in. As we had experienced hotels elsewhere in India that didn't have a generator, we were grateful that The Claridge's had one and they were prepared to deal with such an occurrence.

Thanks to the staff, the beautiful room, and the excellent food, The Claridge's New Delhi is probably one of the best hotels I've ever experienced.

Room Tip: Top floor had nice balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Claridges New Delhi! It is indeed a pleasure to know that you had a great experience at the hotel during your recent visit. Your kind words of appreciation are indeed very encouraging and received by the team here with a lot of gratitude. We look forward to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

For me, the location was a little inconvenient - there is mistakenly some sort of shopping center shown on the map, but it's nonexistent in reality. The only other detracting issue is lack of electrical outlets to charge computer-type hardware. Everything else is excellent - staff very outgoing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to read that you found us up to your expectations. Regarding your concern on the map, this is a Google map which is of course constantly updated and there is no mall shown anywhere near the property. We will however keep checking on this and correct the same should it re-appear. We do have the facility of providing additional chargers for laptops as required, however, we do apologise for the inconveniences this caused you. We hope you will return again soon as we would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014


I and a friend stayed in the hotel and I didn't enjoy my stay at all. The air conditioner was pathetic and I would have atlest made 5 complaints in 3 days and they did absolutely nothing abt it . The room was ok, but the washroom was really small and had no space at all. The wc broke down and we had troubles with water clog and all. The breakfast was just ok and nothing great. Food was not delicious . Wouldn't come back

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

At the onset our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you faced when you stayed with us. The issues you mentioned were indeed registered during your stay. Unfortunately, we faced a major breakdown in the A/c unit that particular day and we had taken the required steps to inform our guests about the fault in the system, which of course was rectified as a priority. Nevertheless, we are disappointed that we did not meet up to your high expectations and would like to assure you that this unfortunate and unexpected incident was beyond our control – though we did do our best to ensure our guests’ comforts were never compromised upon.

If you do decide on visiting us again (which we hope you do), please do get in touch with me directly. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Should be called a heritage hotel with modern look and feel. Nice ambience. Food was average at Dhaba. Restaurant is small and was packed and noisy. Definitely not a place for a quite evening. Tabkes everywhere. Outside the restaurant its a different world.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant experience at the hotel during your recent visit. We have also made a note of your comments about our restaurant, Dhaba and have taken the necessary steps to incorporate your feedback. We hope you would visit us again soon and we look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Claridges New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges New Delhi

Address: 12 Aurangzeb Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#13 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Claridges New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges Delhi
Claridges Hotel Delhi
Claridges India
Hotel Claridges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Claridges New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.