We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property, value for money but staff does no value oral commitments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Claridges

Save Saved
You added The Claridges to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Claridges
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Aurangzeb Road, New Delhi 110011, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good property, value for money but staff does no value oral commitments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had booked 4 rooms and had to cancel one room. The initial booking was a day booking which was later converted to night booking at extra cost. When i canceled the room in advance i was said that the day booking charges will not be refunded. The extra charges for the night booking will not be levied. But to my dismay it was not the case when we checked out and we were forced to pay night charges for the cancelled room also. This is something weird for a hotel of repute. Otherwise everything was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for staying with us and sharing your feedback.

Whilst we are pleased to learn that your stay with us was perfect apart from the matter you have highlighted, let me assure you that guest’s satisfaction is at all times paramount for us. We have investigated your matter with regards to the extra charges internally; we have a retention policy in process at the Claridges which is similar to the policy followed by other five star hotels in the city.

I hope we were able to answer your issue to your satisfaction. Looking forward to your continued patronage with us on your next trip to New Delhi.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    222
    80
    39
    32
See reviews for
89
248
45
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great start to a great holiday. The hotel staff were welcoming, warm and exceptionally professional! The room was very clean and smelt clean. Tea and Coffee facilities were in abundance as were the complimentary toiletries. My husband and i stayed here for 2 nights and experienced nothing but courtesy, smiles, great food and were made to feel special. I would recommend The Claridges.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for sharing your kind review. It was a pleasure having you with us.

We are delighted to know that your stay was comfortable and you enjoyed our hospitality. Also, we are happy to learn the good service delivered by my team highlighted your experience with us. At The Claridges New Delhi, we believe in maintaining high service standards and guests satisfaction is all times paramount. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A charming hotel, brimming with character and luxury, every time I stay here I am transported to another age and put instantly at peace. The building and gardens themselves are breathtaking and the rooms are elegant and large (especially so for Delhi). The Indian restaurant is fantastic and staff provide great recommendations. You can order breakfast from a menu and also use a high-quality buffet service. However, both can get very busy at peak times so booking advised for the restaurant and rising early recommended to save waiting for breakfast. The hotel is clean and airy throughout and all staff show the highest levels of professionalism. My only regret is that it is difficult to find this hotel at a good price (unlike the Surajkund Claridges, which is not yet in the same league and poorly located) but if you are planning to treat yourself for a few days then it is well worth considering. Also a great place to bring visitors for dinner or even an afternoon tea on the lawn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your kind review with us.

It was rewarding for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and you enjoyed our hospitality. I am also pleased to learn that the good service delivered by my team highlighted your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

stayed for a night with my wife. had a confirmed booking from hotels.com, but the check in was a nightmare. they could not find our booking reference, in spite of my speaking to hotels.com and confirming the same to them. though the lady at the desk was accommodating and nice, there was a young manager on the adjacent desk whose manners were disturbing. anyway, it got sorted out after some time and we were allotted a room.
the standard rooms are small- there is very little space beyond the beds.
the bathroom is spacious and the dental kit as well as the shaving kit is already in place - you don't have to ask for it.
the best part about our room was a small balcony, fitted with comfortable chairs and overlooking the pool - nice sit out for the evening!
room service options as well as the quality of food they serve is good.
the breakfast at ' the pickwick' is disappointingly bad - not because there are not enough choices, but because the chef is terrible - any cooked item that was brought in was poorly cooked- namely eggwhite omelette, 'paratha'- underdone at some parts and burnt at others, dosa - which was soggy and underdone.
all in all a good stay.
tip- if you are indian and like to eat "paan", the best "paan" in delhi is available just behind the hotel - ask for panditji - an institution by itself, supplying paan (betel leaf with some interesting ingredients packed inside to leave a refreshing taste in your mouth) to all the well healed people in this extremely posh part of the town.

Room Tip: pool facing rooms i feel have a better view. but if there is an evening function in the banquet hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your review with us.

Whilst we are happy to know that your over all stay was comfortable and you enjoyed the food from room service. Also, we are glad to know that you enjoyed exploring the area around the hotel. I and my team has received your comments regarding the check in and we are sorry to know that your check in at the hotel was uncomfortable and felt below your expectations. The team has also received your feedback regarding our breakfast and continues to work hard to uphold the high standards of our food quality.

We look forward to welcoming you back, should your business bring you back to New Delhi in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is the first time I’ve written a review for Trip advisor, but thought that our recent experience whilst holidaying in India warranted the effort.
We have just completed (April 2013) a 2 week tour of India’s expanded Golden Triangle combined with a few nights relaxation in Kerala and a day tour of Mumbai – staying at:
Delhi - The Claridges Hotel
Varanasi - Jukasso Ganges
Agra - The Trident
Jaipur - Dera Mandawa
Kerala - Carnoustie Beach Resort
Mumbai - The Leela Kempinski
The whole tour (including guides and drivers at each location) was built around a personalised itinerary arranged by James Carpenter at Audley Travel - who did an excellent job and warrants a mention here - taking note of all our comments and suggesting venues and activities to suit our particular needs.
James made the process of planning the holiday very easy - despite the constant calls from us as we revised our ideas.
James kept us informed right through the process and when he had some concerns about one of the hotels we were given the opportunity to change it right up to the morning that we were due to fly.
I have completed reviews for each of the hotels above so please see my separate listings for them.
Below are my comments on

Delhi – The Claridges (2 night stay)
Whilst the front of the building is not particularly impressive you are met by the liveried doorman who is and porters who welcome you into the tastefully decorated lobby and reception area which has - to my untrained eye a colonial feel. This is carried through to the upstairs areas and our room
Ours was a Deluxe Room and was pretty much what you would expect of an hotel of this standard, with good quality furniture and fittings and a bed that was so comfortable that my wife fell in love with it. We felt that the walls could have benefited from something to lift them (maybe a few more pictures would have done the trick). What did let the room down was the view from our window which overlooked some sort of congested yard area. Also it seemed that we could have walked from our window to that of the room next door which could have been a security issue.
Room service was excellent. We hardly had chance to move before any little item that was used in the room was replaced or things that we left out of place straightened up.
In our short time there we did not get to eat dinner in any of the four themed restaurants, but did take our breakfast in Pickwicks. Choice was good and quality excellent. Our request for items not on the menu was met without issue.
The Tea Garden at the front of the hotel was a pleasant area to sit and have a quiet drink.
The pool area was unfortunately a bit drab and utilitarian which let the hotel down
ALL the staff we met were pleasant, polite and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for sharing your detailed feedback with us and we are glad to be a part of your first review on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you liked our services, guest rooms, lobby and the breakfast at Pick Wicks – our all day dining restaurant. Also, it is motivating for the team to know that their hospitality highlighted your experience with us. Your comments regarding the view from the room and swimming pool has been taken in to the consideration as we progress with our future enhancement plans for the hotel. I and my team have discussed in length your comment on the room safety and taking measures for the same. The safety of our guests is all times paramount and we assure you a safe stay in the future as well.

We hope to welcome you back in the future, should your travels bring you back to New Delhi.

Kind Regards,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed in The Claridges for three nights recently, and were extremely well looked after by the staff.
The Claridges is not a huge hotel, but retains an intimate feel as opposed to the impersonal feel of the larger international chains.
As it was an anniversary occassion I called the hotel before arrival to request if a room upgrade was possible, which they duly obliged.
Currently the spa and hotel boutiques and salon are being refurbished so we can expect enhanced services in months to come.
In terms of value for money it is one of the best for the quality and location.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the poolside are within an inner courtyard and hence do not get so much traffic no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kind review on The Claridges New Delhi, it was a pleasure having you with us.

We are delighted to know that you and your wife felt looked after during your three nights stay with us and you enjoyed our hospitality. Also, we are glad to know, we made your anniversary occasion more memorable. At The Claridges New Delhi, we believe in creating memorable experiences for our guests.

We look forward to once again extending our hospitality to you when you next return to New Delhi.

Yours Sincerely,
Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Along major boulevard but greenery offers some seclusion and some dampening of the incessant car horn blowing. Picturesque front patio with a dozen umbrelled glass tables with wicker chairs. Putting green quality lawn. Fountains and waterfall. Mosquito fogging in early evenings. No alcohol license to serve on front patio.Center outdoor pool with fized lounges under umbrellas.Source of loud crowd noise when evening parties.
Vodka bar doesn't open until 6pm. Chineese, Indian, and Mediterranean restaurants. Two room gym with exercise machines, massage spa nearby. Breakfast in Pickwicks which is open most of hte day, pleasant music, not too crowded or noisy. Iced tea available! Egg station with some Indian and international dishes, fruits, breads, and yogurt.
Electrical outlets had some three-prong rectangular and some two-pin circular.

Room Tip: Avoid pool-view during party season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for sharing your candid feedback with us.

Whilst we are glad to know that you find our location nice and enjoyed the breakfast at Pick Wicks, your feedback about the liquor license and noise from the pool side has been taken in consideration as we progress with our future enhancement plans for the hotel. At The Claridges New Delhi, we promise to deliver the best personalised services and great stay experiences to our guests.

We hope to welcome you back in the future, should your travels bring you back to New Delhi.

Kind Regards,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Claridges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges

Address: 12 Aurangzeb Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#24 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Claridges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
The Claridges Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
Claridges Hotel Delhi
Claridges India
Hotel Claridges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Claridges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.