We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vivek Hotel

Save Saved
You added Vivek Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivek Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1534-50 Main Bazar | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India (Pahar Ganj)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #320 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Shanghai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“terrible staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

good location in Main Bazaar, room is fairly clean for this price. no free wifi in room. be careful when you pay for the bill. we ordered one bottle of water and one cola. the staff asked us for Rs80. we just paid. later we found those cost only Rs50 on their menu... hate of dishonest!! will never be back again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    30
    67
    35
    40
See reviews for
9
61
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I booked this hotel using booking.com website and I was sceptical about hotel, as it is very much in my budget. And another thing was, I have never stayed in old Delhi before.

But this hotel offered great comfort and of course true value for money. For foreign travellers, this is like perfect stay. You find good restaurants near by hotel and one major plus point, this hotel is hardly 500 meters away from metro station.

This hotel is definitely on my list when I visit back Delhi.

Room Tip: Ask for room which does not have road side view if you do not hussle of market.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Rude staff and very over priced for India. My room was sterile, no windows, no hot water and very noisy. The hotel itself smell and lots of men sit in the foyer. Did not feel safe here as alone female traveler. I also arranged a pick up which was very over priced. would not recommend at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom and USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Don't take a bottom floor room if you are staying long, and only at bottom price. Very noisy and smelly but that is pahar ganj. The cafe on the roof is really nice. If you have reserved and agreed to a price ahead of time be sure to bring proof. They will try to get out of it and make you pay more.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is a building site at the moment. I was given a room next to the street and for an hour a refuse truck came to ingest the garbage and the smell lasted all day. The workers were carrying cement into the hotel so it was dusty and they were also pissing in the garage room next to mine so it was hygeinic as well. Yuk.Cant believe it was really open for business. You have been warned

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was on a business trip to Delhi and checked into the Vivek. My room was roomy with table and chair (convenient to use a computer), TV, large bed, although the mattress was a bit hard, and a large bathroom. The bath was all marble & included a counter top surrounding the sink, western toilet, and even had a shower curtain covering the huge shower.

The staff was more than helpful, room service great and the restaurant food was good! I will stay again when back in Delhi!

Room Tip: The back rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This used to be a cheap place for travellers. Now prices have been inflated and quality is worse than ever. the upstairs restaurant is dirty and the food terrible. staff is rude and they try to cheat guests all the time. there is no consideration whatsoever for paying guests. room are dirty and nothing works, e.g. hot water, AC, tv, etc.
to be avoided!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vivek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivek Hotel

Address: 1534-50 Main Bazar | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #320 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vivek Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1968 we have been in the hospitality business for over 4 decades. With over 60 rooms and 2 in house restaurants we are an old and a recognized establishment. Being situated in the heart of Delhi we are close to all major tourist and business establishments. The Hotel is at a 30-35 Minutes drive from the International Airport and 25-30 minutes drive From the Domestic Airport. We are at a 5-10 Minute walk from the New Delhi Railway Station. Hotel also offrs airport pickup's if requested. The Hotel Includes 3 Multi Cuisine Restaurants including a well stocked Bar, a roof top garden restaurant called 'Sam's Cafe', which is recommended by Lonely Planet .In addition, we offer facilities such as Money Changer, Travel Information desk, International Calling Facility, Laundry Service, Doctor on Call, Car Rental, Safe Deposit, Long Term Luggage Storage and an Internet Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, MakeMyTrip, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Vivek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivek Hotel Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivek Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.