We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World charm and hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Claridges

Save Saved
You added The Claridges to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Claridges
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Aurangzeb Road, New Delhi 110011, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Old World charm and hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have stayed at The Claridges on a number of occasions over the past few years. Previous stays have been variable - from great to average, but I'm happy to report that my recent visit (August 2013) was extremely pleasurable.

The level of service I experienced was excellent - from front desk, to housekeeping, and restaurant staff. All were terrific. I entertained a business client to dinner in Dhaba. Both my guest and I were delighted with food and exceptional service. Bravo!

My room was spacious, comfortable and well equipped, and had everything a business traveller would need.

Location-wise, The Clardges is ideal for both business & pleasure. Close to the main tourist sites and amenities, and a relatively short drive to the International and Domestic airports. For guests happy to take the Metro, the Racecourse metro station is just a short walk away, but if a taxi is your preferred mode of transport, there is a plentiful supply at close at hand to whisk you away to your chosen destination.

Despite some renovation work taking part at the time of my visit, I was really impressed with this beautiful, art-deco style property, and would have no hesitation in recommending guests to add The Claridges to their short-list of hotels in New Delhi

Room Tip: A higher floor room at the front of the hotel may be worth considerring
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us on your recent business trip and sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor with fellow travelers. We are always delighted to hear from our esteemed guests and it is indeed encouraging to learn about your recent rendezvous with The Claridges, New Delhi.

We are happy to know that you found the service delivery, North-Indian food at the Dhaba and amenities at par with your expectations. Moreover, we are glad that our location in the heart of the city, added value to your stay.

We thank you for your repeated patronage and recommendation. We look forward to the privilege of hosting you again.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    223
    79
    39
    33
See reviews for
89
249
46
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed 6 nights - spacious room and very good bed & pillows - view over parking but not an issue. Bathroom excellent with loads of accessories. Good minibar. Free bottled water every day. Breakfast excellent especially if you like dosas! Good price for the location and service. Taxies at call reliable - rented one for 2 days sightseeing - excellent and very safe! All in all a very good hotel right across Lodhi Garden and close to the city. Recommendable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was an honor to have served you at The Claridges, New Delhi. We are delighted to learn that you were satisfied with our living areas. The entire team is pleased to learn that you were impressed by our services and our location in the heart of Delhi added value to your stay.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to the privilege of welcoming you again.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai. India
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Have stayed here few times over last 05 years and must say, this is a great property (at the current price they offer- may be seasonal). Rooms are well equipped with a large TV, very comfortable beds, an anteroom type of set up leading to the bathroom that has an array of toiletries that are of high quality. Their complimentary breakfast is a real good spread and the staff are friendly and attentive. The property is located ideally for movement with in the city and with access to different shopping and touristy spots. Overall this is a good Hotel (old but well maintained).

Room Tip: Does not make a difference but may be road facing is better- the one I stayed in recently was toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for choosing to stay at The Claridges, New Delhi and sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a delight to note that you found our services and amenities par excellence. We are happy to learn that our location added value to your stay.

We once again thank you for your repeated patronage and look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at this hotel in the last 4 months and they con you at check out! When paying the bill I requested my credit card to be charged in India rupees and at checkout they charged me in my local currency with a lower exchange rate. As a result I was out of pocket by £50 and I feel this is just one con and did not listen to my requests to be charged in Rupee’s despite assurances from the front desk.

As a result I and none of my colleagues will be staying at this very nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to learn of your recent disappointing experience with us. Please allow me to clarify that we have a dynamic currency converter with us which freezes the best exchange rate. You will be pleased to know that I have discussed your feedback at length with my team and we would like to get in touch with you regarding the same. We request you to kindly get in touch with our Front Office Manager on varun.ajmani@claridges.com.

We sincerely hope that there will be another opportunity in the future to deliver a better stay experience to you.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This older but beautiful property is in the heart of the foreign embassy district. Service is first class and caters to westerners. Hotel food is good and the menu is international, including some popular Indian favorites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is an honour to receive your review about the experience at The Claridges New Delhi. We are delighted to learn that your stay with us was at par with your expectations. The entire team is happy to note that you were impressed by our level of service and found our menu noteworthy, thanks for acknowledging our efforts through this wonderful review.

We, once again, thank you for your custom and look forward to hosting you again at our luxury hotel in the heart of New Delhi.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Claridges is a very centrally located hotel. The infrastructure is maintained very well, with almost an old world charm. The rooms are well laid out and I found everything just right. The food is good and prices five star. Overall its a typical good five star hotel. Its probably more appropriate for English (UK) and other Western tourists / business people. If you are Indian, yo will feel a distinctly different service for you. While it did not bother me, I think the hotel is more oriented to western audience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time out to review your experience.
Our team is happy to have served you and we are grateful for your kind words of appreciation. It has always been our endeavor to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and are glad to note that you were satisfied with our offerings. We take this opportunity to inform you that there is no distinction between the services offered to national or international guests. Having said that, we have taken note of your feedback and we will ensure that our service delivery never evokes such a feeling in future.

We, once again, thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmbai
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I came to this hotel after a trek in the himalayas... and loved it..!
The place is beautiful...service is lovely.. the food is awesome - esp the scrumptious breakfast.. the staff are courteous..
Would recommend this as the place to stay when in delhi...

Room Tip: Pool facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for your kind recommendation and we are glad to know about brief stay at The Claridges New Delhi. Your positive feedback encourages us to continue delivering great experiences to our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to New Delhi.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Claridges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges

Address: 12 Aurangzeb Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#17 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#26 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Claridges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
The Claridges Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
Claridges Hotel Delhi
Claridges India
Hotel Claridges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Claridges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.