We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but expensive services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi, New Delhi

Save Saved
You added The Oberoi, New Delhi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oberoi, New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Internet
Ranked #4 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but expensive services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a great hotel, the rooms, the facilities, the service and the location is great for the central part of Delhi. I especially liked the gym, and the comprehensive range of equipment there.
However many of the restaurants and services such as laundry are very overpriced, and you have no easy alternative, as the location is not close to any shops or restaurants.
There is very limited shopping in the hotel, mostly high end international fashion and accessories.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

I sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our hotel and services. I am glad that you enjoyed your workout.

I have taken note of your comment regarding the pricing. I would like to assure you that our pricing is in line with other luxury hotels in Delhi and India. I regret any inconvenience you faced.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future


Kind regards

Jay Rathore
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    688
    251
    67
    15
    8
See reviews for
130
266
96
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Since India can be overwhelming for a Western tourist, we figured we'd indulge ourselves with a little luxury and stay at the Oberoi at the beginning and end of our week-long tour of Rajasthan. The delightful surprise was that, on balance, the Oberoi experience felt like the very best value of the trip. Not only were airport transfers included, but so were (excellent) breakfasts, a dinner for two . . . and (ta-da!) an upgrade to a suite. And the intelligent, responsive service! We've been spoiled by an industry (luxury hospitality) that has raised customer service to a fine art. But, even in an Indian culture still struggling with the important distinction between obsequiousness and service, the Oberoi stands out as best in class. All of the staff made us feel like we were the only guests and that our experience was their personal responsibility. And, BTW, with its location surrounded by the park-like Delhi Golf Club in the leafy India Gate area of New Delhi, the Oberoi is indeed an oasis of calm serenity. I recommend this property without reservation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement. We are glad that you had a memorable stay.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

The team at The Oberoi, New Delhi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights over valentines period Feb 2013, this hotel, as do all Oberois I've stayed in, excels in its individuality, quality and service. True this hotel does have an older feel about the rooms, but classy and old world not brash or modern, which fits perfectly with the style of service ( mind blowingly good in every department ) and the feel of the whole property. Perfection in Delhi madness.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging comments.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The team at The Oberoi, New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel is really old school in terms of its rooms. One can tell that the rooms haven't been upgraded in about twenty years. They are clean, but definately NOT luxury!
The saving grace in the hotel is was the heated lap pool in a modern spa in the basement and the restaurant which was quite good.
Oh yes, and I ordered breakfast to the room (breakfast is not included in the room rate) and got ice cold eggs and worse than that - I asked for a fresh fruit platter where it was obvious that the fruit was pre-cut and put in the fridge so I got ice crystals in my watermelon - not a fun experience early in the morning !

Room Tip: Try to get a room that overlooks the Delhi golf course - it is a pretty amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging comments about the hotel's facilities especially the heated lap pool and spa.

I have taken careful note of your comment regarding the rooms. We have a small inventory of renovated rooms and I will be happy to personally show you around, the next time you are here.

I deeply regret the inconvenience and apologize for your in room breakfast experience. I have looked into the matter and have taken steps to ensure that this does not happen again. I sincerely hope you will not let this isolated incident mar your opinion of our hotel and give us another chance to serve you.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

the perfect business hotel in New Delhi. I ve stayed in many more 5 stars but this was something that outclassed everything that came in its way. I came in for a official trip and the client who was with me couldnt stop praising about everything they catered us with. I love Oberoi's

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation and encouragement. We are glad that you had a memorable stay and you felt pampered.

Kind regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Every need is taken care of - from a chauffer down to the shopping mall, to special diets & preferences.
Never experienced anything like it - will definatly return to any of the Oberoi group around the world.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation and encouragement. We are glad that you had a memorable stay and you felt pampered.

The team at The Oberoi, New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Beautiful grand hotel on spacious grounds but room is not anything amazing. Staff are absolutely great. Spa/steam room area is a let down ANC there was bird poo in the outside pool!! Nice location and the BMW airport pickup is classy. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging comments about the hotel's facilities.

I have taken careful note of your comment regarding the spa and the pool cleaning. I deeply regret the inconvenience and apologize. I will share your feedback with the concerned department head and ensure cleanliness.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Oberoi, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, New Delhi

Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, New Delhi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Cosmopolitan Hotel overlooking Delhi Golf Course, 5 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Jetsetter, Expedia, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your The Oberoi, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi, New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.