We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fiar quality hotel in Delhi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sujan Singh Park | Subramania Bharti Marg, New Delhi 110003, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A fiar quality hotel in Delhi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is a reasonably priced (given its location) hotel. There are more expensive and more luxurious hotels in Delhi, but for the price, this hotel offers fair value. The rooms are of good quality, the bathroom was a little tired compared to other hotels in the area, but again, this is a good medium level hotel and as such the standard is fair.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. Your feedback is extremely helpful and important to us in delivering the highest levels of quality and service to our valuable customers.

Comments such as yours assist us in evaluating our operation and our success in generating happiness of our guests.

We do hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon and that your visit is an enjoyable one in every respect.

Kind regards,


Sumeet Taneja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    180
    83
    26
    18
See reviews for
76
49
59
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erlangen, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I have been on a business trip traveling through India and staying in various hotels.
The Taj was one of the best, providing an excellent room as well as service. All that for an affordable price. The hotel restaurant can also be recommended.
The location is approx. 30 minutes from the airport.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad that we could make your stay a pleasurable one. We strive to provide all of our guests with a memorable and comfortable stay. We are happy that you were impressed with our services.

Our team at Vivanta by Taj-Ambassador would be delighted to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Sumeet Taneja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

First visit to Delhi after many years. Cold winter day. Reached the hotel after many asking for directions from many. Even the taxi driver was not aware of Taj Vivanta.......earlier called Ambassador. Does not have a good & prominent entrance hoarding. The lobby is so small & crowded. The room is quiet spacious & was nicely warm with central heating. The food is just about average & overpriced. Morning breakfast is served in coffee shop which is so overcrowded & noisy. The spa is no comparison to the web site advertisement...........very cramped & poor toilet facilities & no facilities for steam or sauna.
Overall a very big disappointment.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By Taj – Ambassador, New Delhi.

I thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

I have made a note of your comment with concerns regarding ‘average food’. Kindly accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. The issue highlighted by you has been taken up sternly with our Executive Chef. He would personally address the issue. Its important for any organization to stay alive to guest experiences and such feedbacks pushes all of us to perform better.

With regard to your suggestion regarding ‘Spa facilities’ same has been noted for next renovation plan. Your concerns in other areas will be reviewed such as Coffee Shop noisy and Lobby is small.

We will make sure that you carry back better memories of your stay with us in the future, and towards this please allow us to be of service to you once again.

I do look forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Kind regards,


Suman Gahlot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We were picked-up at the airport and the check-in at 23h00 was fast. Me and my colleague were given two rooms on the fourth floor. Mine had an ‘’internal yard view’’ which is not very pretty, but probably quieter than a street view. The internet connection is average at best and you get charged for additional devices unless you take the 24hrs option (which still allows only two devices). This is an area for improvement as business travellers require a good connection and will generally need to connect multiple devices.

The hotel is in an older building but is very neat and the rooms are kept clean and the amenities are adequate. Bed was comfortable; the washrooms are not very modern but were sufficient with a lot of free items provided. Overall I like the room a lot, it was large had everything needed for a comfortable stay. The young security guard on the 4th floor who was there during the day was really kind and helpful. They have a fitness center on the 5th floor, basic but enough to keep you busy.

The Yellow Brick Road restaurant is where breakfast is served and the selection of food there is great. The service and kitchen staff is great and will happily fulfill your special request if you have any (omelets, etc.). With its bright yellow colors, the decoration is great for a breakfast place but is a bit odd for a dinner place (this restaurant is open 24/h). The bar is nice and has some potential, but it was always empty when we passed in from of it during the evening (despite the hotel being full). They serve some light meals and a good selection of drinks. We went there once and the music selection was odd and it was also uncomfortably loud (hard to have conversation). Therefore the potential to have a great hotel bar is there, but the formula needs to be improved. The Chinese restaurant has a great selection of Chinese dishes and can be a good option if you don’t want to leave the hotel premises. However you get a lot dining options at Khan Market which is a 5 minutes’ walk away from the hotel (on a safe street with sidewalks) therefore I would suggest that you check out what’s available there instead.

Out flight was delayed and the hotel manager accommodated us with a temporary room near the lobby to work and unwind and we were also brought coffee, which is a great attention. Overall a great experience, althought a bit pricy (might be because of the Auto Expo).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments ‘fast check-in, clean room, good food & Security Guard on the 4th floor’ all have been shared with our team. Thank you for this encouragement; this sure would help them to strive for the better.

Your suggestion regarding ‘internet connection’ has bee noted. I hope you will not hold this against us.

We strive every day to ensure our guests have a wonderful meal and a marvelous time at our hotel and it is extremely encouraging for someone to tell us. Thank you so much for taking the time off to share this with us.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warmest regards,

Sumeet Taneja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

the place is well located and very close to khan market which is a shopping paradise. it also has many restaurants. the coffee shop of ambassador is great , 24 hours and good food. the buffet was good. the room was huge and well done. the staff was curteous and helpful. the standard of service is excellent. its value for money!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By-Taj Ambassador, New Delhi

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have noted your comments on the location of our hotel, food & services. We are glad that we were able to make your stay with us a pleasant one and would like to thank you for this encouragement. This sure would help our team to strive for the better.

We look forward to serving you again.

Kind regards,

Sumeet Taneja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Have been visiting at Taj Ambassador, as its more popularly known for more than two years now. Ambassador has an enormous charm of its own with elements of luxury.
The hotel makes you feel at home, and is ideally located at Khan market, a popular and upmarket hangout. Have been upgraded couple of times to the Oriental Suites and it has a charm of its own.
Spacious rooms with all modern amenities, quick personalised service is the USP. The beds are always comfortable with choice of pillows. The Airconditioning and heating is always perfect. IRD is one thing to look forward to in this hotel. Though expensive, it surely serves one of the best Indian cuisines.
I like the air of old world that the hotel has, though the circular structure often leads to a bit longer walk to the lifts from the room, but that's just about fine. It's not swanky like other Vivanta properties, but you won't complain much. You have Delhi's famous Yellow-Black taxis handy, should you want to travel across the city or want a airport drop. The porters are helpful too.
I always find Taj Ambassador quite a homely hotel to stay with for the business trips. The hotel surely should try and get bigger spacious lifts, if the infra allows it to do so.
Surely a recommended place to stay if you are in Delhi.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time off to post a review on TripAdvisor.

It is always a pleasure to get an e-mail, particularly when it is as positive as your experience was.

We strive every day to ensure our guests have a wonderful meal and a marvelous time at our hotel and it is extremely encouraging for someone to tell us. Thank you so much for taking the time off to share this with us.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm regards,

Sumeet Taneja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I have visited multiple time this hotel in Delhi and every time enjoyed the stay with good standard of service. the location is very close to Metro station. The Khan Bazar is very close. very good place for shopping and you can get good material ...value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms are very big and you may enjoy the same , have stayed more than four times and every time in d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By Taj – Ambassador, New Delhi.

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Your compliment ‘good standards of service’ has been shared with our team. We are glad that we were able to make your stay with us a pleasant one. Positive review like this is a great source of motivation for all of us

I do look forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Thanks & regards,

Sumeet Taneja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi

Address: Sujan Singh Park | Subramania Bharti Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#35 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#55 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#65 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi is an INTACH listed heritage building, built in 1945 by the colonial architect Walter George in a poetic medley of British and art deco style. This arrival zone sets the tone for guestrooms and banquet facilities that deliver the ultimate in urban relaxation. Get set to be delighted with small surprises from the moment you enter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador New Delhi
The Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel In Delhi
Ambassador Hotel Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.