We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand hotel but lacking modernity inside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi, New Delhi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi, New Delhi to your Saves list
The Oberoi, New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Grand hotel but lacking modernity inside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful grand hotel on spacious grounds but room is not anything amazing. Staff are absolutely great. Spa/steam room area is a let down ANC there was bird poo in the outside pool!! Nice location and the BMW airport pickup is classy. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging comments about the hotel's facilities.

I have taken careful note of your comment regarding the spa and the pool cleaning. I deeply regret the inconvenience and apologize. I will share your feedback with the concerned department head and ensure cleanliness.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    303
    69
    16
    9
See reviews for
173
370
112
536
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I really liked the hotel and I will come again - great quality of accommodation & superb service! Thanks a lot. Let me recommend this hotel to everybody you won't regret. I will come again. Great surrounding & landscaping

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel facility and services. We are glad that you felt pampered.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The team at The Oberoi, New Delhi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We're back staying at this wonderful hotel again. My husband and I have been many times. It's great not just as a business hotel but also as somewhere to relax. The pool is a gorgeous contemporary design set in lovely gardens. The Threesixty restaurant is superb. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your patronage. We are happy that we have been able to meet your expectations over the years.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

Kind regards

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

First time and the first hotel in India. The hotel is spectacular, the staff amazing and very friendly. The restaurants were excellent. Our room was fantastic. Cannot say enough about the quality and level of service from everyone on the staff. One of the best hotels ever.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation and encouragement. We are glad that you had a memorable stay.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

The team at The Oberoi, New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was a blast from the past in colonial terms. The public areas have been refurbished and offer both beatiful modern decor and a step back in time to the colonial yesteryaer of style and elegance.
The staff as ever at an Oberoi are faultless and the food and service was just as good. If you are there on a Wednesday evening go to the wine tasting which is excellent value and very informative.

The roomms may need a little TLC and the bathroom was very small for the size of the suite.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed the facilities. The wine tasting session, which is conducted by the sommelier every wednesday and friday is a big hit with not only the hotel guests but also with the locals. Thank you for your kind words of appreciation and encouragement

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We did an Oberoi tour of northern India, so we were given an upgraid in this hotel, the suite was amazing with a view over the golf course.
The service was excellent, the food very good, and the deli too, had a very good selection of snacks and naughty treats.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement. We are glad that you had a memorable stay.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed here with my family earlier this month. The hotel offered wonderful hospitality. The Beatles also arrived here for a brief stay early during the morning on July 6, 1966, primarily for George Harrison to buy a sitar. We stayed on the 4th floor, a few doors down from Room 438, the suite where The Beatles stayed. I wonder if they also enjoyed their stay as much as we did.

The hotel is located centrally so that travel to and most places in Delhi is convenient. There's a well appointed gym which my wife and I used, and indoor and outdoor lap pools. The gym provides water and towels. Breakfast is in a nice restaurant called Threesixty which as an informal cafe during the day, serving a variety of cuisines. I recommend the high tea served in the restaurant in the afternoon. A single order of high tea, which consists of sweet and savory snacks, should suffice for a group of four with supplementary orders of coffee and tea. The service is excellent and hospitable with warm touches.

The hotel has obviously gone out of its way to train its staff in superior hospitality. There are touches of it everywhere. For instance, the laundry service is just that much more attentive, the maitre d at the restaurants is just that much more pleasant, and the turbaned doorman, of the type the Beatles also observed, is just that much more welcoming.

Besides, I loved the fragrance the hotel was infused with.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the swimming pool and golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, New Delhi, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement. We are glad that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pools, the breakfast and the high tea. The high tea as rightly pointed by you is very popular with our guests.

I am also glad that the team made you feel pampered. At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

The hotel has been home away from home to celebrities and newsmakers since the mid 60"s and we are glad that you too enjoyed the "Oberoi Touch"

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Oberoi, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, New Delhi

Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Cosmopolitan Hotel overlooking Delhi Golf Course, 5 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi, New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.