We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pahargunj streets delhi essence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivek Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vivek Hotel to your Saves list
Vivek Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1534-50 Main Bazar | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India (Pahar Ganj)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #350 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
chennai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“pahargunj streets delhi essence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

if u want to enjoy the essence of old delhi congested streets, then this pahargunj hotel is good for you to stay. the rooms are good and services too. the rooms are small but economical comapred to the descent service. If you are in delhi you do not need to worry about food, pahargunj steets itself are having that old delhi styles restaurants, serving punjabi and mughlai delicacies. But the hotel has got a rooftop cafe and restaurant, a little high priced for delhi standards, but cheaper compared to other metros. They provide food in rooms. You need to carry an I-card for getting a room in hotel, as per government norms. Bathrooms in the rooms are very good too. interiors of the rooms are wooden, which gives a cosy feel. They have AC and NON AC rooms. The hotel is at walking distance from new delhi railway station.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    33
    72
    35
    45
See reviews for
10
68
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

I stayed in a standard room, so this review does not apply to the deluxe rooms. The hotel was very loud as they were refurbishing some of the rooms. They start very early, and end late in the evening. The room wasn't clean, but I didn't expect otherwise for this price in Delhi. The service was great. Room service/laundry service/taxi service/restaurant. So good that it made up for everything else.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Having done my research, and read in several guidbooks that this hotel had been recently done up, it looked promising. Not so. The hotel is a building site. A few rooms have been revamped, and are fine - but the standard rooms are anything but. I have travelled much of Asia, and refused to spend time in a 'standard' room here.
On arrival in the middle of the night, I was asked for all details, payment, photo of self before even looking at a room or spending 10 mins sorting myself out after long haul flight.
Moved to a nicer room, but when daylight came it was apparent that there was going to be infernal noise and dust right outside my room, for the rest of the day. After 24 hours of travel this was not welcome, and certainly not for 1500 rupees.
The only saving grace is the rooftop restaurent, which is good.
With the many alternative options in Delhi, give this a wide berth until the rennovations are completed.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

This was the worst hotel we stayed in India.
It started with really bad surrounding area.
Lately we got quite a dirty room, where we were not able to switch off the light the way that the fan would still be on. There was one switch, but it was so old and inpossible to pull. So we slept with the light on all night. As well it was a dirty room. Service was also bad. The people from the hotel cheated us with offering us a taxi to the area which was nearby by asking 150 rupees, when other taxis were taking there for 50 or less.
They also offered us a map, and it appeared that they want us to pay for it.

Really the worst expierience with a hotel in India

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

We arrived in Delhi at around 4am and were picked up by the Vivek staff. On arriving at the Hotel we asked to see our room before paying. We were shown a horrible, dirty room. The bed was a short, misshaped double with a thin bit of grubby foam for a mattress, a window was hanging off, the bathroom looked awful. We had booked a standard, not economy room, on the strength of photos on the website. We expected te actual room not to be as good as the photo, but this bore no comparison. We were shown another room that was much better, a (worse) variation of the photo on the net but was told this room was 1200R as opposed to the 650R agreed online. We managed to argue the manager down to 800R for the better room but felt we had been conned. It wasn't a good start to our first India trip after 24 hours travel, it made us expect to have similar problems at other hotels, luckily this experience wasn't repeated.

The resturant was quite nice. Staff were friendly, food fine, relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

I agree with mharley86 - the hotel is awful! The staff was not friendly, we arrived at 1.00 am and the check in was a real absurd - we had to pose to pictures holding our passports by our faces :// All the rooms we have been shown were dirty and sordid, before we entered the man from the hotel kicked off bags with rubbish. I guess they have various rooms, but the ones we saw and the one we already took were horrible... When I saw a new Vivek webpage, I thought I was going to die from laughing - it seems to be at least 4 star hotel!
Last year I heve been had...

Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

Travel to delhi often and not on a very high budget. Its basic and clean I think they are refurbishing so ask for the newly renovated rooms.. Its got a nice restaurant and is centrally located.. cant ask for more for the amount I paid..
Cheers..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivek Hotel

Address: 1534-50 Main Bazar | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vivek Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1968 we have been in the hospitality business for over 4 decades. With over 60 rooms and 2 in house restaurants we are an old and a recognized establishment. Being situated in the heart of Delhi we are close to all major tourist and business establishments. The Hotel is at a 30-35 Minutes drive from the International Airport and 25-30 minutes drive From the Domestic Airport. We are at a 5-10 Minute walk from the New Delhi Railway Station. Hotel also offrs airport pickup's if requested. The Hotel Includes 3 Multi Cuisine Restaurants including a well stocked Bar, a roof top garden restaurant called 'Sam's Cafe', which is recommended by Lonely Planet .In addition, we offer facilities such as Money Changer, Travel Information desk, International Calling Facility, Laundry Service, Doctor on Call, Car Rental, Safe Deposit, Long Term Luggage Storage and an Internet Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vivek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivek Hotel Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivek Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.