We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great place to stay in New Delhi"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi, New Delhi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi, New Delhi to your Saves list
The Oberoi, New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 635 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“"Great place to stay in New Delhi"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for 1night at the beginning of a tour of the golden triangle. It was an unexpected change from the original hotel we had booked via our tour company but we were not disappointed. Delhi itself was very busy and a place of extreme contrasts- from busy streets to serene parks. The hotel provided a good base to explore Delhi.

The hotel was very secure and the staff professional and welcoming. Both the hotel and grounds were clean and well maintained. Check in was efficient and our room was available on arrival. We had a room overlooking the pool and the room was clean and well equipped. The room was quiet and we slept well in the comfortable bed- there was even a choice of pillows. The complimentary bottled water in the room was welcome and a good selection of toiletries was provided.

There is a small shopping arcade in the hotel- a little out of our price range but good for browsing. The breakfast offered a good choice and the evening menu offered a good selection of meals- including a good choice of vegetarian options. The meal was enjoyable (a little expensive as would perhaps be expected in a hotel of this grade). The service was of a high standard throughout.

I would recommend this hotel to family or friends and would happily stay here again if visiting Delhi. Thank to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    307
    70
    16
    10
See reviews for
179
373
114
554
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The best location in Delhi. Overlooking the beautiful Delhi Golf Course right in the heart of New Delhi. Great coffee shop and the hotel is very close to everything a tourist needs to visit. Superb staff and great hospitality. Great pool, great staff, great bakery, great everything.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Have stayed in The Oberoi New Delhi numerous times now and it never fails to delight . There is a wonderful choice of restaurants all of which serve great food and service is always with a smile . I have to say a very special thanks to Mona who ensures you want for nothing and makes you feel very valued and special . If you want any advice on what to see or where to shop in New Delhi then Mona is the go to person.. I would not dream of staying anywhere else in New Delhi .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services. We are glad that you enjoyed the meals at our restaurants. I will also share your compliments with Mona. I am glad that she exceeded your expectations.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed in this excellent hotel twice on our recent tour, the first time for 2 nights and the second for one night before flying home. The staff are excellent, but were a little stressed on the second occasion as it was so busy. The suites we stayed in were in good order, very comfortable and spotless. The rooms will be needing a makeover soon, getting a bit dated. The spa and fitness facilities are outstanding, don't miss out on some wonderful relaxation. Most excellent in the hotel are a good bar, great breakfast, fine dining Italian and chinese restaurants of excellent international standards. New Delhi is a surprisingly green, cosmopolitan and pleasant city, and the hotel is in the most ideal location for tourists. We will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: Travel in the off season, this hotel can be very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services. We are glad that you enjoyed the location, food and beverage at the restauranta and the health and wellness facilities.

I have also taken note of your comment regarding the guest room. I apologize for any inconvenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langtoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have just finished a month of working in New Delhi and stayed at the Oberoi during that time. This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in, not based on lovely gardens or fancy design, but due to the fact the staff are fantastic from top to bottom. Some highlights (over and above what you would expect from a hotel of this standard) :-
- On check in shown to my room by reception staff.
- Being asked, and supplied with, fruit of my choice every day
- Having many staff members greet me by name within a few days
- Room service menu ( which was superb by the way) where they would tweak the food to suit my palette, recommend dishes and always smile.
- Breakfast staff who genuinely seemed pleased to see me, remembered my preferences and -Valishi (bless her heart) even insisted on carrying my iPad for me.
Every member of staff was prepared to go the extra mile to please and had the result of making my stay memorable. I was lucky enough to meet the GM while I was there and every member of staff is a testament to good management style.
For the cynics who may be thinking "they were working for tips" the hotel has a no tip at the time policy! ...leave a gratuity on check out for all, I emptied my wallet and don't begrudge one rupee.
Do try Taipan on the rooftop it's superb, definately take in Sunday brunch in the main 360 and enjoy both indoor and outdoor pools for the tray if nothing else.
A special word of mention has to go to Isha Chauhan who without her help, patience and perseverance I would never have got IPL tickets while I was there.
There is no choice in my opinion, if you are staying in Delhi stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services- especially Vaishali and Isha.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galveston, texas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We love this place!

The security at the Oberoi is significant. There are armed guards at the main Oberoi gate and a real sense of safety throughout the grounds. Lots of helpful staff, in addition.

Our room was small, but quite comfortable. Clean and nice. Quiet.

We were especially pleased with the Indian food - both the bountiful buffet at lunch and a special multi-course dinner (for about 20 on our overland tour.) This multi-course dinner included some of the best Indian food of my life.

The Oberoi breakfast buffet was very good. The restaurant service was exceptional, as well. Yes, I know the Oberoi restaurant is in India, but we had some very average Indian meals while in India. In summary, the food at the Oberoi is not to be missed.

I can recommend this hotel to any traveler - without reservation. Enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the security at the hotel, the room and the meals served in the threesixty restaurant. I am glad that your Indian meal was memorable and exceeded your expectations.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here two nights when we arrived to India for a vacation and were immediately taken to our room to complete the check in process there. The staff were very helpful throughout our stay and consistent with the high standards of the Oberoi chain. The hotel is in a good location and within easy walking distance to Humayun's Tomb. The gym and pool were very nice, especially give the May heat. The breakfast was spectacular and food at the 360 restaurant very good. We would strongly recommend this hotel without any reservations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services. We are glad that you enjoyed the health and wellness facilities and the food at threesixty.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Oberoi, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, New Delhi

Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Cosmopolitan Hotel overlooking Delhi Golf Course, 5 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi, New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.