We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, excellent friendly service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi, New Delhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi, New Delhi to your Saves list
The Oberoi, New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, excellent friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Oberoi was the starting and concluding hotel of our visit to India. It was such a lovely calm oasis for the hubbub of Dehli. Their tipping policy really sets the tone (leave your tips in an envelope at the front desk as you check out - it is divided amongst the staff once a month) the service at every level is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous feedback regarding our hotel, team and services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    300
    69
    16
    9
See reviews for
171
364
111
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Almost rated this a a five star, but to be honest, I couldn't. Here is why, lets start with the positives. Warm and caring service, we felt as though the staff really cared that we had a great visit. We sat at the same table area during our 3 day stay and got to know one of the waiters. He learned our food preferences and brought was special Indian selections that he though we would enjoy and we did, the 5 star rating for him was on our last day he surprised us with a chocolate cake saying have a great journey. That is over the top service. Another 5 star experience was the salt scrub we had at the spa. Best I have ever had. We had a day at leisure before we met up with our group and one of the concierge staff put together a right on itinerary for jet lagged couple with one of their private cars compete with a turbaned driver who seemed to be able to reconnect with us amidst the crowds.
Now to the area that leaves me not able to give a 5 star. The furnishings on the room seemed as though they were in need of refreshing. Also our room seemed to have a musty smell that even the rose petals couldn't mask. Part of the validity of Trip Advisor reviews is honesty and if there were a 4 1/2 star I would give it. Don't let my comments dissuade you from staying here, just know that there are a few wrinkles on this stunning face.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, New Delhi on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services especially about the salt scrub at the Spa and for the warm and caring service you recieved at our all day dining restaurant 360,

I have also taken note of your comment on the room. We do have an exhaustive dehumidification programme and facilities; however it seems that your stay was adversely affected on that particular day. We sincerely regret the inconvenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Very luxurious, good food, though expensive as you would expect. But there comes a point where attentive service becomes intrusive, and I felt the Oberoi had passed that. You can't move for 'Namaste' from the staff. As you get up from your seat to visit the breakfast buffet there's someone to pull out your chair, someone to refold your serviette (why?) and then someone to push your chair back. It just goes on like that all day, and to be honest I got fed up with it. The hotel is not that near the centre, so unless you want to get a taxi through Delhi's appalling traffic you are stuck there for meals too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, New Delhi on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services. I have also taken careful note of your feedback on "over service". We encourage our staff to go out of their way to please our guests and to create memories. It seems that in their enthusiasm, they have overstepped. We apologize and assure you that we will work on your feedback diligently.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Just got back from New Delhi where I noticed that the Oberoi ( where we spent a few days ) displays a prominent sign on the reception counter which indicates that you have rated the Hotel as excellent .
I can add my whole hearted confirmation of that ranking . The subtlety with which the hierarchical strucure of management and other staff is concealed was an aspect that I found quite remarkable. The concern displayed by Staff of all grades from the doorman to the room cleaners is embarrassing in its spontaneity ! The 'gratuity' policy is a commendable feature and avoids any possibility of awkward solicitation that is often encountered in the orient !
arun tampoe

Room Tip: choose rooms near the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, New Delhi on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My first time in Delhi and we were here for Independence day. The manager invited me to plant a tree during the ceremony. I got to meet some wonderful staff and the security manager. I will never forget my stay here. Simply divine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, New Delhi over the Independence weekend. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My mom had yet another memorable stay at the hotel. On the day of check-in it was her birthday and the team made it very very special for her. I will refrain from naming individuals as the entire team had an equal role in the celebrations. Cannot wait to indulge in the delicious cakes at the Patisserie on my return in december :) Long live the Oberoi!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you mother stay and celebrate her birthday with us at The Oberoi, New Delhi

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. The patisserie team remembers you fondly

Thank you for being an “Ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi. We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed only for 2 nights in this magnificent hotel but the experience was really wonderful. The staff at the reception desk, both during my arrival and departure, was professional, courteous and always wanting to help. The room was tidy and well kept; really liked the shower with a strong water pressure. The restaurant was really fantastic with a a wide range of cuisine to choose from; the in my view, the Indian food varieties were amongst the best that I have tasted. The restaurant staff were always helpful and tried their best to make your breakfast and lunch or dinner a wonderful experience. Tried the spa too, and the staff there were really professional. Overall, a wonderful stay and will try to stay again in the future.

Room Tip: No tip here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, New Delhi on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services especially the team at the front desk, the variety of food served in the restaurants and the health and wellness facilities in the hotel.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, New Delhi

Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Cosmopolitan Hotel overlooking Delhi Golf Course, 5 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi, New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.