We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, very expensive food and drink” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Claridges New Delhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Claridges New Delhi to your Saves list
The Claridges New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Aurangzeb Road, New Delhi 110011, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 606 Hotels in New Delhi
Bath UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, very expensive food and drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at the Claridges for 2 nights. A plus point was that we were given a room immediately in the early morning (c. 6am), after a long overnight train journey. Not so pleased on finding after showering that our room had no window and was very dark. This however was rectified on complaining and we were changed to a pleasant pool view room.

Without exception the staff was lovely, from room service, around the pool and at breakfast. But
I really do take an issue with the prices for food and drinks. No problem with the room prices, but.
Is it really necessary to charge 345Rs (close to £6 + all Indian taxes) for some tea?
We ate at Dhaba one evening. The same problem. The food was just about OK, very simple street food, but at exhorbitant prices for the food offered. Breakfast, included in the room rate, was first class.

I would recommend staying at the hotel, but eat and drink elsewhere.
Ratings are for hotel stay only. Value for food is not more than 2.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    244
    82
    41
    36
See reviews for
98
287
52
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North West
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was travelling alone to Delhi for a connecting flight to China & needed to stay overnight. I was fairly anxious about being alone in a city which has received so much negative press about the treatment of women. I arrived at the hotel at about 10a.m. And was pleased to be offered a room to shower & change. The room allocated was 117 - it was on the first floor & the external environment surrounding the room was appalling. I wish I could work out how to post photos of the setting from my iPad! They are truly shocking. I have emailed these to Trailfinders who are investigating my experience of this hotel. In words ..... immediately next to my balcony there was a collection of ramshackle wooden huts, plastic sheeting, pipes etc. which backed on the car park. The room was also close to the road - this arrangement was not only an eyesore but it meant the room was noisy and accessible via the balcony to anyone from outside the hotel. Bearing in mind the recent history of rapes in Delhi this felt very unsafe for a single female traveller. Ultimately, after my complaint, the room was changed to one on the third floor with a view over the pool. This room was great - until the second night when a pool party kept me awake until 2a.m.!

Other than this hotel staff were helpful and friendly, breakfast was great and the view over the gardens from Pickwicks was fabulous. Food from Pickwicks in the evening was OK - room service was prone to errors ... Which in fairness were corrected and I wasn't charged for that meal.

In the unlikely event that I return to Delhi I would not choose this hotel again. Many of the rooms are road facing and noisy, the sound-proofing in general is not great, food, wifi and laundry are expensive. Overall, for the category of hotel, it is substandard, but the pricing is as one would expect (not cheap). I would probably opt for a top end western chain in a place like Delhi - to feel safe one has to pay top end prices, in a place like this, in my view.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near 117.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest review of The Claridges New Delhi. We sincerely apologise that your stay experience was not what you expected.

Your feedback is very valuable to us and my team and I are taking your comments seriously. We understand the importance of maintaining high safety/ security standards for Single Lady Travellers to deliver a pleasant and safe stay and we also assure that the safety & security of our guest is of our paramount importance.

With regards to your comment regarding view from your room, I and my team are looking into the issues you have raised and continues to work hard to uphold the high standards of service and product quality for all our guests.

Whilst we are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast at Pickwicks. Also, we have noted your valuable comments with regards to the room allocation, wifi, laundry and investigating further.

I am very sorry that we could not deliver a better stay experience for you and understand how this has affected your impression of us. Nevertheless, we hope for the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have been visiting Delhi frequently but since last two visiting I stayed in the Claridges bcz mysekf as well as my guest from Japan feel very comfortable . All the staff is very courteous and always ready to help,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was unlucky and was bitten by a street dog just outside the hotel. The Duty Manager and Director of Security could not have been more helpful and even sent a bunch of roses and a 'Get Well' card to my room. The doctor they supplied was excellent.
Breakfast at Pickwicks was delicious and i enjoyed the tapas at Sevilla but found the food at Dhaba overpriced and rather boring.
i don't understand why Wifi is chargeable in this day and age.
Location and service both good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Over the last 10 years, my boyfriend & I have made three trips to New Delhi and each time we have stayed in the Claridges. There are many hotels in New Delhi however, we prefer the small size of the Claridges which makes our stay here much more personalized each time. The staff is extremely courteous and refer to us individually by our names; which is always a welcome surprise, something that the staff of a mega-size hotel is unable to do! The rooms are fine with well appointed bathrooms and large balconies. The breakfast buffet each morning in Pickwicks cafe (which was included in our room rate) is delicious with a mix of western and Indian delicacies. Our server in the breakfast room; a wonderful young man named Rajeev was so perceptive that he knew what we needed even before we asked, sometimes even as the thought arose in our minds! He impressed us with his impeccable service.
Food and service in the Chinese restaurant "Jade" was also above par.
Because of such service and the small feel of the hotel, it becomes a home to us for the duration of our stay each time. It's also nice to sit in the little garden area and have tea.
The only annoyance we have is that the wi-fi is not included in the price of the room. We travel all over the world and is rare now to find a hotel that doesn't include Internet in the room rate. My boyfriend always likes to say, that when he pays for such an expensive room, he expects the air, the water and the electrons to be free & included! In the polluted air of Delhi, the clean air inside Claridges does become very valuable and the staff provides lots of bottled water in the room. Now, all they need to do is provide the "electrons" (wi-fi) and it would receive full-marks as far as we are concerned. That and they should make sure that the email survey sent to us after our stay actually works (when we submitted the survey after diligently noting down our opinions, the web server failed to post it!)

Room Tip: Higher floors are likely to help you avoid Delhi pollution much more than lower floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Deutschland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed with two adults and two children. Rooms were spotlessly clean, well appointed, comfortable beds. Wifi was fast; cost around 10 USD per day per device (from memory).

The service was attentive without exception, with the multicuisine restaurant deserving a particular mention.

With Delhi being an intensive place to visit as tourists (and we were with children), this was an oasis of calm to recharge our batteries.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a well run hotel, quietly elegant and very clean. The smaller rooms are well appointed, the larger ones have a pleasant sitting area and larger bathrooms; beds were beautifully comfortable. The decor is art deco and this is sustained throughout the hotel. Our first visit to the hotel where we stayed for 4 nights was not very warm and welcoming; the driver who met us at Delhi airport had been pleasant but was rather put out that we didn't tip generously at the end of the drive.( Since we had just drawn rupees from the ATM at the airport and that was in large denominations we were reluctant to part with a large sum for a service that we had well paid for.) Our return to the hotel some weeks later elicited a more pleasant response; we were welcomed, acknowledged and given a larger room. Others whom we know had been very well looked after during their stay, too. The restaurant staff at Pickwicks were excellent and very helpful, going out of their way to look after one of us who was ill.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Claridges New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges New Delhi

Address: 12 Aurangzeb Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#24 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#37 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Claridges New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
Claridges Hotel Delhi
Hotel Claridges
Claridges India
The Claridges Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Claridges New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.