We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely colonial style hotel to modern standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Claridges

Save Saved
You added The Claridges to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Claridges
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Aurangzeb Road, New Delhi 110011, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 594 hotels in New Delhi
england
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A lovely colonial style hotel to modern standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

It's in south Delhi near the embassy area, khan market and a few nice places accessible by tuk tuk which are normally around. Rooms are clean and smart. The Dhaga restaurant is very popular. A lovely choice. Downsides minor but pool is outside and not heated so in November was too cool to swim. As for many hotels here no free Wi Fi. Bottom line a good 4+ star hotel, recommended. Odd points curtains and some lights operated from electric panel ...unexpectedly modern twist.. There is a railway museum close ish if you like old trains, I did. Spa was being updated at time of our visit. Beds were brilliant real quality. Altogether lovely experience

Room Tip: Not much to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    223
    79
    39
    33
See reviews for
89
249
46
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Claridges, New Delhi: The property looks nice from the outside, but from the inside it looks old and worn out. Only a few portions of the hotel seems to be renovated and feels upto date. The hotel seems quite small by 5 star standards, right from the reception, restaurants to the bed rooms. We had a room with a small balcony and swimming pool view. Though clean, the room size really disappointed us. Room service was good, no complaints about it. Spa was average, nothing special. Had plans to dine at their "Dhaba" restaurant, reserved a table. But, sitting their for 10 minutes made us claustrophobic, it is that small and stuffy. Khan Market is close by, and had plenty of good options. In a nut shell, very average hotel, you could find much better options at the same or lesser price.

Room Tip: Do check the room physically before checking-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochboisdale, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here for on night at the end of our Indian holiday.
On arrival we were promptly shown to our room and booked in,
good start, the room was fine and we decided to go down to the pool
and have a snack,my wife went for the samosas which where well made
and fine, i unfourtunatly choose the cheese and ham pannini,
This item was discribed as a spiced edam cheese and proscitito toasted
panini.
Very clever use of words! the it contained three uncooked slices of
normal edam on top of proccessed ham, yes the outside was toasted
but the filling was stone cold, to most of us the discription proscittio indicates
a quality ham this was not the case as for the spiced cheese not in a month of
Sundays had this been spiced.
I felt this had been discribed to give the impression of something it clearly was not.
That evening we went down for our meal and was pleased to see a fairly compriensive
buffet.
As i collected my dinner plate i was shocked and angry to see the plate was
so greasy i could write my name on it which i did and then gave to the waiter,
the next four plates were the same.
For the last number of years i have been a chef and know how hard kitchen work can be
but i feel if this Hotel aims to copy its London namesake its sadly failing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Spa out of action being updated in spite of being told a week prior that it would be open. Because of bad back enquired if massage could be organised in room but they never replied .
Water tepid not hot and they never did manage to fix it. Others were luckier but not good experience for us.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at Claridges at the start and finish of our tour of Northern India. Both times the service was excellent. Both the Indian and Chinese restaurants were fantastic. The spa services are also worth a look with the head, neck and shoulder massage a must after the long flight.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Situated in the quiet embassy area of New Delhi this hotel offers rooms with a colonial style to relax in after the hustle and bustle of the city.
The Dhaba Food Dinner prepares excellent Indian delicacies but a booking is recommended to avoid disappointment. The Pickwick Coffee shop has both European and local fare on offer.
Hotel staff were very attentive and friendly and when resolving a problem of our own making could not have been more professional and understanding in helping to resolve this matter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A very comfortable and well located hotel in New Delhi. Good facilities including 4 diverse restaurants and a particularly nice garden and very friendly service. Not in the luxury category but a good place to stay if you are visiting or business or to see Delhi's sights.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Claridges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges

Address: 12 Aurangzeb Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#17 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#26 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Claridges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
The Claridges Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
Claridges Hotel Delhi
Claridges India
Hotel Claridges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Claridges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.