We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Claridges New Delhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Claridges New Delhi to your Saves list
The Claridges New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Aurangzeb Road, New Delhi 110011, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Majorca, Spain
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Pure luxury! Everything you could wish for in a Hotel of this category with the prices to go with it.
We stayed in one of the "Claridges" room types. The bed was a King size and very comfortable indeed. We also had a small terrace which supposedly overlooked the swimming pool - we couldn't actually see the pool because of the trees!!!! The rest of the view was not worth having and actually with the pollution in New Delhi - probably wiser to stay inside as opposed to sitting on the terrace!!
The food was excellent both for dinner and breakfast which we ate in Pikwicks on both occasions. The free apples given in reception were greatly appreciated.
A very civilized way of checking in and out, small tables with chairs and not the usual long counter!
Wifi, excellent, but charged for!! As in many hotels in India, I don't understand why we must pay for wifi!
The location is good, long tree lined avenue, not far from the Mahatma Gandhi museum and just a short ride from the centre, Connaught Place.
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 331 - very quiet and wifi excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, Regional General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a detailed review of our hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our hospitality and your stay. We appreciate your feedback on our location, rooms and staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards
Regional General Manager
Oliver C. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    312
    97
    42
    39
See reviews for
129
371
60
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at the beginning of February. Room overlooked the pool and met all of our needs. Very nice.After the long flight, we found our way downstairs to Pickwicks for breakfast. Look for Om Prakash; he'll take care of you. All the staff at the hotel were extremely polite and helpful.The sped at Pickwicks is everything your weary body is looking for: fresh fruit and juice,toast,bacon and eggs for those who need it. Instead, go for the Aloh pratha or the Masala Dosa. Afterall, you came to try the food. Go to Sevilla for dinner: again,great feel and the food is good. Perfect location to start exploring the city. Laundry service blew our minds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate that you liked our location, food and the staff met your expectation.

Looking forward to welcoming you in near future

Warm Regards
Regional General Manager
Oliver C. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRICHUR, KERALA, INDIA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Long way from airport along the dusty lanes and you reach Hotel,check in was ok taken care by the Company. Rooms were ok and bathroom was horrible with stained closets! Had to call housekeeping 4 times to keep the room okay, be it coffee replenishment, dental kit, cleaning, Hotels have a notion that when you travel for conferences, everything they take for granted and met out a service not worth mentioning. They forget that these people also travel worldwide and are opinion makers!

Room Tip: Nothing to mention
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, Regional General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. Apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. Same has been addressed to the concerned.

We make sure to meet your expectation next time you visit our hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you in near future.

Warm Regards
Regional General Manager
Oliver C. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I don't think that they build hotels like this anymore, and even if they did, I dare say that it'd be difficult to find such courteous and friendly staff to man it.
Thoroughly enjoyed the tranquil peace and quiet that the hotel offered after a busy day's work in a foreign (and often crowded and noisy) city. Though one did not have a high-floor breathtaking view of the city skyline, the rooms were well appointed in a luxurious Indian kind of way,and a refreshing difference from the cookie-cutter 5-star hotel room. Excellent value for money!!
The DHABA restaurant served excellent Indian highway-stall type of food, and while all the staff there were friendly and helpful, Mr Mustafa deserves special special mention for the way he went about making the guests feel welcome and at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a detailed review of our hotel. We appreciate you feedback about Dhaba and glad to know that the staff met your expectation.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards
Regional General Manager
Oliver C. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Initially the lock was broken on the first room allocated to us. Taken to another room where the bathroom looked as if in need of a clean and renovation as tiles were broken etc. Rubbish left between bath and shower and not removed from the previous occupant(s)? This was down to housekeeping, who needs to do more checking! On complaining we were ungraded to the 3rd floor which was far superior. Ate in Pickwicks as all the other restaurants were full. The buffet had a good choice.

No breakfast next day as we had to leave early for the train to Shimla but hotel did us a packed breakfast which was better than nothing. After Shimla we returned as that is how our schedule was worked out and this time Claridges upgrades us to a suite which was gorgeous so all is forgiven, shame we were there for only one more day. B'ast was good but surprised at how small Pickwicks was considering how many guests the hotel holds. The choice was good, European and Indian and off the menu if you so wish. Staff attentive especially the porters who were very helpful.

Room Tip: Only gave the above ratings because of the suite not because of the initial room given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We are glad that you liked our food and service. Also apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

Your continued patronage is important to us and promise to exceed your expectation during your next visit to Delhi.

Looking forward to see you again.


Best Regards
Regional General Manager
Oliver C.Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel is in a nice quiet area outside the city centre. Rooms and service are good but there is no hotel bar open during the day to welcome you back after a long day's touring, the only option is to order a drink in the hotel cafeteria/breakfast room - not terribly relaxing or user friendly. The vodka bar is open of an evening but has more of a chic corporate environment than somewhere relaxing and user friendly. It's a nice hotel but geared more to the corporate than tourist market.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, Regional General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a detailed review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality and stay. We appreciate your feedback on our location, rooms and staff. Regarding your concern about bar, I make sure that it is addressed to the management.

Looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards
Regional General Manager
Oliver C.Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We only stayed one night here but we enjoyed every moment. Our room was beautiful with a huge comfortable bed, view over the garden and good sized bathroom with a large powerful shower perfect after our long flight! Free wifi in our room was a bonus as well.

The staff were friendly and helpful, we had an issue with our transport the next morning not arriving in time to take us to the airport and they guessed immediately what had happened without us saying a word to them and called the firm and sorted it out for us straight away.
We had arranged a ‘takeaway’ breakfast as we had such an early start (5am) it was a couple of small not so fresh sandwiches, fruit and some crisps with a carton drink. Nothing special but better than nothing.

We sat out in the garden early evening for a drink before dinner, non-alcoholic drinks are available there which seemed odd as they served alcohol inside. Having said that they were wonderful and really refreshing.

Be aware that the prices listed for drinks and food have taxes on top of them our bill arrived far bigger than we expected.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claridges51, at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank youso much for your valuable feedback of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality and stay. We appreciate your feedback on our location, rooms and staff.

Looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards
Regional General Manager
Oliver C.Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Claridges New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges New Delhi

Address: 12 Aurangzeb Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Claridges New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
Claridges Hotel Delhi
Hotel Claridges
Claridges India
The Claridges Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Claridges New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.