We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antique style?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maidens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Maidens Hotel to your Saves list
Maidens Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Sham Nath Marg, New Delhi 110 054, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Amritsar, India
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Antique style?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

very near to Metro station and the Inter State Bus Terminus (although I wonder if anyone who stays in this costly hotel will travel by bus!), it is one of the best properties of the Oberoi group. The hotel has everything a 5 star hotel is expected to have- neat rooms, well stocked with usual amenities, good bath-room toiletries, but the added advantage is the old style expansive layout in everything. Quiet and tranquil environs add to the joy of stay in this beautiful property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,


It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Thank you,
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    215
    51
    14
    3
See reviews for
83
208
29
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Oberoi Maidens is nothing less than an old world charm preserved by the oberoi hospitality. The minute you enter the hotel you get the feeling of being transported to the British Raj. That's when the hotel was built for the visiting british royalty. The entire feel of the building is old world and the service top quality as one would expect from an Oberoi property. Must experience for travellers to Delhi who come here to experience the old charm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi and we thank you for posting your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to learn that your visit to our property was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you, were to your satisfaction.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and encourage us to achieve even higher standards.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Although it is managed by the Oberoi Group,there seems to be a shortage of staff,although the ones that were present were excellent.The rooms were very clean and quiet,and quite charming,with a big walk-in closet,huge bathroom,and a nice sitting room. The expansive grounds and proximity to the Civil Lines Metro station are a big plus.
It is a wonderful heritage property,and it could be livelier.The excellent staff are the biggest positive for this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on the garden side,we were there for only one night so we were quite happy with our suite facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your reviews about your experience at Maidens Hotel.

I am happy to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and the services extended by my team were to your satisfaction. Your invaluable feedback helps and inspires us to strive harder for excellence.

I once again thank you for your kind words. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Delhi and every endeavor will be made to ensure that Maidens Hotel becomes your home when visiting this city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed at Maidens for five days. I was lucky enough to get one of the best suites in the hotel - a truly enormous flat with a big balcony. I appreciated the management's willingness to accommodate my preference for an outside space. All the staff were excellent and very helpful.
The hotel is located in North Delhi, 5 minutes from the metro station Civil Lines. It is in a relatively quiet and upmarket area but provides easy access to the centre. The building is beautiful and reminiscent of the era at the beginning of the 20th century. The rooms at invariably huge, even the standard ones.
Positives: location, excellent staff, beautiful grounds, a very retro-looking swimming pool, breakfast in the gardens (weather permitting), atmosphere.
Not-so-positives: the hotel needs some serious work. The management is already working on upgrading the facilities and removing some of the weird features (frosted glasses?? ). But it still needs a lot of work, which it deserves.
I think that the standard rooms are great. I was not entirely convinced that deluxe suites are worth the upgrade. Yes, they are bigger but they tend to be inside rooms without balcony or (in many cases) clear windows to the outside world. The majority of rooms have these frosted windows. I believe that theta re being replaced gradually.
Breakfast could also be better. Service was sometimes excellent but on other occasions slower. The buffet offers a nice but relatively small selection of breakfast food. At INR750, it seems expensive. I should add that my reservation for Maidens included breakfast and therefore I would not complain. But if you are paying for it, you should check it first to see if you consider it good value.
Overall, Maidens is a unique hotel - with many positives and some quirks that currently let it down. I think it deserves four stars. I was lucky enough to get a stupendous room (which would deserve five stars alone!) but the hotel could be (and should be) better in sme respects.

Room Tip: If you are booking a luxury suite, 217 is the staff of dreams, if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi and we thank you for posting your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

Your kind words of appreciation for our services & the hotel in general are well noted.

As rightly observed by you, we are in the process of upgrading the hotel facilities including replacing the frosted glass with clear glass as our room windows. Upgrading the breakfast restaurant is also planned in the month of september itself to enhance the offering as well as guest experience.

Once again, thank you for taking time to evaluate our services. We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Things at Maidens are fine. But, this is an Oberoi hotel, and frankly 'fine' shouldn't be good enough.

The whole place looks like it needs some attention. Our first 'suite' was stark, bare and gloomy with etched out windows that give you no view. The chairs in the sitting room were somewhat faded, and while not unpleasant, it wasn't a very welcoming space. Some pictures on the wall, or something to make to rooms seem less stark would be good. Plants, flowers, magazines? All would be good. Ours was a deluxe suite that felt abandoned.

We upgraded to another, larger suite which was lovely, with an outdoor terrace and views over the gardens. This room was excellent with good standards throughout. Spacious and well appointed, this was worth the upgrade cost for sure.

The reception area is poor with one small desk area that is both archaic and underwhelming. When we arrived a group was also trying to check in and there was only one staff member on reception which was frankly poor management. He did his very best, however clearly needed help. Why not simply rota on an additional staff member if you know you have a large group arriving late? Hospitality isn't complicated but it does need some thought.

Morning reception was excellent however, and the desire to swop rooms dealt with with a great deal of tact and diplomacy. If fact, save that one night, all the reception team were first rate. Friendly and pleasant and happy to help.

Breakfast is self-served in a small, awkward room and attended by staff who clearly want to be elsewhere. Breakfast service throughout our stay was poor, with a dreadful food selection on offer. The set-up looked temporary at best and ramshackle at worse. The breakfast staff were the worst I've encountered on India and need retraining desperately. Basic service skills are lacking and there was not a single smile from the breakfast team during our five day stay at Maidens. Something has gone badly wrong there and the management need to tackle it.

Small things Oberoi - have milk for cereal kept in a cool / thermos jug - not a glass jug that gets warm and turns the milk. Find a toaster that actually works or simply don't offer toast. Cover the jams so flies don't get there before your guests. Replenish the fruit juices, breads, cheeses etc. There were 5 staff members on duty on our first day and empty platters. This wouldn't be acceptable anywhere, and Oberoi you are shamed by this level of service.

On the positive side, the housekeeping team at Maidens are excellent and our thanks go to them for making our stay feel very special.

Overall, I can't quite see why Oberoi want Maidens - it's really not up to their usually very high standards - either from a rooms perspective or indeed from a food service one.

Maidens was clearly once a very beautiful building and if Oberoi have plans for her, then they should be public about them - show the plans along with the vision and mix it up with the history. Guests are surprisingly accommodating if they know things are being improved and a beautiful building preserved. Invest in some good furniture, some art for the walls and open up the guest drawing room again. Maidens should be about luxury and yet it feels dated and a bit shabby.

As it stands, Maidens is dragging a good brand name down overall and despite our spacious and excellent suite, for the money, customers would probably do better else where.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback on Trip advisor, reflecting on our hotel and services.

Please allow me to apologies for the delay at check-in due to a large group movement at the same time. This has been addressed to avoid recurrence in the future.

I appreciate your comments about breakfast service. We are in the process of upgrading the restaurant in the month of September itself.

Your comments & observation regarding the property in general will be considered when we upgrade the hotel facilities. Once again, thank you for taking time to evaluate our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Maidens hotel is located in a wonderful colonial building near the Red Fort, and kept all its original charme. The rooms are spacious, confortable and very clean. The garden is beautiful, very peaceful, with a nice swimming pool, that makes it ideal also for families travelling with kids. The food is great in both restaurants, and eating out in the garden is particularly nice. But the best part is the staff, which is incredibly kind and helpful, the perfect example of indian hospitality. Definitely recommended for visiting Delhi!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Mr. Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi and we thank you for posting your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to learn that your visit to our property was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you, were to your satisfaction.

We thank you for your positive feedback about the hotel. As indicated by you, we have conveyed your compliments to the concerned staff member.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and encourage us to achieve even higher standards.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had booked a day room to recover from a night flight before getting a night train. We were rudely instructed to "Sit Down Madam!" if we dared ask when we could go to bed for almost two hours and were finally allowed to check in at 1.45, which left us less than three hours to sleep. Quite annoying considering how much we had paid! There was no hot water either but as we were so short on sleep time we couldn't face the wait or frustration of dealing with the receptionist so had a cold shower.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the delay in providing your room during your day visit. We are very flexible in accommodating early arrivals although our check-in time is 1400 Hrs. Regrettably, on this occasion, due to rooms not being available, we were not able to assist despite our best intentions. Your comment regarding the mannerism of our reception staff has been noted and investigated upon. I believe that the reception staff could not communicate the rooms situation adequately and clearly to you resulting in this negative experience and perception.

Upon getting to know that you had a bad arrival experience, although we realized that we could not have recovered the lost time, nevertheless, I had personally instructed my staff not to charge you for any incidentals as a gesture of our apologies & to help minimize the inconvenience. We also ensured that an early check-in was arranged for you on your repeat visit to our hotel on 21st July without any charges.

You are requested you to please treat this incident in isolation and non-representative of our standards and do look forward to another opportunity to serve you and show you our true colors.

Once again thank you for your feedback. We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maidens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maidens Hotel

Address: 7 Sham Nath Marg, New Delhi 110 054, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#34 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#53 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maidens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maidens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maidens Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Maidens Delhi
Maidens Delhi
Maiden Hotel
Maidens Hotels
Hotel Maidens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maidens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.