We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most expensive hotel ever - money can't buy some things!'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi, New Delhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi, New Delhi to your Saves list
The Oberoi, New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Wifi
Ranked #2 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
UAE
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The most expensive hotel ever - money can't buy some things!'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

I arrived at the Oberoi after being bumped out of The Imperial, which is aparently the best hotel in Delhi. I travel a lot for business and have stayed and some super hotels. In regards to the book out - i'll take it up with The Imperial - cancelling someone's reservation without a phone call, especially when i was paying cash is a faux on all accounts, again, i'll take this up with them. I paid 18K IR a night plus taxes which in my currency is around AED 1800 net in US dollars, i'm getting there $490 so by all accounts a very expensive hotel in my opinion.

Service - faultess, if you like being treated like a king, old school, then by all means get into it. It was phenominal service. Front office, check in in the room - decent room size, and extremely polite staff.

Age of the hotel lets it down, and it's all a bit much LV, Dior and Chanel in the lobby, lush gardens outside - but then again breakfast, so many staff, but not all that tasty. There was a gorgeous looking roast ham, i cut it, then after two minutes of cutting, i nearly lost a tooth on biting. so tough, i couldnt get through it. a weird interpretation on Eggs benedict though. i guess my real bitterness stems from not being able to eat at the Spice Trail at the Imperial!!!

Very close to humayun's tomb - that said the taxis are so cheap - honestly like $20 for 5 hours - incredible

i recommend the Oberoi - service with a smile - just a little old, i'm a mod cons kind of guy - i missed my ipod docking station

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    269
    68
    16
    8
See reviews for
150
299
104
488
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

smart,Elegant withlarge rooms and friendly staff - verysecure and ideally situated for siteseeing Good restaurants

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

This is a decent hotel where I stayed during my visit to Delhi on some official work. It has a location advantage being close to Connaught Place, Palika Bazar. It is not far from Karol Bagh, a good shopping place.

The service is good. I did not try its in house restaurant as I ventured so many eateries in and around Connaught Place. Could not explore more as I was on official visit with a tight schedule.

Overall a satisfying stay.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOIDA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

1 of the best place 2 Hangout.i hv been to hyatt and oberoi and as the brand name suggests there is no doubt about the services and commitments of these two hotels

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

We made plans to check out as soon as we checked in. I guess we would have given it great reviews had we not stayed at the Shangri-La Eros the previous two nights. In comparison this hotel was stale, life-less, even the staff did nothing more than give a forced grin (no friendly interaction). They CHARGE for wi-fi! Like it really costs a lot to maintain wi-fi? Shangri-La complimentary WI FI. Smaller room for higher price, out of the way location (at the other hotel we walked to Janpath, Connaught, Jantar Mantar etc...).

More expensive than Shangri-La, stuffy hallways, view of parking lot, charge for wi-fi, average fitness facilities, breakfast buffet very average, ambience-none/stuffy.

Like I stated before, we actually have a standard for comparison-the Shangri La Eros. Had we only stayed at the Oberoi in Delhi, I guess we would have given it a better review like a lot of other travellers.

I have a review for Shangri La and some other hotels like Old Harbour Hotel on tripadvisor too.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

The Oberoi Delhi is a very nice hotel located close to central Delhi. From the moment you enter the staff is more than attentive and always willing to help you. They really went out of there way to help us get New Year's Eve tickets and a car to Urban Pind. The breakfast in the restaurant downstairs is awesome. The indoor swimming pool is a nice treat after a day of sightseeing. Also, the first day we arrived we had room service which was very good. The butler that's provided to every room is a great idea. I would recommend this hotel as it's a great hotel and fairly priced for an Oberoi.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meerut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

A wonderful oberoi is very good.Its rooms are neat and clean.I visited it first time and I see taht it was a neat hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, New Delhi

Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Cosmopolitan Hotel overlooking Delhi Golf Course, 5 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi, New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.